Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona fide classic!!!
What can one say about True Romance? The film is absolute class. It has action, humour, a little depth and an unbelievable all star cast (there's Christopher Walken, Gary Oldman, Brad Pitt, Dennis Hopper, even the guy who played Balki in that eighties comedy show Perfect Strangers). What probably adds to the greatness of the movie is the fact that it is Tony Scott...
Published on 16 Jun 2001 by joel.vandenbroek@btinternet.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Should say if comes in diferent languages.
Bought this film for a present, and I was pretty sure that will bring subtitles, but it doesn't.
I love the film, but should say on the description languages and subtitles. Apart from that, great film. Cheap and lovely for a gift!
Published 8 months ago by maria


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is why films are made., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film, great plot, great acting, a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Item Arrive Promptly And As Described+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yay, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film. Prefer it to Pulp Fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Romance - No 4 - All Time List 2008, 8 April 2008
I wasn't sure I'd like this movie when I started to watch it.
What convinced me to was that both Dennis Hopper and Christopher Walken were in it. I'm glad I did - the scene with the two legendary actors might well be one of the best in cinema history, but even that is a side piece for the rest of the movie.
First and foremost True Romance is a love story, although not one out of Four Weddings script - This is a Tarantino written love story.

Christian Slater and the gorgeous Patricia Arquette are truly amazing - the connection between the two is fantastic. A rollercoaster ride (literally too) of high energy, non stop action, humour, ultra-violence and a great script by Tarantino make this brilliant movie compelling viewing.
Great soundtrack - Wounded Bird by Charles and Eddie is beautiful and well worth tracking down. The main theme is also as catchy as hell.
What could be considered one of the best cast lists in a film ever. Gary Oldman makes a great cameo. Samuel L Jackson plays a fleeting part and Val Kilmer as Elvis sums up True Romance. As well Brad Pitt playing an hilarious stoner and James Gandolfini playing a gangster in another great scene with Patricia Arquette- I could go on too.

I wonder how a Tarantino direction would have made this film different - certainly already debated is the ended - but Tony Scott did a great job in my opinion and I'm more than happy with how the film turned out. I'd recommend this film to anyone - even if you are not a big Tarantino fan - there is more than enough for everyone with True Romance.
The word masterpiece gets branded around willy-nilly these days - but in the case of True Romance it is more than allowed because that is what this is - must see cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly stunning!, 16 Mar 2004
This film is so underated it's silly. I watched it for the first time two days ago and it completely blew me away. It breaks so many rules of the stereotypical action flick, the cast is phenomenal and the story is fantastic. I mean, theres just not one thing to dislike about this film and on 2 discs crammed with extras you have no excuse not to buy it. It easily rivals tarantinos other works and why it's so overlooked is beyond me, hell, I thought it was so good I came and told people about it. Nothing I can say can do the film justice, JUST BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great item, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under rated Film, 20 July 2004
True Romance is one of the most under rated movies ever.It was written by Qeuntin Taratino(Pulp Fiction,Resvoir Dogs).More than anything this film is a great story which i enjoyed and lots of others that have seen this movie.
The basic plot of this movie is about surviveul.You will see when/if you see this film.Great acting performaces by the leading acters plus it also stars Brad Pitt,Christopher Walken and Tom Sizemore.
Well worth the money.
If you like this you should also look at Natural Born Killers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect, thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Romance (1993) [DVD] (DVD)
Incredible film! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars directed by Tony Scott, written by Quentin Tarantino, 12 April 2010
for me,Tony Scott can be hit(Crimson Tide,Top Gun) and miss(Domino,Man On Fire)as a director.so where does he fit with this particular film.well for me,it's a hit.this is a fairly fast paced film.with lots of action,there lots of violence and bloodshed in this one,but there are also some tender and dramatic moments,which are handled well.the dialogue is sharp and clever and there are some memorable characters.much of the credit of that must go to Quentin Tarantino,who wrote the script.but to his credit Scott was also much more restrained in his directing style back then compared to on more recent films like Domino,where everything is hyper-kinetic and migraine inducing.bottom line-i found True Romance entertaining on all levels.but be warned,it is extremely violent and there is a lot of very strong language.for me,True Romance is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Romance (1993) [DVD]
True Romance (1993) [DVD] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2000)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews