Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, addictive, uplifting. This is a classic.
This album takes the best elements from hardcore, nu-metal and emocore and the combination is some of the most aggressive yet uplifting music you will ever hear. This album takes a couple of listens to 'get into', as the anger and hate makes some of the most extreme music around, but perseverance pays off as this is a highly addictive album. 'Pretty Lush' and 'Ry Ry's...
Published on 5 Oct 2000 by robjphat@yahoo.com

versus
7 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About A Pile Of Rubbish
I bought this album based upon some promising reviews, but when I listened to it, I really could not understand what everyone was raving about. Every track appeared to be the same, the singer screaming incoherently over same crappy riff and that would be that. I couldn't bear to listen to any track through to the end. I really wouldn't reccommend this to anybody
Published on 3 Jan 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, addictive, uplifting. This is a classic., 5 Oct 2000
By 
robjphat@yahoo.com (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
This album takes the best elements from hardcore, nu-metal and emocore and the combination is some of the most aggressive yet uplifting music you will ever hear. This album takes a couple of listens to 'get into', as the anger and hate makes some of the most extreme music around, but perseverance pays off as this is a highly addictive album. 'Pretty Lush' and 'Ry Ry's Song' are the most accessible tracks present, but Glassjaw don't do hit singles and the real highlights reveal themselves after a couple of listens. 'Siberian Kiss', 'Piano', 'Hurting and Shoving' and 'Lovebites and Razorlines' are personal favourites, which mix some of the heaviest abrasive hardcore with sublime and tender melodies. Lyric wise, this album deals with vocalist Daryl Palumbo's troubled love life, and is highly recommended to anyone going through similar relationship problems or anyone who has had their heart broken (basically all of us). Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...welcome to hollywood...", 13 Feb 2002
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
If you take the metal-core stylings of Vision Of Disorder and mix with the beauty and melody of Far, add a dash of the Deftones and a pinch of Quicksand you will be nearing the thrill-ride that is Glassjaw's debut album. Considerably more intense than they're earlier work, EYEWTKAS is the work of a band that are destined for classic status. Musically the album takes you from violent thrashings to introspective murmur, while lyrically frontman Daryl Palumbo would put many a poet to shame with his intensely personal reflections. But, rather than being downbeat and lurid the band have created 50 minutes of the most life-affirming music I have ever heard. If the least you have is only a passing interest in fresh and exciting talent then this is more than vital. While anyone with more than a passing interest should already have this masterpiece. Buy it yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. A. R. Law (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
This album is a 100%, bona fide classic. The main thing that hits you right from the crazy discordant opening of "Pretty Lush" is the sheer amount of emotion that these guys put into their music. Frontman and lyricist Daryl Palumbo is startlingly honest and it feels like you can feel his soul bleeding through the speakers each time you listen to songs like "Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence" (about Crohn's disease) and the brilliant "Motel Of The White Locust". The interplay between the guitarists Justin Beck and Todd Weinstock is also fresh sounding, managing to add to the songs whilst remaining completely interesting musically as single entities. The production, by Ross Robinson, who is perhaps best known for producing the debut Korn album, also reflects the mood of the music - ragged and raw, at times grating like gravel in a fresh wound. It must be said that this album IS NOT an easy listen, by any stretch of the imagination, but it IS a VITAL one. In a world where music is ruled by plastic rock and pop acts with fake angst and no soul, we need bands like Glassjaw even more.
NotBob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gosh... wow., 3 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
About 6 months ago, I went to Virgin with my friend Bob. 'Check this out!', he said, pointing to a pale album cover in the 'Metal' section. I was perplexed. Bob likes punk rock and mogwai. In spite of this, he bought EYEWTKAS, and I thought no more of it. Two days later, Bob rang me up. 'You know that album?' he said. 'Yes?'. 'I think it might be the best album in the world. I think it might actually be the best album I have ever heard in my life.' (bob owns 'blood on the tracks' and 'come on die young'). Duly impressed, I borrowed it... There is no more passionate, explosive, frank, self-destructive, insane, excellent-record-but-maybe-with-the-occasional-bad-metal-riff-affair album in the world. The lead singer declaims like his life depended on it. The guitars fuzz and clang. It is merciless, relentless, unhinged, tragic, lovely and intensely, intensely heartfelt. 5 f'cking stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
From the opening few seconds of 'pretty lush' you know this is going to be an cracking listen. Over three years old, 'Everything you ever wanted to know about silence', was what bought Glassjaw their fame and (mis)fortune. Definetly better than their new album, 'Worship and Tribute', its more intense and more honest. Highlighting lead singer, Daryl Palambo's struggle with Crohn's disease and a relationship gone wrong. I think it's one of the most inspiring,thoughtful and intense albums to date, not to mention that very few ''emocore'' albums since its release have equalled it in it's honesty and power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine debut., 22 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
In the wake of the new emo zeitgeist, it's often hard to remember just how powerful the work of some of the previous post-hardcore bands was. Bands like Rival Schools have more emotional weight behind their one album than Fall Out Boy have in their entire career; and then there's Glassjaw. Fronted by the prolific, if troubled, Daryl Palumbo, Glassjaw have released two albums in their decade-plus career and yet still managed to sell out a handful of gigs this time last year in days. Their third album is still hotly anticipated, even after all this time - and it's because of just how good their first two records are.

From the opening second, Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence is a heartstopping piece of work. Produced by nu-metal overlord Ross Robinson, the sound is hot and cloying; instrumentation is reeled back, simply a sideshow for Palumbo's astonishing vocals. Like an emo Mike Patton, Palumbo's vocals never stay in the same place for more than a moment, moving between screams, yelps, roars and angelic melodicism usually within one line of one song. Lyrically, unfortunately, it's the same stuff about bullets and heartbreak which has since become the usual for this genre; it's easy to forget how early on Palumbo was doing it.

Even eight years on, the album remains musically thrilling, as affecting as it is heavy. The blunt production seems to only emphasise the music - the pop-punky 'Ry Ry's Song' is a punchy singalong (albeit one about hookers and motels); 'When One Eight Becomes Two Zeroes' is one of Palumbo's finest putdowns ('you're not the other woman/you're just another') and the outro of the brilliant 'Siberian Kiss' is probably the album's most perfectly crystallised moment.

What's even more surprising is that the follow up album was even better, but if you're just starting out with Glassjaw or Palumbo, this is excellent debut is where you need to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unparalleled mix of raw emotion and pure rock genius, 3 Jun 2001
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
Initially, listening to the introduction of Pretty Lush I was struck by a sense that the band wanted to play some of the harshest sounding music I have heard. However, when given a chance to build into a monumentous chorus the song can only be described as encapsulating. Daryl's melodies are fantastic in that despite the metallic edge that they possess they are irresistable, giving his singing a quality I have never heard from any other vocalist. The passion and raw emotion in his voice shines through throughout the album, transcending from a scream to a fragile whisper in an instant. Additionally, this album is far removed from commercial nu-metal as it contains no hooks or riffs that are instantly memorable, instead it is a composition of each instrument combined to create an ocean of sound containing inspired rolling basslines, sensational drumming and majestic guitar licks. The first four songs are simply superb and piano, her middle name was boom and everything you ever wanted to know about silence are equally entertaining. This is the only album that I return to when I get bored of my other Cds as this fusion of hardcore, punk and rock is tireless. It is guaranteed to be played again and again but more importantly it deserves to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tough choice..., 2 Dec 2009
By 
T. Jones "boxed in" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album pushed the boundaries of metal/rock/harcore or however else you want to classify this band. Along with Relationship of Command (also produced by Robinson) it blew apart the dying vessels of nu-metal with exemplary musicianship and Palumbo's standout vocals/lyrics - the likes of which had been absent from rock/metal for much of the previous decade. This album is a must have for any music fan, if you liked faith no more you can probably enjoy this, if you liked slipknot you probably NEED to listen to this.
The catch 22 is that glassjaw are a band with a dedicated fan base who respect their art and vision and this re-release is a record label cash in with no input from glassjaw. Personally I love having the vinyl copy of this album, my original CD is so battered it barely gets into Ry Ry's Song and Roadrunner are never going to hand over the rights to this record, so one way or another they're going to profit. In short if you have never heard this album GET IT, if you can, get it at a show.
This re-release adds next to nothing to the original recording, how could it? It is good to listen to it again and on a format I know will last until the next reissue.
Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted. Period, 4 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. P. Woodfield "Jack W" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
It's early 2006, the rock scene is in a state of flux, thank god i discovered glassjaw. Id heard about them for the last few years but never really gave them a chance, but then i heard "cosmopolitan blood loss" on scuzz and i was hooked. for those who havent heard these gods, they sound like a hybrid between finch and taking back sunday, with this album inparticular still, six years on, showing all the longevity to make it a classic for years to come. daryl's vocals are unique, amazing brutality combined with effortless emotion that pours through you. Every song has its good points but my faves are "pretty lush", "piano" and "hurting and shoving" just because they all contain such raw, naked powerful sounds that simply can't be matched. six years on, the band have gone through more changes than many, however this album will forever be a classic example of how to make a perfect record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest album i own, 30 April 2003
By 
J. R. Sanders "JArghS" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence (Audio CD)
from start to finsih this album still amazes me, even after 3 years. when i first bought this album i didn't like it, at all...i don't know why.
but before long i gave it another chance and i'm glad i did. i can honestly say it is my favourite album that i own (out of about 120 albums). i could go through this album track by track but there is no need, but some of the best tracks include Ry Ry's Song, when one eight becomes two zeros, siberian kiss and piano...but i love all the songs. i think the most amazing thing is when you really listen to the lyrics (or read the inlay)...some beautiful and at times strong and harsh lyrics are the heart of this album with excellent musical talents surrounding these...and ross robinson has done his usual excellent job of producing.
i can not praise this album enough, it may not be everyones idea of a classic album but i certainly would rate it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews