Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ALLLRIGHTY then... "
Ace is back! Ace Ventura, the antic animal sleuth with the gravity-defying hairstyle and the sanity-defying attitude, returns to the screen.
Relying on his wits and uncanny powers of detection, Ace is up to his usual tricks again only in Tibet. With the aid of some newfound animal and human friends, among them Ouda, the wise brother of the Princess, the ingenious Ace...
Published on 4 Dec. 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most people wouldn't last one minute in the real wild nature. Ace Ventura, not even a second.
This is the interesting sequel to Ace Ventura: Pet Detective. We see Jim Carrey return with a weird second film. He is hilarious, but there are some tiny moments where he's a bit annoying. But apart from those moments, this is a good comedy. A praised animal has been stolen from an African tribe. It is Ace's job to find it. The only problem is he's afraid of it. The only...
Published on 29 Jan. 2013 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ALLLRIGHTY then... ", 4 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
Ace is back! Ace Ventura, the antic animal sleuth with the gravity-defying hairstyle and the sanity-defying attitude, returns to the screen.
Relying on his wits and uncanny powers of detection, Ace is up to his usual tricks again only in Tibet. With the aid of some newfound animal and human friends, among them Ouda, the wise brother of the Princess, the ingenious Ace outmaneuvers a host of dangerous adversaries as he races against time to recover the sacred animal, with the fate of the Bonai Province.
This is another excellent film by Jim Carrey one not to be missed.
Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace's 2nd Outing Is A Triumph, 11 Oct. 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
Did you know that Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls is the only sequel to a Jim Carrey movie that Jim has actually appeared in? Apparantly the man is not too fond of sequels. But on this occasion he made a smart move hanging around for the second Ace Ventura movie, because When Nature Calls is a top sequel.

Ace Ventura (Jim Carrey) travels to Africa for his next assignment. Ace has been hired by posh gentleman, Vincent Cadby (Simon Callow) to find a bat that was stolen from a local African tribe's village. Assisted by Fulton Greenwall (Ian McNeice), Ace searches through the village for clues and questions all potential suspects, as he looks to solve the case before an inter-tribal wedding is due to take place.

The movie is mainly good in the jokes department. The first third is by far the best with the funniest jokes taking place then. The best of which is when Ace thrashes a Jeep through the jungle in a bid to get to the consulate quicker. The second third feels a bit slow, and although there are still many good jokes, they're not as good as the first third. But by the final third things begin to pick up again. The alligator wrestling and the final ten minutes of the movie are especially hilarious.

As you would expect Jim Carrey steals the show with his super cartoonish acting in both the physical and verbal departments. Everything he says and does in the movie he appears to have thought long and hard about how to present it; and believe me, he presents it in the funniest way possible. There are also solid performances by Ian McNeice, who plays the mild-mannered Greenwall, and Simon Callow, who plays the posh consulate owner, Cadby.

From the Cliffhanger parody, to the "Like a glove!" line, to the dart shooting, Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls is one great big laugh from start to finish. If you love slapstick comedy then this movie is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Nature Calls - Fantastic, 23 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
I quite liked Pet Detective - however this is much much better!

Quite dated now but still hilarious!

Plenty of one liners from Jim Carrey, as he bounds back onto the screen as Ace Venturer in a family fun comedy suitable for all ages.

A good storyline - and in my opinion much better than the Pet Detective original, Ace finds himself pulled from his new home in the mountains and off to the jungle to stop a tibal war - with many hijinx on the way.

Definalty recommended as one of THE films you have to watch in the comedy bracket - and you'll most likely realise where lots of commonly used one liners originate from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And You Must Be The Monopoly Guy!!, 30 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the first one you'll love this one. Jim Carrey, arguably the funniest/zaniest actor of the decade delivers an hilarious performance as 'Ace' as he must strive to prevent War between two rival tribes by finding a lost Bat!! This is a laugh a minute with some classic Carrey moments...CHICACHA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most people wouldn't last one minute in the real wild nature. Ace Ventura, not even a second., 29 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the interesting sequel to Ace Ventura: Pet Detective. We see Jim Carrey return with a weird second film. He is hilarious, but there are some tiny moments where he's a bit annoying. But apart from those moments, this is a good comedy. A praised animal has been stolen from an African tribe. It is Ace's job to find it. The only problem is he's afraid of it. The only animal Ace does not like is a bat. But he must put his fear behind him in order to find it. With appearances from Simon Callow and wonderful gags, this is a good sequel. My favourite part was when he wore a man on his shoulders to teach a fox wearing woman a lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a rehash but another near insane and epic performance by genius Carrey,contains spoilers., 8 April 2015
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
The first Ace Ventura was possibly the movie that put Jim Carrey on the super stardom road(along with The Mask and Dumb And Dumber)and it was great to hear of a sequel and even if its not as funny and it does feel like a bit of a rehash in a new location this is still a great follow up and a simply magnificent portrayal from a star at the peak of his stardom.

The story is about the pet detective travelling to Africa and going on the hunt for a sacred white bat which can avert a war between two tribes but as soon as Ace arrives he himself comes close to causing a war with his near to insane behaviour setting everyone on edge.He goes there with explorer Fulton Greenwall(Brit actor Ian McNeice)who seems to always get Ventura out of scrapes.Vincent Cadby(brilliant Simon Callow)is the one who hires Ventura but may not be as he seems and as Ace learns the truth he gets his own back in spectacular style using all kinds of animals especially a elephant as well as a monster truck to help him.Can Ventura save the bat and help the tribes have peace or will his madcap ways lead to war with or without the bat.

The story to this as i said before can feel like a retread of the first film with the bat replacing the dolphin and just set somewhere else but if you look past this you get a very good follow up with Carrey's incredible energy and funny moments shining once more and is backed up by a top cast and some stunning locations and plenty of animals.

The acting and cast are as i said excellent with another sensational turn from wacky genius Jim Carrey who seems to be hyper the whole way through the movie's running time and this for me is his most insane creation and some of the things he does will split your sides especially when playing a game with the chief of a tribe where he tries to make them bow or following a slinky down a load of steps or his fabulous quick speeches where he doesn't seem to draw breath or his incredible version of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang when driving through the jungle or his spoof recreation of Cliffhanger or the monster truck scene towards the end,Carrey is simply phenomenal and possibly the most bonkers character in cinema history.The other cast members are top notch too with McNeice a loyal sidekick to Ventura who helps him whenever he needs it,Callow is the second best behind Carrey and is a slimy,creepy and downright horrible character and plays it with every fiber of his acting and his scenes with Carrey are fantastic.Other actors like Bob Gunton excel as he shares a spoof torture sequence with Carrey who uses his eye to funny effect whilst we see a young Sophie Okonedo as the princess of a tribe and she is beautiful and we see her talent early on,the rest play they part with Carrey even if they are a bit wasted.

This has stunning locations and settings especially the cliffhanger sequence and the jungles of Africa are spectacular as well and not many movies i have seen uses such beautiful images as this.There are plenty of animals included like the already mentioned bat and elephant as well as lions,rhinos,crocodiles,raccoon's and a gorilla and of course his companion Spike a capuchin monkey and i don't think i have seen so many animals in one film before.I also love the scenes where Ace tries to take the bat but cannot stand bats so has problems trying to pick it up especially in dark caves.

As i said its not as good as the first film with a similar story as last time and can feel like seen it before.It also loses its way a few times and some of the funny moments fall flat and for a pg rated movie it does push the rating a bit with pretty gruesome scenes which includes some of the animals and could scare younger viewers.There is also not enough of Callow and Okonedo who were terrific but not used a lot.I also didn't like the scenes after the cliffhanger parody a great deal and glad it got better after that.

A superb follow up with some truly hysterical moments and lines and even though its not as good as the first film it has some brilliant stars,animals and locations and a lead star at the peak of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars First Jim Carrey movie I thought was guff, 6 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
I think Jim Carrey knew this film was poor, hence the over-rehearsed, MEGA over-acting to try and bump up the material. The first time I saw it, I found it relentless and exhausting. The first Jim Carrey movie I didn't really enjoy, and as a kid it was disappointing to say the least. I can sum up the difference between this and the first movie very easily:

In the first movie Ace "rewinds himself" because he is pretending to have a disorder to gain access to a mental institution. It was very funny at the time. In When Nature Calls he rewinds himself again for no reason, it's pointless. It's more like a cartoony spoof of the Ace Ventura character, rather than a legitimate sequel. The truth is if this had been the first movie, Jim Carrey might not have been the hit he was.

Love the movie's poster though, and the soundtrack ain't bad. The movie is also filled with quotable lines for school kids. And the rhino scene is still funny even if it's completely ludicrous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shikaka, Shawshank Redemption, Chicago!, 5 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite possibly one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Jim Carrey is back and greater then ever as the cool Pet Detective Ace Ventura, only this time it's brought him to Africa. Everyone I know is obsessed with this film, stating it as being one of the best films they've ever seen by Jim Carrey. He's completely fantastic as Ace Ventura, it's almost hard to believe he's made anything else, because he's so versatile in the role of Ace, it's at times like this that you have to remind yourself that he was Stanley in The Mask and Bruce from Bruce Almighty. Such a fine actor.

This is by far a must have for any die hard Jim Carrey fan! It's by far if not his best one of his best films and it's completely hilarious! I find myself even to this day, making quotes from it, my best friend who is equally as obsessed finds herself repeating lines over and over for the pure fun of it. Trust me you are gonna love this film! It's a ultimate classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plain hilarious..., 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
It's a challenge to try and explain to people what Ace Ventura is and why it's funny. The best way - Because it just is. Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls stars Jim Carrey. That information alone will give you some idea of what to expect. The film does have a story, it does have other good performances, it does have elements of a good film, but Carrey just steals the show... I'm still not sure if he has a kind of humour that I'm supposed to enjoy, I just know I do. You will laugh out loud for the majority of this film plainly because of the facial expressions, odd phrases, outlandish accents and qwerky movements of Ace Ventura. You can tell that this part was written for Carrey, because without him it wouldn't be played well, and I'm convinced that no othr actor would be able to pull off a performance like this. Watch it, and you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!!, 10 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
Jim Carrey at his best !!!
The scene in the mechanical rhino,
the guanos,Ace's way of parking a car
his gravity -defying haircut, the crazy
attitude, the jokes, jim carrey's huge variety of grimaces ,the raccon scene,
his terror of the bat he tries to save ,the happy Buddhists,the mighty jungle ,everything was great!!! You will
understand what i m sayin if you watch it.Of course ,if you are allergic to bats, scatological humor,and
jim carrey you better watch something
else !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD]
Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] by Steve Oedekerk (DVD - 1999)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews