Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Fine!!!
Well what can i say? this album has everything! i cant think of a track on it that i ever skip past on the CD player! you have to listen to it more than once to take it all in though because at around 2 hours 40 mins its a great collection to listen to for ages and ages. With rocking tracks like Paranoid and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and lets not forget the trudgingly...
Published on 18 Jun. 2001 by d i beech

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average.
Just another compilation, would prefer to buy the full albums instead but its ok for the car.
Published 2 months ago by Kev Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Fine!!!, 18 Jun. 2001
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Well what can i say? this album has everything! i cant think of a track on it that i ever skip past on the CD player! you have to listen to it more than once to take it all in though because at around 2 hours 40 mins its a great collection to listen to for ages and ages. With rocking tracks like Paranoid and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and lets not forget the trudgingly excelent Black Sabbath with its atmospheric sound! i wouldnt advise listening to this in the Dark all alone! of course there are so many greats on this album i aint gonna go through them all and they're listed above anyway. its safe to say that this is a damn fine collection of great work with many great guitar peices and some evil lyrics. all i have left to say now is BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ULTIMATE Sabbath compilation.............., 8 Feb. 2001
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Apart from the last three non--Ozzy tracks, this compilation has all the essential Black Sabbath. However much I listen to DIO or Gillan no-one can take the place of the mighty Ozzy! Overall though this is an excellent CD with all the best tracks from albums prior to '79 when our Ozzy 'LEFT'<<<<<. So let the bell toll,the guitars play and the drums roll! For Hard Rock you cant do much better. A must for ANY and EVERYONE.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath... Rock!, 29 Jun. 2001
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath not only invented heavy metal, but remain the best band in the genre. Sabbath are still relevant today, and after hearing their music you will question the originality of most current metal bands. This CD features the best tracks from the best band, although of course the Ozzy era material is the best. This is one of the best albums I own (alongside Nirvana's Nevermind or Smashing Pumpkin's Mellon Collie) and most frequently listen to. If you love metal then this album is essential, especially for fans that have been drawn in by the explosion of commericial metal bands and want to see where their music comes from. Highly Reccommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, all that on two CD's!, 10 July 2003
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This was one of the first Heavy Metal CD's i ever brought and despite the comments about the age of the music from my friends it remains the same, sabbath outclass most modern bands.
I think that it is a great compolation of Sabbaths greatest hits, and the songs by Dio make you appreciate ozzy's phenomanel roar in songs like Black sabbath and the high pitch squeal in Sabbath Bloody Sabbath.With excellent riffs, fabulus bass runs and sabbaths unique apocolyptic views wrapped together by Geezer Butlers dark lyrics is a must for all metal fans, old and new.BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of doom-laden, sometimes bluesy, heavy metal., 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Heironymous "AB" (In Sgt. Pepper's band) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
A very good collection of songs of a very important originator in the musical genre of heavy metal. This has a nice selection of rocking numbers from various albums, and also some of their quieter prettier numbers.Mainly concentrates on Ozzy era songs, with a couple of Dio numbers that provide a nice change (to myself as I already own various albums and collections of Sabbath concentrating on the Ozzy lineup). There's lots of angry-and-mournful almost protest songs that reflect the Sabs' background in the industrial city of Birmingham. I highly recommend this as a great introduction to the Black Sabbath catalogue. On a personal note, IMHO I prefer to hear B.S mixed in with other rock acts - mp3 players help here- as there's only so much doomy rock I like to hear at one time YRMV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album. It is the only Black Sabbath album I own and is perfect if you love the classics but don't want the entire back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At their best, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
All their top stuff is here. This is the start of heavy metal,doom laden chords and vocals......brilliant riffing from iommi. If your not into them,buy this and you soon will be!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sabbath Compilation, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is a great Sabbath compilation. It focusses mainly on the Ozzy era and cherry picks the best tracks from each album he sang on. Shortly before buying this I listed the tracks I wanted for my own home made compilation and it was so similar to the track listing here that I never bothered, I bought this instead. I love 90% of the tracks and the rest aint bad either, I'm enjoying it so much that since buying I've played this over any individual Sabbath album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. R. P. Trahearn "rptrahearn" (great britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
One of the great bands of the that year cd arrived on time had no problems worth buying with there best tracks on two cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 28 Dec. 2004
This review is from: The Best Of Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
deep purple, led zeppelin and black sabbath. the trinity. the heaviest of these were sabbath and without them heavy metal may not have even existed. it certainly wouldn't be the same as it is today. tony iommi is responsible for some of the best riffs ever written and this compilation is a testament to that fact. add to this the throat seering howl of the legendary ozzy osbourne and you have on eof the best combinations in this genre.
classic tune after classic tune. not always as technically perfect as it could be or as well recorded as it deserves but this only adds to the charm of these spirited and ground-breaking recordings. every rock fan should have some sabbath in thier collection and this is as good a place to start as anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Black Sabbath
The Best Of Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews