Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest punk albums ever
I first bought this album when I was 15 years old,I'm now 36.It still gets my blood pumping!There is not one bad track on it,the highlights have got to be;Where have all the Bootboys gone(it's an anthem for many an ageing Punk),Dame to blame,this has a guitar solo to end all solo's.Superb.Johny T,Rock and Roll,Fast and hard. The best band from Manchaester,ever.Put it...
Published on 10 Jun 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Eye Witness
Unlike most if not all of the other reviewers here I actually saw the original Slaughter and the Dogs at the Red Cow in Hammersmith in late 76 or early 77. I remember what seemed like a school kid [ I was only 20 at the time ] in school uniform queuing up outside the gig. How will he get in I thought. Turned out he was the singer! They, SATD, were ok. I went primarily...
Published 9 months ago by Klausk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest punk albums ever, 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
I first bought this album when I was 15 years old,I'm now 36.It still gets my blood pumping!There is not one bad track on it,the highlights have got to be;Where have all the Bootboys gone(it's an anthem for many an ageing Punk),Dame to blame,this has a guitar solo to end all solo's.Superb.Johny T,Rock and Roll,Fast and hard. The best band from Manchaester,ever.Put it on your Must Buy list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Lowbrow Rock, 18 April 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
Slaughter combined early 70's glam with a heavy guitar wrath bypassing the dead end of heavy metal with punk attitude. Energised by Raw Power, VU, Bowie and Dolls they created Manchester before the journalists found it on the map. This was the music igniting the fuse paper.

Everyone in Manchester was either energised by the Dogs or their mums slimming pills. The rewriters claim the Pistols did it, but the dogs led the race. The Pistols may have been the southern epiphany but the Dogs were hark the heralds, john the baptists. Similar to the Hollywood Brats, the Dogs merged glam into punk. If the Dolls and Iggy were your main influences, along with Ziggy it was a short walk across the street to announcing sedition.

This is one of the greats. It is not punk rock in the 80's sense but punk with a 60's non-sensibility. Quick Joey Small went over the wall with a heavy guitar sound behind him, a track covered by the original Cramps.

The original Slaughter had more in tunings with the Cramps than the later punk bands. "Who are the Mystery Girls?", cranked really high, played with speed and finesse, takes the New York Dolls to grim up north and the magic wand turned grim in glam. "We don't care", a nod to punk tude with the classic one fingered salute. Gen X built on this refusal to create a classic punk album which also meandered. Slaughter were lean and mean like the Saints.

This was a march on from Bowie and Bolan, an acknowledgement of the world outside glam rock pantomine. A journey beyond the self constructed bubble and an engagement with the real world. The Dogs did not offer escape. "Im mad" a beserker, akin to the Cramps rewrite of "Tear it Up", "Johnny T" a greasy rocker atop his Norton Commando and "Dame to Blame", New York curled top lip. "Since you went away" is the one tearjerker an asymetrical "I wanna be your boyfriend". Slaughter existed in a parallel world to the New York scene.

Whilst Manchester is lauded for Buzzcocks, Joy Division, Fall, John Cooper Clarke and what appeared afterwards, let's hear it for the men who blew the bugle.

These swept away the musical cobwebs.

The kings of lowbrow rock, Slaughter and the Dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doin' it Doggy Style, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Ian Kelly "ian24287" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
One of the all time classic punk albums combining anarchic punk, cutting New York Dolls style guitars meaningful lyrics (since you've been away)and even a touch of british teen humour (we don't care) and 70's punk style (where have all the Boot Boys Gone) mixed with the completely mad Victims of the Vampire & I'm Mad. I've had this album since the 70's and have played the grooves off it and was made up to find it's available now on cd with all the others. Even the fantastic dog Style artwork looks great still in a cd case.
They never quite managed to match class of this level in later years, which is probably why DECCA dropped them early on, but some of their later efforts are very respectable when listened on the later compilation (Anthology) and even an acouustic set on the singles comp.
This Album is a MUST HAVE for anyone interested in 70's UK & Manchester Punk scene or even those who like off beat rock albums. Hell, my 17 yr old daughter has even got the "Studio Sweethearts" compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best punk album ever, 2 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
I haven't heard the CD so am basing this review on the vinyl copy I owned shortly after it came out. This was the best punk album *ever* in my opinion, every track a winner and the ultimate expression of teenage rock'n'roll energy.
If the boys had had a svengali such as Malcolm McLaren at their side, they'd have gone on to be gigantic. As it was, they made great music. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do it Dog Style review, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
Listening to this album was every bit as pleasurable as it was 30 years ago, an absolute all time classic from the finest punk band Manchester ever produced. An absolute must for any punk enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Eye Witness, 1 July 2013
By 
Klausk (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
Unlike most if not all of the other reviewers here I actually saw the original Slaughter and the Dogs at the Red Cow in Hammersmith in late 76 or early 77. I remember what seemed like a school kid [ I was only 20 at the time ] in school uniform queuing up outside the gig. How will he get in I thought. Turned out he was the singer! They, SATD, were ok. I went primarily because I liked their first single "Cranked Up Really High" [ not on here which is a shame ] The singer started the act by shaking off loads of talcum powder he had previously poured all over his head. The whole band had lots of energy and sounded like a junior dolls with a bit of The Damned thrown in. They were never destined to be any influence and in fact weren't. Its only when compared to a lot of what came after that they sound any good really...and of course for people who never saw them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doggone, 23 July 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do It Dog Style (Audio CD)
Slaughter and the Dogs' 1977 debut demonstrates the problem most punk bands had. They made some great singles but sustaining that interest over an album was a different matter. The first half a dozen tracks sound great. They have quite a heavy but energetic sound. The opening track and 'Boston Babies' I particularly like. Unfortunately, the second half of the original album, while relentlessly pursuing the same style, is mainly composed of mediocre filler, burdened with vapid lyrics. This is most striking on 'Since You Went Away', which reveals the band to be pretty decent, but is let down by an embarrassingly trite lyric. The bonus track, 'Johnny T', is worth a mention, but this CD is only for collectors and enthusiasts of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9c0ac8)

This product

Do It Dog Style
Do It Dog Style by Slaughter & The Dogs (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews