Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Almost The Ultimate Collection'
Concentrating purely on Gary's music, there is much to like about this double cd. Not only does it include all of his best known tracks, it also includes some hard to find latter releases too. As a Gary fan, I must say that I was delighted with both the sound quality and the running order and to finally own tracks like 'When I'm On, I'm On', 'And She Kissed Me' and non...
Published on 8 May 2008 by Antony May

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should we still be purchasing Gary Glitter products??
Plain and simple

Your purchasing of Gary Glitter products will go towards funding his molestation of children in extremely poor countries like Cambodia and Thailand as royalties from you buying these products is his only form of income. Please think twice.
Published 21 months ago by Stewart Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Almost The Ultimate Collection', 8 May 2008
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
Concentrating purely on Gary's music, there is much to like about this double cd. Not only does it include all of his best known tracks, it also includes some hard to find latter releases too. As a Gary fan, I must say that I was delighted with both the sound quality and the running order and to finally own tracks like 'When I'm On, I'm On', 'And She Kissed Me' and non hits from his 'Silver Star' period like 'I Dare You To Lay One On Me' and 'Oh What A Fool I've Been' was great. Both cd's are intelligently compiled and this makes for an entertaining and though provoking trip through Gary's career. Tracks like say, 'Papa Oom Mow Mow' which, I was desperately disappointed with at the time, now seem vibrant and rather fun and it is indeed sad to think how these days all of the fun and showmanship has gone out of pop music. I would have liked a few hard to get b sides like 'I'm Not Just A Pretty Face' or 'I Love How You Love Me' and a G G best of without 'Hard On Me' is almost unthinkable, but personal favourites aside, this is a great collection. What I find most sad however is the little inner card that comes with the album. Apparently, 5 of Glitter's previous albums were shortly going to be re-issued on cd with extra tracks before 'what happened happened' and that will never happen now obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glass Houses, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
Those who condemn purchasers of this might consider not buying any Chinese products (not easy these days) given their appalling human rights record and invasion of Tibet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Gary Glitter, 18 Aug 2009
By 
Gareth Hall "Lord Rockingham" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
This 2 CD set is the best Gary Glitter compilation on the market. It is lavishly packaged, complete with informative liner notes by Mark Brennan, and a couple of excellent high quality photos.

Gary's 11 consecutive UK top 10 singles from 1972 to 1975 are all present and accounted for...and what fabulous singles they are: "I'm The Leader Of The Gang (I Am)", "Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)", "I Love You Love Me Love", "Rock And Roll (Parts 1 & 2)", "Always Yours"...his streak of hits included several of the best singles of the 70's, and they are always a joy to hear.

However, "The Ultimate Gary Glitter" gives you substantially more than just Gary's hit songs. You also get 4 hits from The Glitter Band (who were deservedly famous in their own right), and a few lesser-known (but equally compelling) Gary Glitter tracks from the late 70's and early 80's.

Finally, the collection is nicely rounded off with Gary's festive comeback hit from 1984, "Another Rock 'n' Roll Christmas", and a jaw-droppingly good track from 1997 called "Rock Hard Men (Need The Power)". When this compilation was originally released, this song was intended as a teaser for a 1998 album release called "Lost On Life Street", which was shelved when a well-publicised sex scandal brought Gary's latest - and last - comeback to a crashing halt (the new album would eventually emerge in 2001, re-titled "On"). Listening to "Rock Hard Men", an irresistable, riff-heavy juggernaut that ranks right up there with Gary's best material, you can't help but wonder how strong a resurgence he would have had, if his crimes as a man hadn't overshadowed his brilliance as a performer.

Of course, Gary Glitter remains a highly controversial figure to this day. Some people seem to treat the sleazy tabloid headlines of the last 10 years as an excuse to re-write history - to forget that, for 25 years, Gary Glitter was one of Britain's most beloved entertainers. They also seem to forget that Gary Glitter has already been punished for his crimes - after two prison sentences, he lives today as a broken old man, without friends or sanctuary, constantly hounded by the gutter press wherever he goes.

Yes, Gary Glitter has already been punished, and is still being punished - but it is Britain's pop cultural heritage that suffers for leaving his music in a tabloid-orchestrated exile. By perpetrating this historical revisionism, we punish no one but ourselves.

"The Ultimate Gary Glitter" is a fantastic collection of classic music, innocent and fun. Music must always be judged on it's own merits, and never on the morals of it's creator...and I encourage everyone who appreciates that sentiment to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Leader....., 26 July 2005
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
just think where you would have been now in the pantheon of rock n roll? Can you imagine how many TV shows you would be still appearing on or hosting? And the live gigs? Xmas isnt the same without a bit of Glitter. But you had to stupidly nip into your local PC World to get your computer fixed and the rest is sordid history. If its possible to detach the music from the depraved Paul Gadd then buy this CD. The Glitter sound was unique, almost primeval. Everytime I see the new bands on the block showing off with two drum kits makes me think about the old chubby one. We all know the hits and they never fail to leave a smile on your face but lesser known tracks are here too. 'When I'm On, I'm On' was always a staple of his live sets in the latter years and is as good as any of the monster hits and 'Ready to Rock' is another corker released originally after his 15th comeback- in the early 90's when it looked like the man could do no wrong. And then he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
I know buying this CD is not quite right considering what the artist has been accused of but, I love his music . In NO way do I support what he has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST REMEMBER THE MUSIC!, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
You cant take away the fact that the man will always be remembered for the wrong reasons, but that aside this is a great complilation. He and Mike Leander were an awsome combination. The first 2 albums I ever bought were from double G........halycon days!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memory blast, 16 July 2010
OK, Gary has done something that was totally incomprehensible and wrong and has paid for it.one thing that you can't take away is his flambouant style and music,his gang shows were a spectacle to see. i was 16 when i first heard rock and roll part 1 and was hooked,now a fifty something still enjoy his music which can still make me smile and still know the words after all these years.Just one thought though, people have condemmend this man for what he did, what about the clergy and abuse of children that has been going on for alot longer,people still go to church,don't they!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much wanted C.D., 4 May 2011
By 
Mrs. Ev Brown "liza 1066" (dorset U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend and he was delighted with it, as he had been searching for this album for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come on, Come on!, 13 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
Included on these two C.D.s are all Glitters' hits. From 1972's 'Rock and Roll (Parts 1 and 2)' - On the C.D. as two seperate songs - up to 1984's 'Another Rock and Roll Christmas'. All three number ones are here: The totaly brilliant, foot stomping, sing-a-long anthems of 'The Leader of the Gang (I Am)' and 'Always Yours' completed with the ballard 'I Love You Love Me Love' - enough to make you cry mascara into your pint every time!! Also scattered amongst the track listing are 4 top ten hits by the Glitter Band which, it should be noted, that Glitter himself does not feature.
For the Glitter fans whom probibly have all of his albums/singles there is noting new here. No new, unreleased or remixed songs to tempt you in (although the whole C.D. has been digitally remastered) but if you've nothing by Glitter, execpt for an odd song on a compilation album, and, like me, you're wanting a greater taste of one of the 70's best glam acts then this double C.D. is just the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much maligned,but still much loved., 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Gary Glitter: 25 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
As of yet I don't possess this CD,but I may just buy it,for two reasons.

1) Because the music is fantastic,and takes me back to the 70's.

2) To stick two fingers up to the hordes of hypocrites who have castigated GG. Let he among you cast the first stone.

O.K.,he did some bad things,but he has paid the price,and probably still is,but if you like the music,go buy it.Don't be influenced by the small minded people who have never done anything wrong.

I've given 5 stars in anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews