Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've ever played since Wolfenstein 3D., 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
I got Unreal Tournament at the same time I got Quake III Arena as christmas presents. Because I was a fan and an élite at the original Quake, I played Quake III Arena first. I hated it - too far from the original, and far to difficult to get into. The worst thing about Quake III Arena is that it is multiplayer only. No mission, just shoot the computer bots as many times as you can!
This put me off Unreal Tournament slightly, but once I started playing, I couldn't stop. The engine is revolutionary, and for a multiplayer-based game, it was put together 100% correct! At first, you have to complete three deathmatches, but once you complete those, you move on to things like Domination (Command as many sectors of the map as possible, while preventing the opposing team from taking them over, and vice versa. Fairly original), Capture the Flag (Very common in 3D multiplayer games, get to the enemy base, take the flag, and get back to your home base, while preventing the opposing team from doing the same thing), and Assault (Single-player based with an attacking team and a defending team)
The best thing - very original and awesome weapons. My fave is the Redeemer, but I'm not going to tell you what it does. See it for yourself.
GET IT! NO OTHER GAME WILL MAKE THIS ONE INFERIOR FOR A LONG LONG TIME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is one of the best games ever made. Three years on, I am still playing it regularly, despite purchases such as Yuri's Revenge and UT2003 (In my opinion the original UT is better). Get this. You will NOT be disappointed. It is huge. And if you ever get tired of the standard maps then you can get 1000's more off the net. Buy this, for non stop fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreal Tournament - Buy It!, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
When the demo was released, I knew this was going to be a special and amazing game. When the full version was finally released it exceeded all expectations.
It is such an amazing game, from the levels, characters, graphics, botplay and playability it is amazing.
Possibly the greatest feature is the multiplayer modes both on a lan and over the net. Easy to set up and connect you can while away hours of your time.
Even if you aren't a great fan of the 'Wolfenstein' and 'Doom' genre, this game is bound to give you some excitement.
Better than Quake III Arena, better than Half-Life, and possibly the greatest game I have ever played. I strongly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whichever type of 1st-person game you want, this is it., 27 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
You want fast multi-player deathmatch in a variety of environments? Against humans over the web? You got it. Against bots on a non-web PC? It's here. In teams or solo? You choose. You want to practice strategy and tactics as well? Assaults with mission briefings? Yep. Holding territory in domination? Check. Raiding your opponents base to capture the flag? Go for it. You want a long, tense solo game, gradually wearing down the opposition while preserving your own life? That's last-man-standing. You want even more options to customise all of the game types, such as limited weapon types, instagib (one-hit kills), and more? They've thought of that. You want a fast, efficient game engine which runs OK even on P200mmx, Voodoo3 2000, 96mb RAM? This is it. And if you are addicted enough to get tired of all of THAT, you can download HUNDREDS of add-ons and modifications from the web! QIII Arena is a limited, claustrophobic, hardware-intensive dog compared to this. Buy Unreal Tournament and wave bye-bye to the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best game even though it's 2007., 4 May 2007
By 
T. D. Mooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
I first got into UT 4 years ago now. At first i thought the game was average until i played it online and then the real fun began. Theres something about the gameplay in UT99 that the newer UT games seem to lack in, yes the graphics have improved alot in the newer games but the fun seems to have disappeared in UT2003 and UT2004. The best things about UT99 is that u can use the translocator to go fast round the maps and this game has the best voice taunts of any other game u will play. Another good thing about UT99 is that u don't seem to get hackers as u do in games like Call Of Duty. overall u won't get a better game even if u spend 40 pounds for a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!! UNREAL TOURNAMENT ROCKS!, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
Best game ever made, brilliant game types and overall an awesome game, i love it. Will not disappoint. A MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game In The History Of Gaming, 6 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
2011
And I'm still having tones of fun playing this game!
This game is just EPIC , weapons is crazy!
All weapon have unique function ,not like some game...
which just change the rate of fire and call it a new weapon (MW)
Once you start a game , it's non stop action until the end , average APM around 400
Totally crazy game, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Multiplayer Heaven, 13 Jun 2011
By 
J. Ellis (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
If your looking for a good story mode with objectives and what not, then this game isn't for you.
If however your looking for an amazing multiplayer experience to rival all overs then this is your game

Where most modern FPS; restrict the amount of weapons you can carry, have no life bar, and make your movements as realistic as possible. This on the over hand allows you to carry as much as you want jump and move about in a way you couldn't in real life and have as much fun as you want blowing people to pieces. This is Unreals strongest point, the game centers around having fun, no Quick Scopes, no No Scopes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my most top rated games EVER!, 19 Jun 2008
By 
J. Walton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game may be one of the oldest games i have ever played and it now being 2008 games have moved on a bit since then.
However, when i play this game it takes me back and i love the old fashioned unreal gameplay rather than the newer and more 'rushed' unreal tournament, for example Unreal 2004 was too fast for me.
The gameplay is great and i love the maps however small they are! The best mode has got to be capture the flag. Sometimes i love the cheats on this game... for example adding tonnes of bots to play in 1 match... the game went abit slower but there was about 60 bots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Quake III, buy this !, 7 July 2000
This review is from: Unreal Tournament (PC CD) (Video Game)
Buy this. No questions, just buy it. When it comes to real-time first person shooters Unreal Tournament cannot be beaten. The graphics are superb, the action is as fast as it gets and the range of weapons is wide ensure devestation with a smile.
As you would expect from a multi-player game the Internet support is top drawer, with a built-in chat client so you can natter with potential opponents and a list of servers complete with information relating to speed of access, number of players in-game etc.
Those not blessed with a high-speed connection can take on the built-in bots - computer controlled oposition with enough artificial intelligence to make the whole escapade totally rewarding.
In order to flesh it out even further, there are a range of modes to play in including Capture the Flag, standard DeatMatch, Team DeathMatch and Assault, where one team takes on the job of attacking and (hopefully) overcoming the other who are holed up in some form of fortification.
After many, many hours of play I'm still finding new strategies and approaches to the levels which come as standard, without taking into account the hundreds of user-created mods and levels which are freely downloadable over the net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unreal Tournament (PC CD)
Unreal Tournament (PC CD) by GT Interactive (Windows 95 / 98 / NT)
Used & New from: 5.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews