Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Restoration Restores Some Pride in Bond Series
I have had to make do with watching the "old-style" Bond movies (pre Casino Royale) on ITV and ITV2 for quite a few years now. And after all these years it slowly became apparent that this is what the Bond films seemed to have been relegated to - the "nothing else is on TV so I might as well" genre. Indeed, when Casino Royale came out it just seem to compound this feeling...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by hellodavey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars non the best bond, but good start to the series
this film is not as good as some of the others in the series but it still remains a good film at the time and now with one of the better bond girls!
Published on 12 Jan 2001 by dave@fukks.com


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Restoration Restores Some Pride in Bond Series, 31 Oct 2008
By 
hellodavey (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I have had to make do with watching the "old-style" Bond movies (pre Casino Royale) on ITV and ITV2 for quite a few years now. And after all these years it slowly became apparent that this is what the Bond films seemed to have been relegated to - the "nothing else is on TV so I might as well" genre. Indeed, when Casino Royale came out it just seem to compound this feeling of the old films being nearly B-grade in terms of picture quality and farcical in action sequences.

However, this Blu Ray release of Dr. No seems to have breathed new life into the actual quality of the film. It was fantastic. It felt like Bond belonged on the big screen again. The range, saturation and vividity of the colours really stood out as did how clean and sharp the image was. Video bitrate was consistently between 30-35Mbps. Motion was also smooth which always helps iron out the creases in dated action sequences. A look at the 10 min special feature of how they created a 4K restoration of the film demonstrates well the care they put into improving the quality of this film.

One of the guys who worked on the restoration puts it well "the film now [nearly] looks like it was set in the sixties rather than made in it"

Having only rented it from Lovefilm for now, if the other Bond Blu rays appear this good, it might soon be time to finally permanently add Mr. Bond to the home film collection. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Watching At Cinema, 2 Mar 2009
By 
father2 "father2" (England Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I am not old enough to have seen Dr No at the pictures when it was released way back in 1962, but this blu-ray transfer makes me realise what it must have felt like to see it when first released.

The Blu-ray picture is very impressive, sharpe and vivid. The colours are great and there is little of the noise which has blighted earlier releases.

Personally I first saw Dr No when broadcast on ITV and then on VHS. Both of these were 4:3 and left me feeling less than impressed. Then came the DVD release but again this wasn't up to scratch. But the Blu-ray release has at long last proved satisfying, very satisfying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmed now set in the 60's, 12 Jan 2009
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
That is how much improved the picture is on BLU RAY...You would think it was filmed yesterday...It is that good...

I'm sure if you are on here then you are a fan of the films so i won't spend to much time on the movie itself..
It is the first Bond film..No one knew what was to come so things that are established in future movies are in part missing here if you now what i mean but i think it is a better film for it..
To me the best Bond films are the ones that either stick closley to the original novel(this,FRWL,OHMSS) or indeed try to keep the character as close to how Fleming intended..Connery in his first 4 films did this..Lazenby,Dalton and Craig also keep true to how the character was written..
Connery nails Bond from the very first attempt and in part this is down to the director Terence Young for the stly and pace of the film...Connery's Bond is indeed a killer..he has that air about hi,..that danger element that sadly disappers as each film rolls on..

So the BLU RAY...well what can i say..Wonderful...The casino scene at the start i almost felt like i was sitting at the table with them...the smoke almost fills my room when Bond has a cigarette..you can tell that Sean had his nails done as they are clean as a button...
This is really what it must have been like watching it when it was first released back in 1962..
Roll on the next batch of films on blu ray....
5 stars...excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond Babes predate gadgetry, 28 May 2003
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dr. No [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
Should historians in a future millennium wonder what came first in the evolution of the 007 films, the gadgets or the Bond Babes, then DR. NO will provide the answer.
This first James Bond film has a young and raw Sean Connery in the title role as the British superagent tasked with thwarting the evil Dr. No (Joseph Wiseman), who plots to destroy an early, American, manned rocket launch - the Mercury program for you children - from his overbuilt hideout on a Caribbean island.
For the record, James carries no gadgets to make life easier. There is, however, Bond Babe Honey Ryder (Ursula Andress) fetchingly but barely contained in a bikini as she emerges from the surf. The various manifestations of the Commander will not see anything so stunning until Halle Berry jiggles onto the sand in DIE ANOTHER DAY (2002).
Wiseman as the villain inspires only yawns. A youthful Jack Lord from his pre-HAWAII FIVE-O days is unnecessary as the local CIA company man. All of Ursula is spectacular, but, since acting obviously wasn't a requirement, she doesn't have to do much more than wet down her scanty costumes as a warm-up for her 1965 "Playboy" pictorial.
Compared to any of the recent FX-laden Bond epics starring Pierce Brosnan, DR. NO is almost boring. But Sean Connery has been, and always will be, the pre-eminent 007. So, this film is more fairly compared to GOLDFINGER, perhaps the classic representative of the series, also starring the magnificent Scotsman. Thus, four stars instead of the three it deserves in a larger world view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now - don't say no to Dr No!, 12 Oct 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
In one word - Fantastic!
You want more than one word? OK
This is the first Bond movie, the defining moment of the 007 franchise and a special moment in cinematic history! At a time when travel was open to only a few, 007 could take the cinema going public to exciting and exotic locations - to Jamaica where they too could feel the soft white sand between their toes. The women now had a sexy new hero who they could imagine was rescuing them instead of Honey. The men could imagine being the man himself, travelling far and wide, risking life and limb to save the world!
These are the things that make the Bond franchise so appealing to the public even today. It's escapist fun at its best.
Put it in the DVD player and drift off across a beautiful blue ocean to the strains of ...
"Underneath the mango tree me honey and me..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film (4-stars for the movie, 3 for the Blu-ray), 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Easy, let's not get too carried away! If you already own the Ultimate Edition DVD of Dr No & have watched it upscaled to 1080p, then IMHO you'll not notice much improvement in this Blu-ray disc (BD) version.

Indeed, the often quoted, "The film now looks like it was set in the '60s rather than made in it...", is actually taken from a promo documentary for the remastered 007 Ultimate Edition DVD series (2006); the 007 BDs are sourced from the same restored master tapes.

Compared to the Ultimate Edition DVD, the Dr No BD has slightly richer colours; a bit more detail in faces, clothing material etc; & slightly more depth of field. Also, those with surround sound will be disappointed that the majority of the soundtrack still emanates from the centre speaker. And it's a shame that the car chases & fight scenes are still sped up.

However, if your existing version is the DVD prior to the Ultimate Edition - then you WILL notice a big difference.

If you do want to see/hear a marked improvement from DVD to BD, may I suggest that you checkout the Matrix, Blade Runner or even Casino Royale?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond as he should be, 27 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
With the first installment of Ian Flemings classic spy drama we are introduced to Sean Connery who made the role of James Bond his own and is prabably recognised as the best man in the role.

Even though the sets and backdrops are pretty spectacular in the first film you can clearly see that caution has played a part.Cubbi Broccoli and Harry Salzman realised the popularity of the Fleming novels but first time out as a film was an unknown quantity,would there be a sequel to Dr No.
Naturally the audience loved the celluloid Bond and Connerys presence as the suave and sophisticated spy who no woman could resist was a formula made in heaven.

The skill of both directors and that memorable score made the movies the biggest money makers in movie history,they proved so popular that prabably up to Connerys last outing in Diamonds are Forever there was not a bad film amongst them.

The first five are the best with From Russia with Love being the most realistic in the series.Goldfinger and Thunderball are prabably the best of the entire series and after From Russia the spending spree on more lavish locations and sets became the norm.
With the introduction of the more tounge in cheek humour of Roger Moore the plots became certainly more lavish but less realistic as spy movies,they knew they were onto a winning formula so the sparkle and professionalism of the Connery years had gone.

These superb editions released by United Artists pack a real punch with simply superb commentaries and carefully chosen extras,which ever is your favorite movie there is a commentary to do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original... and best., 11 Nov 2002
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The best James Bond in the best James Bond movie - 40 years on we're still struggling to make a movie as knowing, as well-constructed, as cinematic and as original as this.
Bond in this movie is a little closer to Fleming's sophisticated thug than the wisecracking bon viveur of later movies. Connery portrays Bond as a hero, but not a superhero - He's a fairly ordinary but unpleasant bloke doing a fairly ordinary and unpleasant intelligence job - but the case gradually becomes weirder and weirder and suddenly, round about the point where Urusula Andress's bikini makes a bid for a "Best Supported Actress" Oscar nomination the entire film takes a sharp left turn from a fairly straight thriller with some touches of black humour into... well, something that looks like Buck Rogers meets Fireball XL5! Suddenly we're in a world of illegal nuclear reactors, evil geniuses with mechanical hands, and threats to the whole world...
Yes, it's possible to read Dr No as a statement on the Cold War, a way of disarming the nuclear threat to the West and defusing spy paranoia. But that's missing the point. What Dr No is, mostly, is a marvellously decadent filmic experience. The cast and crew know it's ridiculous escapism, and give performances that are perfectly overdone. The direction and cinematography are as precise as a 1920s Expressionist movie, the difference being this is in rare (ish, for the time) and vibrant colour. The soundtrack - well, the music's perfect, right through from the calypso version of Three Blind Mice via the Bond theme to the perfectly-judged incidental music.
Everything about this film adds up to make a fantastic cinematic experience. It's slick, fast-paced enough that you won't notice the plot holes, cynical, exciting, visually exciting and above all IT'S FUN!
The Bond franchise has only aspired to these heights on a couple of occasions -- OHMSS is probably a better movie (and would've been near-perfect if Lazenby had been just a little more comfortable in the role), Goldfinger is the finest romp but is perhaps too camp for its own good.
James Bond - the first real-life spy cartoon for grownups. Marvellous stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most stylish film ever made, 3 July 2002
By 
MR J RANSON (NORTH SHIELDS, TYNE & WEAR United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Dr. No is not only the best Bond film but also the greatest film ever made and being the shortest Bond film to date I disagree with the reviews suggesting it is slow-paced. It oozes style thanks to the influence of Fleming, the neat directing talents of Young and the perfect performance of Connery. The Jamaican location is exotic, the villain is original and Ursula Andress is gorgeous. The DVD is fully loaded including a stunning commentary featuring about thirty members of the cast and crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great First 007 film, 18 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. R. Butler "robwbutler" (Southampton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I have to admit for most of my life I haven't been a james bond fan not having really watched them though. So I thought I will watch all the films starting with this one Dr No. It is a great film and Sean Connery plays the part of 007 very well. I won't give the story away for those who don't want to know it but I would recommend that if you are like me and haven't watched all the bond films then watching this one is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr No [DVD] [1962]
Dr No [DVD] [1962] by Terence Young (DVD - 2003)
£4.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews