Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Damned Re-Invention!!
This was the 'Damned' entering their Gothic/psyche period,The album opens
with saxophone as the intro to the anthemic 'Street of dreams', i have
read other reviews griping about the use of sax on this album, i like it!
it adds to the ethereal atmosphere of the the album & of course it was used on
Stranger On the Town from the excellent...
Published on 31 Mar. 2009 by Rasputin "Czar"

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limp Vanian Vehicle
The Damned have made a career out of challenging our expectations of them and in this respect (up until, that is, the truly lamentable 'Anything') 'Phantasmagoria' could be said to have been their most 'challenging' album - but for all the wrong reasons. For your money you get nine songs only, one being the turgid 'Trojans', an instrumental more suited to be the...
Published on 5 Sept. 2011 by Monty's Double

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Slighly different, 26 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
I had this album as a cassette in my car for ages, but it went missing somehow, so I got the CD to replace it. Timeless stuff and I love the spoof horror ambience. BUT - the vocals are quieter in this version. Odd, but I'm used to it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phantasmagoria the timeless classic, 17 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
With the Damned having their 35th anniversary in 2011 Phantasmagoria is perhaps one of the timeless classic albums from the Damned, and if you don't have this in your collection, it's about time you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Damned album, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
A. Davies "fouloleron" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great way to listen to this - packed with extras.
Features 2CDs - so studio album plus remixes plus b sides a cuple of live tracks and 3 BBC session tracks.

Superb value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open wide the door........., 20 Aug. 2001
By 
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
Truly the greatest gothic album i have ever heard. While Machine Gun etiquette and strawberrys were very punk and may i add extremely brilliant, Phantasmagoria is more don't-look-behind-you gothic music. I listened to street of dreams and already i was overcome with amazement and awe and by the time Grimly Fiendish came on i was dancing like a lunatic. shadow of love will enter your subconscious and without realising it you will be humming it for weeks, and also check out Dave vanian's evil croone on Sanctum Sanctorum. Finally, and just when you thought it was too good to be true, there are even remixes at the end. I take my hat off to these guys- well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Fred P (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
A classy Classic with much better music than was expected from the 'post-Captain Sensible' era. The great Bob Carlos-Clarke picture still send shivers up my spine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Damned., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More classic Damned .
Excellent cover of Pretty Vacant and Wild Thing .
All the 10ins and 12 ins releases on the one download .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best later Damned album, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Vinyl)
A really great later Damned album. Albeit one that is 30 years old. The Damned are still a potent live force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great on CD!, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Syko (Ross-on-Wye, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
As I had this on a good old cassette it's great to have the CD, the extra tracks aren't too bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
Timeless album which I had as vinyl and it sounds as good today as it did to me 20 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's Eloise?, 3 May 2002
By 
A. Reynolds "adrian_j_r" (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phantasmagoria (Audio CD)
I remember originally buying this album on vinyl as it had a limited edition 12" blue version of 'Eloise' with it.
Now, it's a good thing that 'Phantasmagoria' doesn't have too much of that semi-serious pomposity about it. 'Street Of Dreams' is a very good opening track and sets the tone for some excellent post-Captain work. Well, I bought the single version of 'Eloise' anyways and forever think of Celeste - the goth princess I spent too much time chasing - when I play it.
This album still gets played too as it has 'aged' remarkably well. Although it is still dated in my head to the mid-80's it has an air of immediacy that keeps it interesting.
A good collection of tunes - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phantasmagoria
Phantasmagoria by Damned (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Strawberries
Strawberries by Damned (Audio CD - 2008)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15)   

Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987
Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 by Damned (Audio CD - 2008)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18)   

Machine Gun Etiquette
Machine Gun Etiquette by Damned (Audio CD - 2007)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42)