Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!! What an album!!
Its rare that i ever feel the need to wright a review on anything but upon purchasing this album i feel the need to tell people just how good this realy is.Being a fan for a long i decided to comlete my collection by buying the first album, the first song lets rip with noodlese's guitar skills and the following songs just make you wanna get up and jump along with the...
Published on 10 July 2001 by almorrell90@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality and effort
Do not buy this. It is cheap and nasty and unlike their post 'fly like a white guy' days. It feels and sounds like a very unskilled group in a garage with a tape recorder made this.
Published 17 months ago by A. O. Mccullough


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!! What an album!!, 10 July 2001
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
Its rare that i ever feel the need to wright a review on anything but upon purchasing this album i feel the need to tell people just how good this realy is.Being a fan for a long i decided to comlete my collection by buying the first album, the first song lets rip with noodlese's guitar skills and the following songs just make you wanna get up and jump along with the music. Such greats as Elders and Ill be waiting (there first ever realeased song) will have you singing along in no time, corny as this may sound most of the songs are damn catchy.The only song that really breaks the chain of greats on this album is the last which i personally find a bit annoying, but all in all this is a very, very good album which oozes with runaway guitar riffs, great lyrics and some good old fashioned loud punk songs. With there last two albums being a dissapointment to me( and im sure im not the only one) its a great reminder that The Offspring did and i hope will continue to make great, energy filled material which screams punk out at you every time you listen to it, if you like anything remotley punky i suggest that you slam this into your stereo, turn the volume up and mosh along to this truly classic album, there very best by far!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff!, 23 July 2004
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
Be warned: if you're a fan of The Offspring's new, more radio friendly stuff then this may not be the album for you. This is no frills punk rock. But don't let that put you off because it contains some absolutely amazing tracks with "Elders", "A Thousand Days", "Blackball" and "Out On Patrol" among my favourites. The only down-side to this album is that, being their first recordings, the lack of money shows in the production. But otherwise, this is essential stuff and you owe it to yourself to have it in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Offspring Really Did Used To Be Amazing!, 11 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
Its 1988, a year after Dexter Holland and his school janitor 'Noodles' formed their band know as The Offspring. Punk is taking off more than ever before and the competetion is high.The offspring's first album unbelievably knocks out all competetion with a stunning set of short 11 songs, yet Dexter and Co arent even tired. They want more, and whats better is they can easily provide more (such classics as ignition and smash). This debut album was so easy for them they didnt know it would be so damn successful with one guitar less than at the present, the bass held up well, whilst the bass drum was used frequently to cover the bassist when he used the electric guitar with noodles. The result? A work of art, with the finest punkcore songs you will hear, with classy vocals and very catchy riffs. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YA YA YA YA YA ITS THE OFFSPRINGS FIRST ALBUM!!!, 22 May 2001
By 
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
This is the offsprings first album and its superb.This has a raw early feel to it and includes loads of great songs such as Blackball,Jennifer Lost the War and Beheaded(with its twisted but great lyrics).Overall this is a great debut album with loads of great songs.A MUST for true offspring fans.If you have just started listening to the offspring i recommend buying Ixnay on the Hombre and Americana before buying this this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 17 May 2013
This review is from: The Offspring (MP3 Download)
It's raw and great. I got the version with the final song that is removed on this download, I assume it was removed due to the PC police. Either way, The Offspring at their best before they went s***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the fans..., 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
If your buying this record with the idea that it will sound like the radio friendly songs you hear by the band on MTV and Kerrang, your gonna have a bad time. Thats not to say this album is bad, not by a long shot, but it is a punk record. This means that all those pop hooks you hear in mainstream media don't exist. This album maintains the punk credibility which I believe only true fans will appreciate. If you want true punk rock spirit, get this album, you will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk -O- Rama!, 7 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
This is a classic punk masterpiece, it's not as good as Siamese Dream, Dookie, Smash and Weezer's Blue Album (although nothing is), it ranks just as good as Ixnay and Ignition, and better than their alleged 'sell-out' albums Americana and Conspiracy Of One.
Jennifer Lost The War, Elders, Out On Patrol, Crossroads, Beheaded, Black Ball, I'll Be Waiting and Kill The President are the highlights on this, and the rest are still great.
Noodles' guitar playing is better than ever, as too is Greg's bass playing.
If you like Ignition, Smash or Ixnay, then you'll love this!
BUY NOW!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 5 July 2001
By 
Bruce Turnbull "Acoma_Spy_Master" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
You are not a true offspring fan unless you have this album.Better than the newer ones by far,with metal anthems like 'elders' 'demons' and 'out on patrol' with the sad ballad style opening 'i ll be waiting' portarys what the offspring are about the twisted and sadist lyrics of 'beheaded' make this album all worth while...BUT IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a true Offspring fan, 14 Aug 2006
By 
W. J. HOWELLS (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
And not one of these "I love Pretty Fly For A White Guy" wannabes then you'll love this album.

The fact that Pretty Fly is so succesful says a lot for youth of today (of which I am an unfortunate particiapant). This is scratchy earthy and grungy Punk; something which does translate into the later stuff if you listen hard enough.

If you want poppy Punk don't buy it; if you want one of the greatest Neo Punk bands to ever grace the planet's first album showing them off in their working man days - this is your album.

ACE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album.... BUY IT!, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Offspring (Audio CD)
This is probably the offspring's best album. The first two tracks are not the best, but the rest are great. My favourite is probably 'black ball' or 'out on patrol'. Recording quality not that great, but that adds to the appeal! Compare this to americana or conspiracy of one and you probably wouldn't know it's by the same band. A true classic... buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Offspring
The Offspring by The Offspring (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews