Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How POP MUSIC should be !!
"Sound of Water" is one of those sweet records that will haunt you by its beauty ; this is the perfect album to bring sunshine into your heart and fresh green grass under your feet !
The music is downbeat: true... but full of nostalgia,innocence, atmosphere and romance all cooked up in sweet electronica pop .
"Late Morning" the first song is a great intro to...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by Lee Marie Sadek

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of Rococorot
Rococorot have a lot to answer for.Where are the tunes, the lyrics,the sexiness of the previous albums? Every other St. Etienne album had its classic moments,this album has none.Non-existant 60's Paris warbling by Miss Cracknell, and all the guts taken out of the music by some anally-retentive robots.If you want Krautrock listen to 'Like a motorway',a great tribute to...
Published on 26 May 2000 by R. BROOMFIELD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How POP MUSIC should be !!, 21 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
"Sound of Water" is one of those sweet records that will haunt you by its beauty ; this is the perfect album to bring sunshine into your heart and fresh green grass under your feet !
The music is downbeat: true... but full of nostalgia,innocence, atmosphere and romance all cooked up in sweet electronica pop .
"Late Morning" the first song is a great intro to settle the whole mood of the album with its only chorus "lalalala la la la" repeated over and over with backing vocals ; so simple but so dreamy !!!
"Heart Failed in the Back of a Taxi" is a gorgeous dark pop electro song that has a Pet Shop Boys' intelligence in it ...
"Don't Back Down" has a 70s' disco sound merged with the smoothness of Sarah Cracknell's voice in a very lovely way .
"Just a Little Overcome" is a track that will make your heart melt with Sarah's fragile and intimate voice . This song is a breezy gentle ride that will mark you in a very romantic way !!
"How We Used To Live" is a masterpiece beast : over 9 minutes that describe a journey where any listener to this track can find his personnal and inner fantastic place !!! you will get shivers in the middle of this song ...shivers that will make you SAIL AWAY !!!!
"Place at Dawn" the final track is instrumental, like the first one, very simple in structure but very accurate in suggesting a scene of dawn to the listener and end this album beautifully as it started .
This album will lift you up and bring you down... but in both ways it will be the sweetest ride that a band can offer you through your earphones !! so enjoy !!! Lee-Marie S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Response, 31 May 2000
By 
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
How many groups are still this good, this artful, this catchy after 9 years? The To Rococo Rot/Sean O'Hagen augmented sound is perfect for St.E. It is as if the year is 2010 and the universe has changed so that short, clean, artful pop paintings (um songs)can be popular. The glorius Sarah Cracknell seems to have aged in skill but gotten younger in tone. "The way we used to live" and "Sycamore" show them operating at such a high level that tolerance for most other bands is impossible. "Heart Failed" displays a compact jungle-like beat that is new to my ears, like many of the sounds on this album. Complaints? The opening track is boring "Places to Visit" type material and "Boy is Crying" isn't where St.E ought to be. To close: you can find an exciting new girl/boy-friend or buy this CD... same feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saint Etienne back to what they do best !, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
The albums title is Sound Of Water, and well it lives up to its title, it sounds like water. There's lot's of piano fragments that give it the watery / icey edge, theres also tons of flutes. It picks up where Half Timbered left off on the Places To Visit EP. Heart Failed is a stab at the commercial world of music. Selling your fans and families, what an unpleasent thing to do. Don't Back Down is one of the best things the band has ever done. Sweeping string arangements and spoken verses, surely its destained to be a single. Boy Is Crying see's them return to there more familer 60's sound, How We Used To Live has been descibed as Avenue part 2. In a way it is, all three parts of it. The middle and last part being the best. The album finishes with the instrumental Place At Dawn, a short guitar piece to send you sleep. All in all it is one of there best pieces of work to date. So Tough in sprit and Tigar Bay in sound. If your new to Etienne I'd recommend this as a good starting block, the more you listen to it the more it grows. Eventually you buy the rest of there back catalogue, like I did after buying To Young To Die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Saint Etienne album..., 14 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
...though I'm told that says more about me than the music. Certainly this is a far more minimalist, less kitschy effort than all of their other albums; there's a much more "electronic" feel to a lot of the pieces. That's not to imply that it's cold and soulless, or "full of annoying bleeps" as one of the reviewers below has it; this is a really beautiful record and there are some cracking, heartfelt songs on here. There are plenty of moments of sheer fragile loveliness (Late Morning, Sycamore, Just A Little Overcome), some fine semi-pop songs (Don't Back Down, Heart Failed, Boy Is Crying) and the superb 9-minutes-plus How We Used To Live, which always struck me as a bit of an oddity as a single but which fits absolutely perfectly here. This is a wonderful record and I can't recommend it highly enough. A lot of thought clearly went into maintaining a constant "atmosphere" for the album, as some other good material was omitted so as not to ruin the flow; there's a B-sides/odds and sods disc, "Interlude", knocking around which contains the cut stuff and is also well worth picking up. Anyway, this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submerged in Brilliance, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
Sound of Water? More like the Sound of Perfection. Saint Etienne have made a career out of exceeding expectations, and their new album is no exception. Gone are the Swede-ilicious popfections of good Humor; Sound of Water sees the Etienne getting down and dirty in styles ranging from electro to pure funk to prog-rock to ambient to.... everything in between. "Heart Failed" should be their biggest hit, with its Leftfield-meets-dusty Springfield techno-Asian feel; "Sycamore" sees Sarah Cracknell at her breathy best; and "How We Used to Live," the Etienne's 3-part epic, takes the listener on a trip down a mountain stream to the seaside by way of the local disco and speakeasy. "Boy is Crying" sees La Cracknell finally getting ticked off and singing like her life depends on it. An instant classic, and the album of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understated Loveliness, 31 Jan 2006
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
This is an excellent Sunday morning record. All the hallmark Saint Etienne sounds are here but that is not a criticism. A record where the band are at their most pensive and producing some fairly emotional and thoughtful tracks. There is also some rather nice sequencing and mood generation emerging througout the record.
Best tracks in my opinion are 'Heart Failed', 'Don't back down' and 'How we used to live' but I can't really fault any of them. Recommended for the half-way mood days when you're neither up or down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius from a fantastic group, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound of Water (Audio CD)
If you know and love Saint Etienne, then this album is a must. If you don't know them yet, then this is a good place to start. Released in 2000 after a long hiatus, it signalled a welcome return to their earlier form, somehow lost through the late 1990s. We begin with the mystical Late Morning, and drift into the faster Heart Failed. Moving through various inspirations and sources, (Burt Bacharach anyone?), we come to the comercially-suicide single How We Used To live. Expanding on the 1992 Avenue, it is a 9-minute masterpiece. An excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars growing up in public, 15 July 2000
By 
crjquinn@aol.com (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
I guess St Etienne are about my age, and like me it seems as if they've grown out of the retrokitsch irony that attracted me to them in the first place. This is a thoroughly modern album of 21st-Century pop. It may be a little bland on the surface, but there's much more than surface to this band now. They've chosen their collaborators well (anyone who likes this should immediately buy The High Llamas' 'Snowbug' - the first few minutes of 'How We Used To Live' is a virtual retread of 'Bach Ze' off the Llamas' album), they haven't been tempted to extend tracks unnecessarily and they've dropped the cute but twitchy between-song clippings of their earlier records. This is one of the prettiest-sounding pop records I've ever heard, but it's the tough, poignant prettiness of a maturing group of intelligent individuals regretfully putting childish things aside. Like reading George Eliot after Jane Austen. Five stars aren't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intersesting, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
Pleasant surprise, most enjoyable album. First listen to these people and will investigate their other music at a later date. Recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I Love Sarah Cracknell, 30 July 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "fact275" (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Of Water (Audio CD)
I was a fan of Saint Etienne when their debut, Fox Base Alpha came out but drifted away as they flirted with 60s British pop. But I gave Sound of Water a listen and was blown away. This is the album that the band dropped its less-than-serious pretensions and dabblings really became serious artists. Some might find it more experimental and less accessible in the 9 minute long "How We Used to Live" but "Heart Failed (In the Back of a Taxi)" and "Don't Look Back" are two of the band's best singles. The electronic sound is back and better than ever. Sarah's normally girlish voice is more adult and serious. It was this record that made my crush on her grow into full blown love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound Of Water
Sound Of Water by Saint Etienne (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews