Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ****10 Stars******* - The Most Perfect Summer Album
...The coolest, gentlest Bossa Nova, the most soothing voices, the greatest production, the most fantastic Brazilian tunes, old and new, - and you have Tanto Tempo and the wonderful Bebel Gilberto.
Bebel's step-mum is Astrud Gilberto (of Girl From Ipanema fame) her father is one of Brazil's most celebrated musicians, the girl has pedigree and boy does it show. The...
Published on 20 Aug 2002

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, cool bossa nova, but......
In terms of pure style, this CD is great - cool, sexy, relaxing, it creates a mood that only this genre of Brazilian bossa nova can. Bebel has a good voice, and the production is crisp and has a good balance of pace and texture - you can't really fault it on those grounds. The sound of Bebel's Brazilian Portuguese is a pleasure to listen to. However, if, like me, you were...
Published on 26 Sep 2002 by Stig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ****10 Stars******* - The Most Perfect Summer Album, 20 Aug 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
...The coolest, gentlest Bossa Nova, the most soothing voices, the greatest production, the most fantastic Brazilian tunes, old and new, - and you have Tanto Tempo and the wonderful Bebel Gilberto.
Bebel's step-mum is Astrud Gilberto (of Girl From Ipanema fame) her father is one of Brazil's most celebrated musicians, the girl has pedigree and boy does it show. The producer of much of the album is the legendary Suba (sadly no longer with us).
If you like chill-out music or latin or smooth laid back jazz you will love this - honestly one of the greatest albums of its the genre ever, possibly the best summer album ever. BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!...
Ok, enough evangelising....but honestly it is that good.
p.s. once you're into this...try "Sao Paolo Confessions" by Suba, anything by Smoke City, "Gemini" by Sven Van Hees, the last two albums by Silje Neergarde, Outro Lado by Zuco 103 and the Tanto Tempo remixes album, "Tributo" the Suba tribute album....all very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb album of beautiful, romantic, relaxed bossa nova., 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the best album of 2000 which heralds the arrival of a major compositional talent as well as a beautiful and sensitive performer in Bebel Gilberto. We have found it to be an absolutely addictive mix of authenticity, beauty, gentleness and soul. It is great that Bebel fearlessly performs such beautiful old songs as So Nice, which will hopefully capture the hearts of a new generation. It is wonderful that such a great artist is focussed on creating beauty and gentleness (such a rare commodity these days) by exploring a style which has so many treasures to offer rather than to seek after shallow novelty and effect. Standout songs are Samba da Bencao, August Day Song, Tanto Tempo, Sem Contencao and So Nice. This is just magnificent and I am anxiously (and greedily!) waiting for the next installment of Bebel's exploration.
P.S. I actually prefer Bebel's singing to Astrud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and respectful update of bossa-nova and Samba, 21 Sep 2000
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
This album had been touted as the modern (funked-up) version of traditionally recognised Brazillian rhythms, but thankfully, this is nothing too funky, but instead a respectful update of the mellow bossa sound for todays chill-out crowd.
Yes, she's the daughter of Daddy, and nothing here will offend his ears. The songs are a mix of a couple of old favourites and some well-structured new ones that Antonio Carlos Jobim wouldn't be embarrased to be associated with. There is still an acoustic, guitar-led heart to many of the songs, but with some groovy young chill-out/trip-hop people adding some rhythmic and sonic layers for a blissed-out gloss. Smoke City lend a hand on one of the tracks, but most of the production duties are handled by the late Suba.His own release(Sao Paulo confessions) also dealt with bossa and samba groves, but he was much more ambitious with the modern possibilities to really show a new direction for this stream of Brazilian music. Tanto Tempo, on the other hand, stays on the safe side of the fence. Thankfully, most of the vocals are in Portuguese which adds to the authenticity of the music. Where she does go into English (So nice), she reminds us of her step-mom, Astrid, but Bebel posesses the stronger and more confident voice.
Bebel has recently turned up on the latest Thievery Corporation album, and fans of TC will not be disappointed by Tanto Tempo.
Cool and warm. File under 'jazz/lounge'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time and I think you will grow to love it., 10 Oct 2002
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
When I first bought this I was a little disapointed, pleasant enough but it seemed to lack the strong songs / identity that characterised Astrud Gilberto and the other Bossa Nova pioneers.
However, I stuck it in the car CD player and as a result listened to it fairly frequently. Now I love it! The subtilty of the songs and arrangements takes time to make its mark but now I'm hooked. Bebel is a classic Bossa Nova singer but the more contemporary arrangements mean that this is no period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 12 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
I just started listening to this album again, being away from home and needing something inspirational. This just has to be one of the best releases of 2000. I believe that it has now sold in excess of 500,000 copies which is quite an achievement. But is she the daughter of the father (Joao Gilberto)? You bet, and she delivers with some aplomb.
Seven of the eleven compositions are orginals. With Suba who unfortunately passed away some time back Bebel had formed a brilliant partnership. For me the track of the album is the dreamy Tanto Tempo it is something you never want to end. The simplicity of the rhythm is what makes this song so effective. There are also classic remakes such as Marcos Valle's Summer Samba, Baden Powell's Samba de Bençao as well as Joao Donato's Bananeira which he also features in. I remeber when I was holidaying in the South of France during the summer of 2000 and the response from everyone in our holiday home, when I opened the bedroom window, turned the volume up and let this rip was WOW!! It is that enchanting that once you hear it you will not want to take it out of the CD player.
Get it and be enthralled like the other 500,000 listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, cool bossa nova, but......, 26 Sep 2002
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
In terms of pure style, this CD is great - cool, sexy, relaxing, it creates a mood that only this genre of Brazilian bossa nova can. Bebel has a good voice, and the production is crisp and has a good balance of pace and texture - you can't really fault it on those grounds. The sound of Bebel's Brazilian Portuguese is a pleasure to listen to. However, if, like me, you were brought up on Astrud Gilberto, Stan Getz, Elis Regina etc., what this CD lacks is any really great tunes. By two thirds of the way through, the cool starts to wear a bit thin as one starts to wonder where this CD is going. What was truly great about Astrud was that every song she sang was a classic - one rather forgave her breathy, out-of-tune singing because it all blended into the easy-going feel of the music, elevated by typically stunning impresario performances by the likes of Getz on the Saxophone. Bebel's work seems to lack any particularly special instrumental performances - the snippets of saxophone (?) heard on some tracks are stylised and processed, rather than genuine performances and this CD becomes a pastiche of an older, better latin jazz, where (so typical in music these days) style, production and mood dominate over melody and harmony.
This will be a great CD to put on as background music at a cocktail party or some such, but as listening music, there is something a bit lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sultry, summer tracks, 24 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
Looking for a "Brazilian" sound, but not seeking the dancy carnival style, I grabbed this....it has hardly left my CD player since!
Thankfully, nearly all the songs are sung in Bebels native tongue, but even when in English, the Brazilian style combined with her subtle softness comes through. A true continuation of her parents abilities, while providing a breath of fresh air, I couldn't rate this CD more - exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, one of my favourite CDs, 15 Feb 2002
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing it played on an internet music station. I simply love this CD to bits - there's hardly a duff track on there ('So Nice' is a bit sickly) but there are just so many highlights - Tanto Tempo being the main one, but there are many other fine songs too. In short, if you like this style of Brazilian music I can't recommend it enough. My only complaint is that 2001 passed without another solo offering from Bebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
This item was a gift for Christmas. I already own the same album & the person it was intended for had appreciated the artist. Despite there being a confusion about the delivery date for the original item (whether it would arrive on time for the Christmas period), i believe the replacement gift is satisfactory,arrived in excellent condition & packaging & arrived rapidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Tanto Tempo (Audio CD)
Bought this after seeing her on Jools Holland late nite latin, a good easy listening CD ,great to put on when relaxing with a drink or background with some friends, she has a good vocal range and on this cd you get some smooth to lively tracks, I would recommend , hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tanto Tempo
Tanto Tempo by Bebel Gilberto (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews