Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Classic, 3 April 2006
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
I first bought this album in the seventies when it first came out on vinyl. I cannot overestimate the brilliance of it. The sound is ageless, the songs superb and the guitar playing of Graham Douglas is breathtaking. What a difference he makes to the songs. This is a fast paced, pulse racing album of incredibly powerful songs jam packed full of powerful guitar riffs by Douglas. This guy is so good. I am a guitar player and Douglas makes this album for me. It is a classic and will definitely get your adrenalin racing. Don't bother with their other albums. Yes I listen to Satriani, Vai and all the others, but I would consider this as a guitarists album too because Graham Douglas' fills and solos are perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step Back in Time, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
A truely superb album, from a very underated group, rekindling many childhood memories. Every track is a little gem and the 'Beginning of the End' a monster to end the proper record of the time. This version includes many extra's including probably my favourite ever Hot Rod record, 'I Might be Lying'. Crack open a few tinnies, crank up the volume, close your eyes and Step Back in Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eathr kit, 9 Sep 2009
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
most of us leave little behind. and that's fine. a brave few post something that stays with us and helps us remember how it was to be 17 and feel G-R-E-A-T. see, i was always kinda embarrassed about liking eathr because they didn't look as cool as the clash (except maybe douglas). yeah, and that too-ironic hanging-rope didn't help. but these guys were every bit original punks. buckets of energy. just how friggin good is daywd?... well time has rolled on and this stands as an AWESOME anthem. right up there amongst the very best. love that guitar graham. respect the rods. they were the real deal

guys, you have a place in history

play very loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Slice of Rock History, 28 July 2009
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
To my mind there was a great deal of hypocrisy inherent within the whole punk movement. Sadly the ethos that underpinned the politics of the movement fragmented as soon as the Sex Pistols signed to mega record companies and The Police did stadium tours. However in amongst the morass one band stood out for me and that was Eddie and the Hot Rods.

Life on the Line was the ultimate Rods album. It was the one that demonstrated that they were prepared to straddle the ground between punk, rock n roll, pop and serious rock. The fusion is wonderful and the energy is electric. I was privileged to see the Rods on the tour that they did to support this album and can attest to the fact that this was a band at its very peak.

This extended CD contains some of the rarer material of the time including some live tracks and the somewhat below par 'Till the Night is Gone' single which is somewhat of a collectors item today. If you are drawn to this album through the classic 'Do Anything You Wanna Do' single then I can assure you that this same high quality of song writing is maintained throughout - culminating eventually with the monstrous anthem 'Beginning of the End' - an epic song for a mighty album.

What a wonderful testament to an equally wonderful band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life on the Line, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
It just never dates - had to replace my old vinyl copy and was a bit reticent because of the price, but it still gets me up and rocking and was worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll Majesty, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
Was just about to wax lyrical - but Paul Ess has said it all. The beginning of the end is quite simply the climactic topping to a majestic 70s rock'n'roll album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Distortion May Be Expected', 28 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
And so, your humble reviewers recent obsession with 'caveman music' comes to an inevitable head.
The last 'Lost Chord' you might say.

I'm fully aware, (and racked with guilt!) that I should be reviewing the magnificent 'Ken Russell at the BBC' dvd box-set albeit with the hotly anticipated 'Dance of the Seven Veils' sadly omitted. (Strauss urging his orchestra to play louder to drown out the screams of Jews being tortured was controversial to say the least in 1970, but almost 40 years later we're still being denied a chance to form our own opinion.)
I should be hunched at the flickering keyboard, sweat on brow, divulging to the masses the profligate tenebrous and genius sweep of 'Elgar', 'Song of Summer' and 'the Debussy Film'.

So what are Eddie and the Hot Rods doing invading my Dante improvs and Isadora Duncan fascinations? Taking me forcibly away from writing about the finest dvd release of the decade, and compelling me to scribble about horrid old rock'n'roll.

In this case - Pub-rock; the ultimate manifestation of caveman music - in fact, it's so far down the music evolutionary scale, it's still underwater.
This stuff is so basic, I can only think of 3 or 4 other groups in the whole genre (you think I'm gonna name them - ha ha!).

The Ess philosophy specifies no junk, so how is this shamelessly loud mound of power-pop (another phrase likely to have yer average music fan fleeing to the mountains, but I'll chance it.) accruing the magical 5 vermillion Amazon review stars?

Easily. Eddie and the Hot Rods, sounding I AM aware, like some insane George Thorogood tribute act, are in fact, boil-impacted cousins of those other standard-baring R&B loud-mouths Dr Feelgood.
The Hot Rods leaven their row with pop as opposed to the Feelgood's old style blues - and the results are tremendous. The 9 original album cuts, plus singles and oddities are Doc Marten to the groin, bottle over the head, punch in the solar plexus outstanding.
They rant past at speeds approaching burn, stripped down to the rust. Fierce rock guitar, classic rhythm section, earthy singer; no affectations, this is the McCoy like no other.
Symphonies of best bitter, nicotine-stained pictures of Her Majesty and the winners enclosure at Aintree, signed photo's of Johnny Kidd and P J Proby with his ripped trousers.

'Do Anything You Wanna Do' (is this the GREATEST song ever recorded?) 'Quit This Town', 'Ignore Them', 'Don't Believe Your Eyes', and the bruising 8 minutes of the glorious set-closing 'Beginning of the End'.
Each and every one a slice of single-malt infused, Senior Service impregnated noise-nostalgia.

No-one will ever make a music like this again - no one is prepared to take the pain and strain for little or no gain. In the gimmick and idiosyncratic reliant I-pod and download culture we inhabit, the very idea just seems further and further away.

If just one of you in sterile cyber-land buys this on the strength of this review-I'll rest easy, my responsibilities discharged for a while. And I can leave the simple but highly addictive worlds of the caveman and the pub-rocker and return to Ken Russell, who's been waiting since the 60's.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, awful album cover!, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Alan J. Wilson "AlWi" (Beckenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl in the late 1970's from a bargain bin but it was badly warped and I never had the opportunity to hear all the tracks properly. However, the promise of the music was there. The CD is excellent and there are many great tracks (and memories) to enjoy. The track "Beginning of the end" is awesome and it's great to hear it in it's entirety. AW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
I order this product which turned up very quickly with now problems good value for money. would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life on the Line (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life on the Line
Life on the Line by Eddie & The Hot Rods (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews