Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ALLLRIGHTY then... "
Ace is back! Ace Ventura, the antic animal sleuth with the gravity-defying hairstyle and the sanity-defying attitude, returns to the screen.
Relying on his wits and uncanny powers of detection, Ace is up to his usual tricks again only in Tibet. With the aid of some newfound animal and human friends, among them Ouda, the wise brother of the Princess, the ingenious Ace...
Published on 4 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars jim carry when nature calls
i recieved this dvd and have to say not as good as first you have to be a real jim carrey fan to enjoy this one but my granddaughter loved it
Published 13 months ago by blade


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ALLLRIGHTY then... ", 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
Ace is back! Ace Ventura, the antic animal sleuth with the gravity-defying hairstyle and the sanity-defying attitude, returns to the screen.
Relying on his wits and uncanny powers of detection, Ace is up to his usual tricks again only in Tibet. With the aid of some newfound animal and human friends, among them Ouda, the wise brother of the Princess, the ingenious Ace outmaneuvers a host of dangerous adversaries as he races against time to recover the sacred animal, with the fate of the Bonai Province.
This is another excellent film by Jim Carrey one not to be missed.
Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Nature Calls - Fantastic, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
I quite liked Pet Detective - however this is much much better!

Quite dated now but still hilarious!

Plenty of one liners from Jim Carrey, as he bounds back onto the screen as Ace Venturer in a family fun comedy suitable for all ages.

A good storyline - and in my opinion much better than the Pet Detective original, Ace finds himself pulled from his new home in the mountains and off to the jungle to stop a tibal war - with many hijinx on the way.

Definalty recommended as one of THE films you have to watch in the comedy bracket - and you'll most likely realise where lots of commonly used one liners originate from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace's 2nd Outing Is A Triumph, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Matthew Stoneman "90's Guy" (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
Did you know that Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls is the only sequel to a Jim Carrey movie that Jim has actually appeared in? Apparantly the man is not too fond of sequels. But on this occasion he made a smart move hanging around for the second Ace Ventura movie, because When Nature Calls is a top sequel.

Ace Ventura (Jim Carrey) travels to Africa for his next assignment. Ace has been hired by posh gentleman, Vincent Cadby (Simon Callow) to find a bat that was stolen from a local African tribe's village. Assisted by Fulton Greenwall (Ian McNeice), Ace searches through the village for clues and questions all potential suspects, as he looks to solve the case before an inter-tribal wedding is due to take place.

The movie is mainly good in the jokes department. The first third is by far the best with the funniest jokes taking place then. The best of which is when Ace thrashes a Jeep through the jungle in a bid to get to the consulate quicker. The second third feels a bit slow, and although there are still many good jokes, they're not as good as the first third. But by the final third things begin to pick up again. The alligator wrestling and the final ten minutes of the movie are especially hilarious.

As you would expect Jim Carrey steals the show with his super cartoonish acting in both the physical and verbal departments. Everything he says and does in the movie he appears to have thought long and hard about how to present it; and believe me, he presents it in the funniest way possible. There are also solid performances by Ian McNeice, who plays the mild-mannered Greenwall, and Simon Callow, who plays the posh consulate owner, Cadby.

From the Cliffhanger parody, to the "Like a glove!" line, to the dart shooting, Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls is one great big laugh from start to finish. If you love slapstick comedy then this movie is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And You Must Be The Monopoly Guy!!, 30 Oct 2001
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the first one you'll love this one. Jim Carrey, arguably the funniest/zaniest actor of the decade delivers an hilarious performance as 'Ace' as he must strive to prevent War between two rival tribes by finding a lost Bat!! This is a laugh a minute with some classic Carrey moments...CHICACHA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Ventura when nature calls, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
Re-he-he-he-he-heeeally love this film! I'd say make sure you purchase a new disc as I went for a cheaper used one and it was badly scratched and didn't play well. But this new disc was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars First Jim Carrey movie I thought was guff, 6 Jan 2014
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
I think Jim Carrey knew this film was poor, hence the over-rehearsed, MEGA over-acting to try and bump up the material. The first time I saw it, I found it relentless and exhausting. The first Jim Carrey movie I didn't really enjoy, and as a kid it was disappointing to say the least. I can sum up the difference between this and the first movie very easily:

In the first movie Ace "rewinds himself" because he is pretending to have a disorder to gain access to a mental institution. It was very funny at the time. In When Nature Calls he rewinds himself again for no reason, it's pointless. It's more like a cartoony spoof of the Ace Ventura character, rather than a legitimate sequel. The truth is if this had been the first movie, Jim Carrey might not have been the hit he was.

Love the movie's poster though, and the soundtrack ain't bad. The movie is also filled with quotable lines for school kids. And the rhino scene is still funny even if it's completely ludicrous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JIM CARREY, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did you know that Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls is the only sequel to a Jim Carrey movie that Jim has actually appeared in? Apparantly the man is not too fond of sequels. But on this occasion he made a smart move hanging around for the second Ace Ventura movie, because When Nature Calls is a top sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic comedy, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
my daughter bought this as she had several friends over to sleep - they all enjoyed it - you have to like jim carey though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shikaka, Shawshank Redemption, Chicago!, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite possibly one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Jim Carrey is back and greater then ever as the cool Pet Detective Ace Ventura, only this time it's brought him to Africa. Everyone I know is obsessed with this film, stating it as being one of the best films they've ever seen by Jim Carrey. He's completely fantastic as Ace Ventura, it's almost hard to believe he's made anything else, because he's so versatile in the role of Ace, it's at times like this that you have to remind yourself that he was Stanley in The Mask and Bruce from Bruce Almighty. Such a fine actor.

This is by far a must have for any die hard Jim Carrey fan! It's by far if not his best one of his best films and it's completely hilarious! I find myself even to this day, making quotes from it, my best friend who is equally as obsessed finds herself repeating lines over and over for the pure fun of it. Trust me you are gonna love this film! It's a ultimate classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] (DVD)
This is one epic film fun for all the family and friends, one which I have made people watch and they all enjoy it. Good fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3636c9c)

This product

Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD]
Ace Ventura - When Nature Calls (1995) [DVD] by Steve Oedekerk (DVD - 1999)
3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews