Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Micheal Crichton adaptations I've seen
As an author who's penned a number of childrens' books around submarines, and a great fan of Micheal Crichton, I rushed to see this film when it first came out and was not disappointed.

For once, the filmakers have stuck pretty much to Crichton's novel (perhaps at the expense of having to cram in too many detailed conversations explaining different aspects of...
Published on 27 Jun. 2008 by John Joyce

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Follow the yellow brick road...
In the middle of the South Pacific, a thousand feet below the surface of the water, a huge vessel rests on the ocean floor.

Rushed to the scene is a group of American scientists who descend to the depths of the sea to investigate this astonishing discovery.

What they find defies their imaginations and mocks their attempts at logical explanation. It...
Published 18 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Micheal Crichton adaptations I've seen, 27 Jun. 2008
By 
John Joyce "Author - Masterpiece" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
As an author who's penned a number of childrens' books around submarines, and a great fan of Micheal Crichton, I rushed to see this film when it first came out and was not disappointed.

For once, the filmakers have stuck pretty much to Crichton's novel (perhaps at the expense of having to cram in too many detailed conversations explaining different aspects of the plot?)which does give the film a momentum that carries it through to the climax.

The performances from the three principal actors are excellent, particularly as their attitudes change in the cramped conditions of the underwater habitat - from indifference, through antagonism, to paranoia and finally to the realisation that they need each other to survive.

The identify of the "alien" and its chilling computer message "I WILL KILL YOU ALL" is a very clever plot twist and the special effects are excellent.

The last few minutes of the movie and the final scene are about the best in the film.

One of the best film adaptations of a Crichton book that I've seen and well worth a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'WHAT IS IT THAT LIES WITHIN THE SPHERE' ?, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
When a communication cable is mysteriously severed when being laid upon the Ocean floor.
authorities investigate.
A underwater scan identifies a large craft 1000 feet below the surface, it would appear that
due to the volume of coral-growth upon the vessel it had been there for the past 300 years.
Because of the severed cable could it be there is 'Alien' life on board ?
A team is assembled, led by 'Captain Harold C Barnes' (Peter Coyote) the team includes 'Dr
Norman Goodman' a Psychologist (Dustin Hoffman) 'Dr Elizabeth Halperin' a Marine biologist
(Sharon Stone) 'Dr Harry Adams' a Mathematician (Samuel L Jackson) and 'Dr Ted Fielding'
a Astrophysicist (Liev Schreiber)
After a period of intense training the team are taken down to an underwater centre that has
been assemble alongside the mysterious craft.
The team are able to enter the vessel and see many things they cannot explain, they come
across a large golden sphere that appears to be active.
Later, 'Harry' visits the craft alone fascinated by the sphere, his very being becomes drawn in by
the shimmering object, when 'Beth'and 'Norman' find him he appears to be unconscious they take
him back to base.
Increasingly strange things begin to happen, base personnel begin to mysteriously die, when 'Harry'
recover consciousness he begins to act out of character, he had entered the sphere but has nothing
to say about the experience.
On-board the base the computers are beginning to pick up apparent messages, 'Harry' is able to tell
them how to decode them, is the sphere really trying to exchange conversation with them ?
Strange and frightening thing continue to happen on-board the base with increasing intensity, a series
of alerts and unexplained occurrences continue to plague the remaining base occupants.
Are the events taking place being orchestrated by whatever intelligent form lies within the sphere, it seems
to be playing deadly games with them.......but was 'Harry' the only one drawn into the sphere ?
Will any of the team survive to tell the tale ?
This is an intense atmospheric sci-fi adventure which is a little unnerving at times, certainly a film, like the
sphere will draw you in....
Superb upgrade - picture and sound quality is excellent, and good special effects for the 1998 movie.....
The Import Version is - Multi-region
Thoughts -
What mysteries really lie beneath the Oceans ? .....It in the main remains an unknown quantity to this day.....
man have sent craft to the outer planets of our solar-system, put man on the moons surface and landed
mechanical investigative machinery upon the surface of Mars.
But much of the planet upon which we live remains undiscovered.......makes you think ?
Special Features -
* Commentary by Dustin Hoffman and Samuel L Jackson
* Featurette - Shaping the Sphere- The art of the visual special-effects supervisor
* Theatrical Trailer and T.V Spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever film, 5 July 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Although their have been mixed reviews, I can honestly say that this is a really enjoyable film. People seem to forget that this is hollywood, and the film isn't supposed to be broken down into little chunks and analysed.

If your looking for a well acted, and entertaining horror, then this is perfect. But lets get one thing straight - this film is a 12, and therefore there are no 'gorey' scenes. This more of a phycological horror, as you will find out when you watch the film.

In brief, the small crew of an underwater base are left without contact to the water surface due to bad weather. Upon discovering what appears to be an old spacecraft on the ocean floor, they look inside to find an odd sphere. The rest? Well that would be telling! The plot is great and the film keeps getting better as it goes an, and really proves you don't need lots of violence and gore to create a good horror film - such parts in this film being when a crew member gets killed by deadly jelly fish. I know, it sounds stupid, but when you watch it, it really does set your heart racing.

As for the script, I can't see any problems, although some reviewers felt the need to, again, analyze it and rip it apart as soon as something doesnt sound right. But its just right - not too many jokes, and taken seriously. Sharon Stone puts on a strong performance, and Dustin Hoffman follows.

I've given this 8/10, as its all round a good film. The star performer is Samuel L Jackson, who is brilliant. The special effects are nice as well, and if you DON'T take the ending too seriously, you'll see what a good film it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Follow the yellow brick road..., 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
In the middle of the South Pacific, a thousand feet below the surface of the water, a huge vessel rests on the ocean floor.

Rushed to the scene is a group of American scientists who descend to the depths of the sea to investigate this astonishing discovery.

What they find defies their imaginations and mocks their attempts at logical explanation. It is a massive spaceship, undamaged from it's fall from the sky-and at least three hundred years old.....

Three great stars, a wonderful director, and an interesting concept with a sort of Event Horizon and Solaris hybrid, sounded wonderful.

And while its watchable for its lengthy duration, it never really hits the heights it aims for. Everybody is influenced by the Sphere, and they start to manipulate the environment, with Sea Serpents, Jellyfish, and even books.

Now the main problem with this movie is that it was released too soon after Event Horizon, and instead of going all deep and mystical, also known as catering for the masses, and going for the scares instead, and makes a mockery of itself.

So instead of it being an enthralling thriller with brains, we get a half hearted science fiction horror with a wonderful cast, which makes it strangely watchable.

Any film that has Dustin Hoffman and Samuel L Jackson talking science versus religion one minute, and then fighting their imaginations the next, has to be watched.

And the ending is ridiculous, the three stars literally hold hands and forget the whole movie. They actually do that.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WILL KILL YOU ALL, 21 Mar. 2005
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Wow. Never has a film that I've really, really liked generated so much negative critisism. Some of the critisism is justified - the film is completely all over the place, the script and dialogue coming across like they were written on the fly - but the moments that I love about this film totally outweigh any problems I would have had with it otherwise.
First of all, the atmosphere is intoxicating. The sets are realistic, cramped and futuristic, accompanied by Elliot Goldenthall's often slow moving, brassy score. I love his music.
The cast all do a brilliant job of creating actual "characters" by improvising some lines. I have heard the critisism that there is too much talking in this film. TOO MANY CONVERSATIONS. It's opinions like these that make filmmakers produce such masterpeices as Alien Vs. Predator and Resident Evil. Let's have all expository dialogue and no actual pondering or drama - the audiences will love that!
This film rips off pretty much every SF cliche. Everything from Alien to Contact and back again is pilfered from, and some moments are a little hard to believe, the motivations of characters unclear. But you need to think to enjoy the film, and it does need you to use your imagination.
I didn't care that the giant squid is never shown (unlike it is in the book where it has a full-on battle with a crewmember), and I don't care that there aren't any little green men in it. I love the performances (especially when they start to distrust one another) and the atmosphere and every time I see it I see something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HELLO. MY NAME IS JERRY., 3 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
An all-star cast is tasked with investigating what appears to be an alien space craft on the ocean's bottom. This is not your ordinary man meets alien type of movie. In fact the "alien" is never really well established. The movie, while it has a sci-fi background is more of a psychological mystery. If your science fiction expectation for aliens and gadgets are not too high, this is an enjoyable film, a more cerebral science fiction.

There are no creepy aliens, no f-bombs, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sci-fi. Really excellent performances by Hoffman, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Can't say too much without spoiling the story. Great sci-fi. Really excellent performances by Hoffman, Stone and Jackson. Thought provoking, if you're into 'what if...?' The original Solaris did it better, but I don't think there are many, even hardened film buffs, who are up to 4 hours of a 70's foreign film with a record number of silent moody moments (I did it thinking something was about to happen...does that show perseverance or naivety? Sphere covers the concept well and keeps you wondering what's going on. Ending is up for discussion if you pack in a few mates who like that kind of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic sci fi, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Yannis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hello all,
To my opinion this is a very good sci fi film which in the years to come should be classed as one of the classics of it's kind. The three main actors are once again giving a 'masterpiece' of acting.... The story itself is for my very tense and breath taking combining the dangers of the Abyss and the unknown of 'first encounters'.. the turn out is the best.... has our society evolved to the maturity required by each individual to be able to control ones thoughts? ( not saying much not to spoil the films best twist )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Despite the negative reviews, especially the main review on Amazon, I found this film to be a very good, psychological science fiction thriller. I was pleasantly surprised as I expected it to be disappointing and boring, but was interested throughout. It just goes to show that people should judge for themselves and not go by others' reviews. Very good, under water, psychological science fiction, with a slight similarity to 'Solaris'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very underrated movie., 14 May 2013
This review is from: Sphere [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film has come in for a lot of stick from all sides over the years. But I personally find a lot of it over the top. Though the film is not without flaws, it is very enjoyable and worth a watch. Some excellent work from Jackson and Hoffman and a good supporting cast make this film an often overlooked contender for a place in anyones dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sphere [DVD] [1998]
Sphere [DVD] [1998] by Barry Levinson (DVD - 1998)
£7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews