Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great party music
Mud were very successful for a time in the mid-seventies, having about a dozen hits, of which most of them made the UK top ten and three went all the way to the top.

Their biggest hit was Tiger feet but the song they are now perhaps best known for, Lonely this Christmas, is not included although it can be found on any number of British Christmas compilations...
Published on 23 Feb. 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Several of Mud's best Songs are Not Included !
I was very disappointed to find that several of Mud's hits aren't included on this album which is titled 'Greatest Hits'.Only the inclusion of songs like 'Tiger Feet' ,'Dyna-Mite' ,'Hypnoses' , ' The Cat Crept In' and 'Rocket' etc allowed me to give this collection 3 stars out of 5 . The most glaringly obvious omission is their number 1 hit, 'Lonely This Christmas'...
Published on 5 Feb. 2013 by Brian Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great party music, 23 Feb. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Mud were very successful for a time in the mid-seventies, having about a dozen hits, of which most of them made the UK top ten and three went all the way to the top.

Their biggest hit was Tiger feet but the song they are now perhaps best known for, Lonely this Christmas, is not included although it can be found on any number of British Christmas compilations. Both of those songs reached number one in the UK, as did their cover of Oh boy, the Buddy Holly classic. Other great hits to be found here include The cat crept in, Dynamite. Rocket, Moonshine Sally and The secrets that you keep.
Of the other tracks, there are plenty of covers that show their musical roots, including Living Doll (Cliff Richard), One night (Elvis Presley), Hippy hippy shake (Swinging blue jeans), Diana (Paul Anka) and End of the world (Skeeter Davis).
This is a great introduction to Mud's music although lacking Lean on me, which was recorded for a different record label, and the aforementioned Christmas song. You can get both of those songs on the comprehensive double-CD Singles '67-'78, which I've already reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Several of Mud's best Songs are Not Included !, 5 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was very disappointed to find that several of Mud's hits aren't included on this album which is titled 'Greatest Hits'.Only the inclusion of songs like 'Tiger Feet' ,'Dyna-Mite' ,'Hypnoses' , ' The Cat Crept In' and 'Rocket' etc allowed me to give this collection 3 stars out of 5 . The most glaringly obvious omission is their number 1 hit, 'Lonely This Christmas'. Other hits that are missing include the top 10 hit 'L-L-Lucy ', 'Show me You're a Woman' (which reached number 8 ), 'Lean on Me'(which climbed to number 7) and 'Shake it Down' ,which reached number 12 in the UK charts in 1976 and which is one of my favourite Mud recordings ever ! Instead of including these top tracks this collection is cluttered with pretty sub-standard , lame and cliched Elvis/R'nRoll type offerings that do not belong here at the expense of the hits that I have listed .In short ,this collection does not do Mud justice !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half of the album is excellent, 30 Jun. 2009
By 
DB "davidbirkett" (Co. Kildare, Ireland (but born & raised Liverpool, UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I guess this must be a digitalised version of a vinyl that Mud put out half way through their career, because it is otherwise difficult to see how they can justify calling it "Greatest Hits". It doesn't include the delightful Elvis-pastiche "Lonely this Christmas" (a UK No. 1) or L-l-l-Lucy (a UK Top Ten) and yet manages to include a number of unimpressive covers of fifties songs that either never charted or which were never released as singles. The real "greatest hits" that it does include however are a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock on Les., 25 July 2010
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Like most people I was only familiar with hits such as Tiger Feet, Cat crept in, etc. But there are some great, lesser known tracks on this album that are worth a listen. I am genuinely impressed at Mud's versatility. Admittedly most of the tracks are rock n roll standards but they cover them with imagination and flare. Hippy Hippy Shake and Tallahassee Lassie are straight down the line rock n roll covers, whilst Blue Moon is an acapella version. There's also the fantastic Crazy, which I had completely forgotten about. The other tracks are covered in Mud's own distinctive style. Les Gray was a great singer and it's a great pity that he is no longer with us. Rock on Les.

As other reviewers have mentioned the two track missing are Lean On Me and Lonely This Christmas which is a shame as Lean On Me is one of my favourite Mud tracks. This is still a great album and there isn't a duff track here. Quite often you buy a greatest hits album with a handful of hits but the rest are really fillers. That isn't the case here. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant songs by a brilliant band, 13 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What can i say Mud were just one of the best groups of all time all the songs are classics in their own right.Because of Mud i became heavily involved in music forming my own succesful band Speechless.THE early tracks like Hypnosis, Crazy, Dynamite and of course Tiger Feet are superb. this cd should be in everyones collection. A must buy,Thanks Mud for tons of great times and many more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mud mud glorious mud, 28 April 2005
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A blast back to the rock era of the 70's from "dyna-mite" to "rocket" all the hit's are there. Can you remember dancing at the disco to "Tiger Feet" and doing all the action's. The one thing that was guaranted on any weekend was that every body would soon be up on there feet and dancing to "Mud"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, Mud - How I love those Tiger Feet!, 1 April 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great CD packed full of classic tracks from the leaders of the late `70s rockabilly revival, Mud.

Track after track of feel good, foot tapping music, played with vigour and passion by a talented band, with some great vocal work.

This is an album of party classics, guaranteed to get any party going with a swing. Get it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than five star's if that's possible, 13 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Well, even though I'm only 13 I own this CD myself.
All the track;'s on it are brilliant, the cover of 'The End Of The World almost being my favourite though I also adore the ariginal.
In my opinion, this CD is too short and lack's of the brilliant track's written later by Rob Davis and Ray Stiles, but it does include my all time favourite track, 'The Secrets That You Keep'
and I don't mind admiting I actually bought it on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have to admit to being abit disappointed with this collection, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Apart from Tiger Feet and The cat crept in, I have to admit to being abit disappointed with this collection. The hits are good but some of their cover versions are below par, basically anything not written by chin & chapman! The recording itself seems to be somewhat lacking, as if the cd was made using cheap technology transferring the masters to compact. Must be a better collection than this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a greatest hits collection, 14 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a decent little cd release, that might have been a very good selection, if it had "Lonely this Xmas" on it. How EMI can put out a Mud greatest hits collection and omit one of the best Xmas songs to come along since Elvis Presley's "Blue Xmas" beggar's belief. If memory serves me right, I think it was a Xmas no.1 in the uk. There are a number of tracks on this cd that could have been omitted to make way for "Lonely this Xmas", tracks such as "Oh boy" or "Blue Moon" whilst being decent Mud recordings, where not in the same league as "Lonely this Xmas", which was specially written for Les Gray to display his "Elvis" vocal like capabilities, and it worked. I had a young niece text me yesterday to tell me she was listening to "Elvis" singing "Lonely this Xmas" on her computer, as far as I know, Elvis never sang "Lonely this Xmas" This is still a four star release by EMI, but I would have rated it a five star purchase if "Lonely this Xmas" had been included. Still a worthwhile buy at the price on offer at Amazon, but could have been a contender. Yours, Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mud - Greatest Hits
Mud - Greatest Hits by Mud (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews