Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Now 3 disc Bluray review
Normally I start with a review of the movie itself, but Apocalypse Now has been reviewed a million times and I imagine the majority of people reading this already know if they like it or not. For me, it is my favourite war movie that just got better with the Redux version, and this is the icing on the cake.

Anyway, onto what most people will be interested in,...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by DeeJay

versus
56 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redux or Original?
The question is "do you buy Redux or the original"?. The additions to Redux detract from the storyline. It loses some of the urgency of the journey upriver to find Kurtz. The crew of the boat stealing Kilgore's surfboard is childish. The scene with the Playboy bunnies after their helicoper breaks down feels like it was filmed and added later. Also I don't think Capt...
Published on 18 May 2006 by S. Mitchem


‹ Previous | 120 21 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too long., 10 July 2005
I usually enjoy war films, but unfortunately not this one. For what it is worth, here is the plot. Set in the Vietnam War, Special forces Captain Martin Sheen is sent by top brass on a classified mission to assassinate Maverick Colonel Kurtz; Marlon Brando, who is deemed to have gone insane and is treating the locals more brutally than even the most Diehard Rednecks could stomach. Sheen embarks on, in my opinion, an overly long river journey to Kurtz's Cambodian hideout, encountering pockets of Americans fighting the good fight, invariably finding the local commanders to be at least as bad as or worse than the man he is hunting down. Gradually he is led to question America's conduct of the war and all the beliefs he previously stood for. The portrayal of the Americans in this war is depressingly similar to some more recent allegations made in the Iraq war. Not a lot appears to change really does it? The film is widely regarded as one of the best ever made. Just because it didn't work for me, shouldn't deter anyone else. A film everybody should see at least once, as it does endeavour to make a valid point about the Human Psyche in warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a memorable account of the vietnam war, 27 Mar 2011
Thus film tells us a lot about the vietnam war and human nature at its worst.
A film that is hard to forget and easy to wish you could forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world ends with bang, it seems., 17 Feb 2011
I am seldom tempted to write reviews for items on Amazon, but in the case of Apocalypse now, I'll make an exception. There is no such thing as too much praise when it comes to this astounding artistic achievement. Taking for its source Joesph Conrad's groundbreaking modernist 1902 novella Heart of Darkness, the film takes that work's bleak mythical journey into madness, and transports it into the most appropriate of settings, the Vietnam War

From a purely technical standpoint, Apocalypse now is mindblowing. Look at the cover. Just look at it. The whole film is saturated with the same raw, intense hues, and beautifully framed shots. The do lung scene, for example, is a masterpiece of unsettling camera-work, with sparse and ingenious lighting, surreal colouring, and staggering sound design. Carmine Coppola's score is a disquieting masterpiece, and Wagner's 'Ride of the Valkyries' and the Doors' 'The End' have entered popular culture largely due to their inspired and disturbing use in this film.

The whole cast does a spectacular job at depicting the moral and psychological decay of the characters. Martin Sheen is mesmeric as the increasingly unhinged and obsessed Captain Willard, a performance that reaches a terrifying climax at the films denouement in Kurtz's nightmarish jungle lair. Dennis hopper is equally frightening as the borderline insane photojournalist under the sway of the enigmatic Kurtz. And what to say of Marlon Brando that hasn't already been said? The special edition is worth the asking price alone for his intense and harrowing recitation of Eliot's 1925 poem 'The Hollow Men' (A work itself intricately linked with the themes discussed). The supporting cast deserve praise as well, in particular, Laurence Fishburne (in his first role) for his portrayal as the disturbed, trigger happy young private, the most obvious human victim of the horror of war and Robert Duvall's brief but legendary performance as Colonel "I love the smell of napalm in the morning" Kilgore.

As much a psychological horror and philosophical treatise as a war film, Apocalypse now succeeds on pretty much every level, and would probably succeed on several more if it condescended to depict them. It is a film that leaves one changed and exasperated, and is not only one of the greatest films of all time, but one of the greatest works of art ever created.

In other words, I like this film. Quite a lot. You should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Now [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Super!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic re-make of a classic film!, 4 Aug 2002
Before we start, I would like to say that I enjoyed this one much more than the original because the added scenes were great and made you understand the soldiers personalities more, the special effects were much better than the original and in my opinion this is the greatest 'Nam film ever made. If you don't already know the story, it is about a soldier called Captain Willard who wanted a mission and got one. The mission was to travel up the river in Vietnam to where an American officer named Colonel Kurtz is hiding and terminate his command. An American versus and an American in the Vietnam war.... what is the point in that? Well, Kurtz has apparantely gone insane and had the assasination aranged for four Vietnamese people. Willard and his trops went to put an end to that!It is just the way the film is run that makes it so outstanding, the way that Willard's troop consists of himself, 1 disciplined guy, 1 guy that can be disciplined and in-disciplined, and 2 in-disciplined guy. This makes conflict one the team maximum and at some point one guys messing around costs the whole team. Some of the battles in this film are ultra-believable and are great to watch and the tension is great.It is a film that dosen't lie about the horror of the Vietnam War and is a extremely rewarding if not extremely long watch. Recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppolla's Anti War Magnus Opus, 2 Dec 2004
This review is from: Apocalypse Now [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
Based on Joseph Conrad's Heart Of Darkness, this is more than a controversial addition to the multitude of Vietnam war movies in existence. We follow Captain Willard (Martin Sheen) on his mission into Cambodia to assassinate a renegade Green Beret (Kurtz - Marlon Brando) who has set himself up as a God among a local tribe. The journey parallel's Willard's exploration of Kurtz, with the events becoming more surreal and bizarre. The film contains many unforgettable images, scenes and dialogue, while the narrative winds and twists around Willard's increasing obsession with the creature he tracks. Anyone who thinks of this as just a war film really is missing the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Now [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good redux, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Naomi Porter "naomipomi" (good old Birmingham!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion this re-working of a classic is absolutely of excellent quality. I throughly enjoyed this version, I didn't think it lacked anything the original had. After all, Francis Ford Coppella wouldn't have released a new un-cut version if he didn't think it was the right thing to do. Apocalypse Now is a fantastic film, and in the end if you watch the original or the redux, you're in for a treat. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware! A Classic Ruined by Poor Quality Control!, 3 April 2010
By 
C. Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently bought this package from the States as the versions of Apocalypse Now available in the UK are pretty ordinary and extras-lite. Obtaining the original version of the film on DVD is near impossible on region 2, leaving only the Redux version. I was drawn to this region 1 set as it has both versions of the movie using seamless branching to play the extended Redux edition. Both versions of the movie are spread over the two discs with the supplementary features also on both discs. Sadly Heart of Darkness wasn't included in this set and therefore not the 'complete dossier' as stated on the packaging, although it is available on a seperate region 1 disc as yet again the UK misses out!

The reason that I gave this set only three stars is that the movie is still an amazing five stars (even if the Redux version isn't as effective as the original), but the discs were in a bad condition. They arrived from the States unscathed and the excellent DVD packaging was sealed, yet the discs were terrible. Disc one was lightly scratched but played fine but disc two was also scratched and my DVD player eventually gave up! I was really disappointed as the film has froze just as the PRB Streetgang arrive at Kurtz's HQ! The discs were also cloudy on the playing surface which may just be down to the fact that this edition is a few years old and out of manafacture. Tellingly on the sealed wrapping it said 'Packed in Mexico' and like the terrible condition of the Lord of the Rings extended versions (which were packed in China) the movie studio exploititavely used cheap labour in the packing process!

I tried to return this DVD and order another but the company that I bought from just refunded my money as it would prove too costly to ship them back and fourth. The film is still brilliant even if the Redux version is interesting as a curio piece. The extras are also excellent although a little nagging without the greatness and weight of Heart of Darkness. The 5.1 mix is outstanding as you would expect from the film it was invented for and the picture quality was also great. A good little package but be warned its only available from the US and if you have the same manafacturing problems like me you will be stuck annoyingly with a faulty product rather than a cinematic classic! I'm sure that most people have this movie by now and the Blu-Ray wheels are already in motion for a super HD edition of Apocalyspe Now with all the extras film buffs crave - fingers crossed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apocalypse Now / Hearts of Darkness Documentary Box Set [VHS] [1979]
Used & New from: £2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews