Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical epic of its time
Do my eyes deceive me or did reviewers expect to watch this and not see pro-revolutionary content?

This film is unique and stands alone in the history of film-making as the closest thing to a record of one of the most defining moments in the history of mankind. Not only is it groundbreaking in its mechanics and methodology, but it broke all the moulds in...
Published on 6 April 2008 by Koshmar_61

versus
17 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pure agitprop
If you expect realism, you won't get it. This is pure propaganda, as in The Battleship Potemkin, and not as good. There are several excellent scenes, some totally unbelievable baddies, and an inexplicable ability by the reactionaries to carry on oppressing everybody despite the incredible number of goodies who have rallied to the bolshevik cause.
The plus side is a...
Published on 19 Jan 2004 by Allan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical epic of its time, 6 April 2008
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
Do my eyes deceive me or did reviewers expect to watch this and not see pro-revolutionary content?

This film is unique and stands alone in the history of film-making as the closest thing to a record of one of the most defining moments in the history of mankind. Not only is it groundbreaking in its mechanics and methodology, but it broke all the moulds in cinematic history and formed the template for the next 20, 30 years of moviemaking.

Even watching as a non-committed political animal, you have to agree that the drama and tension transmitted in this document is unsurpassed; the transfer of the considerable lands, wealth and assets of Russia from a handful of privileged aristocrats to the people is a story which even the most seasoned narrator could not help but get worked up at. The October Revolution shaped the world for the 20th century, and unwittingly shaped an agrarian sleeping giant into the advanced industrial monolith we see still today. Indeed, were it not for the birth of the (eventual) USSR, Hitler may well have been victorious in 1941 after all, and picked off North america at will.

See this film for what it is - a fantastic historical document of its time. Forget the rhetoric behind the content, the story of the biggest political event in history is told well and forged its rightful place in cinematic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent classic from Russia, 24 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
It seems that some of the less kind reviewers are missing the point, so I will add another five star effort to hopefully balance things accordingly. The Russian director, Sergei Eisenstein, was one of the great masters of the epic film. This 1928 work tells the story of the early days of the Russian revolution, and the triumph of the Bolsheviks, over the Provisional Government in Petrograd, in 1917. The film has a documentary style, and great use of camera angles, close ups, and crowd scenes. It is also famous for the addition of experimental montages, and pivotal, telling scenes, with the camera lingering on small parts of the action. This film includes the famous `storming of the Winter Palace', and is one for true film buffs, and those interested in the subject. The addition of sound and colour to later films has still never produced anything better than this striking work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Russia - With Love...., 16 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
For historians of Russian history and of this period and with its political and social implications, then "October" remains a must. For those of us who aren't, we the ones who've worked our way backwards from more popular Russian films and of Sergei Eisenstein, in particular, how does it appeal to us?

Silent film can be hard to follow and difficult for us 21st century media moguls to connect with. We're used to seeing Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton being sped up, here it is convincingly racing. This breakneck speed is exciting, but is it interesting?

Those of us who know their classic Russian cinema a bit will be aware of their superb, almost geometrically composed compositions and framing - as a photographer myself, I've seen many that really have taken my breath away. And, the techniques of cutting and superimposition and many more that were seen in Dziga Vertov's 'Man With a Movie Camera' made two years after this (1929). After the classic and much more widely seen (and available) 'Battleship Potempkin' from this same director, Eisenstein, we can presume that we'd be getting at least some of those characteristics here.

Well, we do, of course. After a frenetic start on the streets of Leningrad and to the strains of Shostakovich, it does simmer down a bit. As is commonly known, it is all propaganda and these sorts shown in cinemas were like newspapers to a largely illiterate, peasant population.

Downsides, well, the picture quality isn't too clever and doesn't look very restored. The written notices, that were in lovely old and elegant font in D W Griffiths' and many others, are simply standard, boring and modern text on a plain grey background. A small matter, maybe, but they spoil both the continuity and period feel.

Is it worth buying? My copy of 'Battleship Potempkin' was issued by a Sunday newspaper as a 'Freebie' and I rented 'Man With a Movie Camera' from my local lending library as it's a kind of educational classic. I bought "October" DVD quite a lot cheaper than Amazon sell it themselves, so that reduced its sting in that aspect. I don't begrudge spending what I did on it but probably wouldn't have spent more. The film, as films go, is good, but not great and it really helps if you have a vested interest in buying it, as mentioned before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John burns, 1 Mar 2014
By 
john burns "john" (dundee scotland uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
yes again four stars for a five star film and again bought because of it,s director and subject again it was mentioned and recommended in a book in my local library and again it raised eyebrows the same book as in my previous review of the same subject matter the RUSSIAN REVOLUTION and again reading about it and seeing it are two different experiences one you imagine (if it is well written)and the other drops you right in it so to speak which is a good sign as not a lot of films give you that experience unless it is hi-tech which this one is not it was made long before computers were used on a large scale in film which makes it stand out all the more again aye recommend this film to students or any one who are interested in this subject as it is a piece of history on film highly recommended go for it and enjoy the film thanks again thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pure agitprop, 19 Jan 2004
By 
Allan (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
If you expect realism, you won't get it. This is pure propaganda, as in The Battleship Potemkin, and not as good. There are several excellent scenes, some totally unbelievable baddies, and an inexplicable ability by the reactionaries to carry on oppressing everybody despite the incredible number of goodies who have rallied to the bolshevik cause.
The plus side is a series of crowd scenes that look forward to Alexander Nevsky, and the real-time slow burn of the wait before storming the Winter Palace.
The picture quality is excellent.
Worth seeing, if you like Eisenstein, but is it worth buying?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, boring movie, 19 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
When I started playing this DVD, I was blasted by its amazingly on topic animated menus. I wasn't expecting that from a company that had previously released only static/silent menus. The transfer is good, they use a digitaly remastered version instead of just any old print. The only problem I had was with the movie. It has excellent visuals, but the plot got blurred to my eyes in the middle. Unfortunately, this isnt my type of movie, but this DVD is so great, and the movie so full of classic visuals, I can't bear to give it a mark lower than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of a disc, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD] (DVD)
A truly crap product. Cheap, nasty and of absolutely no historical benefit. Save your rumbles and buy a better dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

October 1917 - Ten Days That Shook The World [1927] [DVD]
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews