Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great party music
Mud were very successful for a time in the mid-seventies, having about a dozen hits, of which most of them made the UK top ten and three went all the way to the top.

Their biggest hit was Tiger feet but the song they are now perhaps best known for, Lonely this Christmas, is not included although it can be found on any number of British Christmas compilations...
Published on 23 Feb 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Several of Mud's best Songs are Not Included !
I was very disappointed to find that several of Mud's hits aren't included on this album which is titled 'Greatest Hits'.Only the inclusion of songs like 'Tiger Feet' ,'Dyna-Mite' ,'Hypnoses' , ' The Cat Crept In' and 'Rocket' etc allowed me to give this collection 3 stars out of 5 . The most glaringly obvious omission is their number 1 hit, 'Lonely This Christmas'...
Published 19 months ago by Brian I Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great party music, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Mud were very successful for a time in the mid-seventies, having about a dozen hits, of which most of them made the UK top ten and three went all the way to the top.

Their biggest hit was Tiger feet but the song they are now perhaps best known for, Lonely this Christmas, is not included although it can be found on any number of British Christmas compilations. Both of those songs reached number one in the UK, as did their cover of Oh boy, the Buddy Holly classic. Other great hits to be found here include The cat crept in, Dynamite. Rocket, Moonshine Sally and The secrets that you keep.
Of the other tracks, there are plenty of covers that show their musical roots, including Living Doll (Cliff Richard), One night (Elvis Presley), Hippy hippy shake (Swinging blue jeans), Diana (Paul Anka) and End of the world (Skeeter Davis).
This is a great introduction to Mud's music although lacking Lean on me, which was recorded for a different record label, and the aforementioned Christmas song. You can get both of those songs on the comprehensive double-CD Singles '67-'78, which I've already reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Several of Mud's best Songs are Not Included !, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was very disappointed to find that several of Mud's hits aren't included on this album which is titled 'Greatest Hits'.Only the inclusion of songs like 'Tiger Feet' ,'Dyna-Mite' ,'Hypnoses' , ' The Cat Crept In' and 'Rocket' etc allowed me to give this collection 3 stars out of 5 . The most glaringly obvious omission is their number 1 hit, 'Lonely This Christmas'. Other hits that are missing include the top 10 hit 'L-L-Lucy ', 'Show me You're a Woman' (which reached number 8 ), 'Lean on Me'(which climbed to number 7) and 'Shake it Down' ,which reached number 12 in the UK charts in 1976 and which is one of my favourite Mud recordings ever ! Instead of including these top tracks this collection is cluttered with pretty sub-standard , lame and cliched Elvis/R'nRoll type offerings that do not belong here at the expense of the hits that I have listed .In short ,this collection does not do Mud justice !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half of the album is excellent, 30 Jun 2009
By 
DB "davidbirkett" (Co. Kildare, Ireland (but born & raised Liverpool, UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I guess this must be a digitalised version of a vinyl that Mud put out half way through their career, because it is otherwise difficult to see how they can justify calling it "Greatest Hits". It doesn't include the delightful Elvis-pastiche "Lonely this Christmas" (a UK No. 1) or L-l-l-Lucy (a UK Top Ten) and yet manages to include a number of unimpressive covers of fifties songs that either never charted or which were never released as singles. The real "greatest hits" that it does include however are a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant songs by a brilliant band, 13 Jan 2002
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What can i say Mud were just one of the best groups of all time all the songs are classics in their own right.Because of Mud i became heavily involved in music forming my own succesful band Speechless.THE early tracks like Hypnosis, Crazy, Dynamite and of course Tiger Feet are superb. this cd should be in everyones collection. A must buy,Thanks Mud for tons of great times and many more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mud mud glorious mud, 28 April 2005
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A blast back to the rock era of the 70's from "dyna-mite" to "rocket" all the hit's are there. Can you remember dancing at the disco to "Tiger Feet" and doing all the action's. The one thing that was guaranted on any weekend was that every body would soon be up on there feet and dancing to "Mud"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock on Les., 25 July 2010
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Like most people I was only familiar with hits such as Tiger Feet, Cat crept in, etc. But there are some great, lesser known tracks on this album that are worth a listen. I am genuinely impressed at Mud's versatility. Admittedly most of the tracks are rock n roll standards but they cover them with imagination and flare. Hippy Hippy Shake and Tallahassee Lassie are straight down the line rock n roll covers, whilst Blue Moon is an acapella version. There's also the fantastic Crazy, which I had completely forgotten about. The other tracks are covered in Mud's own distinctive style. Les Gray was a great singer and it's a great pity that he is no longer with us. Rock on Les.

As other reviewers have mentioned the two track missing are Lean On Me and Lonely This Christmas which is a shame as Lean On Me is one of my favourite Mud tracks. This is still a great album and there isn't a duff track here. Quite often you buy a greatest hits album with a handful of hits but the rest are really fillers. That isn't the case here. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, Mud - How I love those Tiger Feet!, 1 April 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great CD packed full of classic tracks from the leaders of the late `70s rockabilly revival, Mud.

Track after track of feel good, foot tapping music, played with vigour and passion by a talented band, with some great vocal work.

This is an album of party classics, guaranteed to get any party going with a swing. Get it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than five star's if that's possible, 13 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Well, even though I'm only 13 I own this CD myself.
All the track;'s on it are brilliant, the cover of 'The End Of The World almost being my favourite though I also adore the ariginal.
In my opinion, this CD is too short and lack's of the brilliant track's written later by Rob Davis and Ray Stiles, but it does include my all time favourite track, 'The Secrets That You Keep'
and I don't mind admiting I actually bought it on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's an ok CD, all of the hits are there, lots of fillers, I can still listen to it and enjoy, for the price I'm not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stuck in the Mud, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When you record a great hits package,then why is their 2nd best ever hit,Lonely this Xmas,not in?and also Lean on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mud - Greatest Hits
Mud - Greatest Hits by Mud (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews