Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (190)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's Finest Films
I first saw this film upon its initial release in 1955, and to this day, remains one of my favourites. I bought the Video version some years ago. Its a heart warming, simple story of a spaniel (Lady) who quite by accident is thrown out into the streets and is rescued by a loveable Mongrel (Tramp). They then embark on a series of remarkable adventures which ends happily...
Published on 5 Aug 2002 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE FAKES & COPIES & CHEAP IMPORTS - Why I know and What needs to be done...
Having previously worked for Walt Disney Company UK Management and acquired most of the original Animated Classics from source - I decided to put my collection up for sale (some 2 years ago) as I planned for my retirement and give other serious Disney enthusiasts a chance to own genuine UK DISNEY DVDs still NEW and FACTORY SEALED (yes, kept that way as a potential...
Published 22 months ago by I Like Disney


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's Finest Films, 5 Aug 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady And The Tramp [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I first saw this film upon its initial release in 1955, and to this day, remains one of my favourites. I bought the Video version some years ago. Its a heart warming, simple story of a spaniel (Lady) who quite by accident is thrown out into the streets and is rescued by a loveable Mongrel (Tramp). They then embark on a series of remarkable adventures which ends happily. aaaaawww[...] The highlight of the film has to be the Cafe scene in the alley. Munching their way through a plate of spaghetti, serenaded by an accordion, this scene cannot fail to bring a lump to one's throat. Its a shame that the DVD version is not currently available. In widescreen, it should look and sound superb. Fans should demand a re-issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Disney's top dog, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
NB: As is Amazon's Wont, they've very unhelpfully bundled all the reviews for various editions and formats together. This review refers to the deleted 2-disc DVD.

Still the top dog when it comes to quality canine animation, this now deleted two-disc set of Lady and the Tramp does a nice job of presenting Disney's first CinemaScope animated feature in all its original 2.55:1 glory. Even though it's one of the minor classics, it's still a master class in great animation and economical character-led storytelling. The visual transitions are marvellous, although the Scope frame isn't used as fully as you might expect: perhaps aware of the difficulties of shooting a Scope and a flat version for unconverted theatres from the same cels, a lot of the action is centered to minimise loss of essential information. Better still, all the characters are marvellously delineated and likeable, from the bit-parts to leading lady. Indeed, Tramp is still the benchmark for the greatest screen animated dog. And, of course, the film features what has to be the best movie date ever (who can forget the moment when Tramp noses his meat ball to Lady's mouth? Sorry, couldn't resist...).

There's an impressive array of extras too - storyboards of 2 deleted scenes as well as from an abandoned 1943 attempt to bring it to the screen, a 52-minute documentary on the making of the film, featurettes, extracts from black and white episodes of Disneyland promoting the film's original theatrical release, stills galleries and original and reissue trailers. The only disappointment is that it doesn't include the fullframe version that was made at the same time for cinemas that hadn't yet converted to CinemaScope which Disney briefly released separately on laser disc in the US in 1998 but has remained unseen since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic film full of crazy adventures and familiar songs, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Lady and the Tramp is a classic disney film, enjoyable for children and adults alike. It has all the elements of a traditional disney film - romance, action, humour and a lot of famous songs that everyone knows. The film is based around the romance of two dogs, Lady whom is a thoroughbred female dog who is cherished by her owners and Tramp who is a tough but charming street hound. When their paths meet an adventure and romance is started. Like many other disney films, Lady and the Tramp is so good because of the accurate human attributes that are given to the dogs. This makes the characters really easy to empathize with and love. The minor characters of the other dogs and the beautiful but sly siamese cats who sing one of the most famous songs provide most of the comic moments. The romance between Lady and the Tramp is obviously not without it's difficulties but when they do get together in an infamous spagetti eating scene it is emotional and heart warming. This film is defintly my favourite of all of disney's annimated ones, as although it was made a long while ago it is still modern and enjoyable. The songs are brilliant, the adveture the dogs go on is at times dangerous and at times hilarious and the characters are well drawn literally and emotionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE FAKES & COPIES & CHEAP IMPORTS - Why I know and What needs to be done..., 21 Oct 2012
By 
I Like Disney (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lady And The Tramp [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Having previously worked for Walt Disney Company UK Management and acquired most of the original Animated Classics from source - I decided to put my collection up for sale (some 2 years ago) as I planned for my retirement and give other serious Disney enthusiasts a chance to own genuine UK DISNEY DVDs still NEW and FACTORY SEALED (yes, kept that way as a potential investment collection). In doing so I have been alerted to the obvious and numerous sellers offering illegal Disney DVDs for sale, and wanted to do something about it.

How do I know and what is being done about it... Appropriate Disney offices/management in UK are aware of problem and together with the Disney's Global Anti-Piracy team have launched investigation which is on-going (post-September 2012) and I am contributing to it. It would be hard to prosecute individual sellers so in first instance Amazon have been challenged and it has been requested that they themselves must take action.

Inspite of numerous notifications from a few honest sellers on Amazon struggling against tide of endless CHEAPER Fakes, Imports or Digitised Copies, Amazon are doing little except profiteering from numerous sales, only closing offenders down when bad feedback is unacceptable - only, to relaunch as a new seller under different name.

Sadly, all too often buyers are unaware of the unlawful item they've just purchased - and don't leave the appropriate feedback or if suspicious they ask seller who quickly offers refund and DVD for free.

Now, I get to my point. The investigation and clean-up will take time - especially as BAD SELLERS are getting more devious. So WITH INFORMATION SUPPLIED TO ME from Disney, other sources and my own knowledge (some descriptions offered by some sellers are so obvious that they are fakes) - I thought I would LIST a FEW POINTERS that would ensure you buy the GENUINE item (obviously if you happy to buy CHEAP and have poor quality reproduction which is likely to skip, be out of focus, dubbed language, etc. then my offer of help is no use). See next part of my Review - What to look out for.

BEWARE FAKES & COPIES & CHEAP IMPORTS - What to look out for.
Most of the Disney DVDs sold on Amazon as Brand New are FAKES, DOWNLOADED `DIGITISED' COPIES or FOREIGN IMPORTS and there are OBVIOUS SIGNS what to LOOK FOR to ensure you purchase a GENUINE UK DVD as originally distributed by Disney.

- Any DVD with a Release Date prior to 2011, HOLOGRAMS are a MUST. e.g. in these cases, no Hologram then NOT GENUINE.

FIRST and EARLY EDITIONS have a Round Silver Hologram with Mickey Mouse dressed in Fantasia suit on bottom right corner of back of casing. (see photos loaded in customer images for example). Later UK EDITIONS must have Gold/Silver HOLOGRAM on Spine, and occasionally on rear of casing. HOLOGRAM is in form of FILM CLIP CELL (Gold Colour) with Mickey Mouse Head and Ears in middle (Silver bit).

- DO NOT be FOOLED by POOR COPIES of holograms which use impressed tin foil or cut-out from Silver Foil Mickey Mouse holographic wrapping paper.

- UK Release WILL ALWAYS have BBFC (British Board of Film Classification) Mark dependent of Rating, U in Green Triangle, Red Circle with 12 or 15, Yellow Triangle with PG Rating. Lack of this or with Red/Yellow star means it is import. No Rating Mark - a FAKE or COPY.

- Disney ALWAYS sell their BRAND NEW DVDs FACTORY SEALED. Genuine BRAND NEW Disney DVDs have NEAT FOLDED EDGES on top and bottom and NEVER are vacuum sealed (with exception of Large Boxsets) or clingfilmed. If one you have purchased is clingfilmed or vacuum sealed or unsealed then it is likely to be a COPY, FAKE or even a reconditioned USED one.

- A lot of FAKES, COPIES are NOT in Disney Blue casings - although to be fair EARLY FIRST EDITIONS (I tried to give a date but not been able to determine accurately) were in black casings. And also, since 2010, Disney have launched Special colour-coded releases (with holograms) for their different channels, e.g. Disney Clubhouse/Junior in White, Disney Toon Releases in Yellow, and Special New Releases with different colours to suit packaging.

- Even if you buy Disney DVD in blue casing (some fakes do now are in close blue colour matched casing) it must have Disney Branded Logo on inside to be genuine, that is what fakes can not reproduce.

- Beware the quality of Packaging and colour production of printing of insert sleeves, Disney always use high quality distinctive colourful images - they are never blurring, weak outlines of print often associated with poor imitations. The cheap, highly flexible plastics used by FAKE COPIERS are a dead giveaway, Disney use high-end rigid cases, especially older versions.

- A lot of FAKES also employ use of stickers on outside of sealed casings or directly on to unsealed case, specifically to mask areas where print reproduction of underlying sleeve is flawed or to hide missing barcode or hologram. Ones Disney already aware of are SECURITY PROTECTED label on bottom left of casing (to mask no BBFC Mark) or A White sticker with Typed Barcode and Description covering the lack of Genuine barcode and Hologram underneath on sleeve as these are Imported Fakes.

- Any Disney Enthusiast knows that each release is available for a limited period and then put into 'Disney Vault' in other words taken out of production and only occasionally, re-released at specific anniversaries such as Jungle Book 40th Anniversary Edition - this was back in 2007. So obviously any seller reporting to have OVERSTOCK or have MULTIPLE ITEMS for Rare Out of Print Disney DVDs is a pretty sure way of determining that these are FAKES or COPIES and NOT GENUINE.

- PRICE is a FACTOR, CHEAPER THE PRICE less HOPEFUL I WOULD BE THAT YOU ARE BUYING GENUINE DISNEY DVD especially if buying BRAND NEW.

- Another Trick used by Megasellers not always just fraudsters is to identify the listing categories of more Expense RARE FIRST EDITIONS or OLDER SPECIAL EDITIONS and send a more recent release of same Disney DVD Title in its place which is more READILY AVAILABLE AT A LOWER PRICE under its correct listing. Therefore profiteering from deception.

THIS IS NOT AN EXHAUSTIVE LIST OF TRICKS OF THE FRAUDSTERS BUT I HOPE IT GIVES YOU RIGHT KNOWLEDGE TO BE CONFIDENT IN WHAT YOU ARE BUYING. Other ways of avoiding Fakes are to read descriptions of item by Seller (what are they saying e.g. SEALED does NOT mean FACTORY SEALED : BRAND NEW does not mean FACTORY SEALED) If no description - What are they hiding? A Good Seller with nothing to hide will always be happy to provide photos of item, check out customer images in Product Details Section for Customer Photos - Sellers can provide them for you to check.

If you have misfortune to purchase a SUSPECTED FAKE/COPY then DEMAND FULL REFUND from seller, LEAVE BAD FEEDBACK so Amazon can keep tally and take action where necessary and email Disney on both these addresses : help@disney.co.uk and tips@disneyantipiracy.com to add to their investigation, remembering to forward photos to support your claims.
THANK YOU.

Having said all this - this Disney Animated Classic is 5 Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney pleasure, 19 Mar 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love dogs, Disney and easy to watch, happy family films. This is all of the above. It's funny, sentimental, well made and downright enjoyable. Classic scenes ("We are Siamese" song and Lady & Tramp sharing spaghetti)stick in the memory forever and seem fresh even 30 years after you first saw it. One of the greatest Disney fims though not as good as Aristocats in my view which has exceptional humour to counterbalance the typical Disney sentiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a bella notte with Lady and the Tramp!, 9 Dec 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Disney's classic animated feature is the story of an innocent, well-bred young dog named Lady, and a mongrel from the bad side of town, Tramp. Lady's happy life is rocked by the arrival of a baby for her owners, and then the arrival of dog-hating Aunt Marge. Tramp comes to Lady's rescue and shows her his exciting, if dangerous, lifestyle. Tramp saves the baby in the exciting conclusion, but not before he and Lady share some spaghetti in a famous and touching scene.
The artwork is beautiful and the story, told from a dog's point of view, is funny, action-filled, and sweet. You will certainly enjoy Lady and the Tramp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the delights of DVD!, 22 Oct 2000
By 
Peter Richardson (Battle, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady And The Tramp [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
The advent of DVD has re-defined the whole concept of home cinema and nowhere is this more evident than in the Kingdom of the Mouse. The release to DVD of Disney's 1955 masterpiece "Lady and the Tramp" is one of the most exciting opportunities you could wish for to consider this contention. At last the home viewer can see this film as it was intended. The previous video release, whilst welcome at the time, suffered particularly badly from the cropping required to cram it onto the small screen.
This was Disney's first Cinemascope release and the studio aquitted themselves magnificently. The classic scenario of the genteel ingenue (Lady) being swept off her feet by rogueish young dude from wrong side off the tracks (Tramp) is given a momentous treatment and the film still stands as one of the high points of the studio's illustrious history.
Now for the first time outside of the cinema, the viewer can see the full sweep and grandeur of the leafy suburbs that characterise so much of Lady's world. This is very much a dog's eye view of the world and the layouts and exquisitely rendered backgrounds are jaw droppingly stunning when viewed at DVD resolution, in fact after watching this you will be looking for a new home for the video version you've been clinging onto.
The animation, characterisation and songs are all equally memorable and in a way, reflect the mood of optimism and confidence that characterised so much of America in the fifties. Moments such as Peg's (Peggy Lee) memorable rendition of "He's A Tramp" or Aunt Sarah's dreadful Siamese cats intoning "We Urrr Siameez Eeef You Pleeeez" are forever etched into the consciousness of everyone that has seen this film.
A deinite must have for anyone seeking ways to keep smallish children entertained on a rainy afternoon, or anyone with the slightest love of animation and a well constructed story, rendered with style and panache.
Hopefully, it won't be too long before we can see Disney's other great ... Cinemascope venture of the fifties, "Sleeping Beauty" given the DVD treatment it so richly deserves, in the meantime "Lady and the Tramp" is a great introduction to the delights of Disney films on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Love Story, 14 May 2006
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A classic Disney film, the viewer finds themselves in small town America, 1910, as Christmas arrives. And the loveable Lady pup is a gift from Jim Dear to his wife Darling to celebrate the occasion.

Lady soon makes good friends with the neighbouring dogs, Jock, and Trusty, and is quite contented. Then Aunt Sarah arrives to help out with the new baby and suddenly Lady is not the centre of her owners world and, added to the fact that she is treated unfairly by Sarah, she feels quite unhappy.

Cue The Tramp! A charming mongrel of a dog, with a 'devil may care' attitude. Lady runs off with him after a nasty moment with Aunt Sarah's 'precious' cats Si and Am.

Lady and The Tramp embark on some adventures together, and go on the world famous candlelit dinner at Tony's restaurant (you know the scene - the spaghetti and meatballs scene on the cover). Unfortunately, this idyllic lifestyle comes to an abrupt halt when Lady is captured by The Pound.

She meets some of Tramp's companions whilst inside the pound and doesn't like what she hears about his reputation. So, upon return to her home she tries to drive him away.

Then Tramp turns up trying to save the baby from an evil rat. The films climax sees Tramp, Jock, and Trusty all trying to save the baby. In doing so Tramp risks his own life...lots of suspense follows....but Disney DO prefer happy endings...

The film is very adult in many respects, but is extremely watchable at any age. It has been extremely well conceptualized but is still, essentially, a love story. And Disney do love stories very well indeed. It has a good sense of humour injected throughout, and some very amusing characters - you really fall for Tramp's 'loveable rogue' personality.

The animation is good, much more delicate than the Disney releases of recent years. Yes, it is an 'old style' animation, but that only adds to the films beauty. It is one of Disney's most sophisticated films.

Lady and The Tramp is much more detailed than you might expect, or remember from when you were a child. The story lends itself so well to animation and helped to guide Disney away from their fairy-tale era.

I feel this is one of Disney's best offerings. I hope you all enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney classic, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter. A Disney classic, she is never tired to watch it. Really enjoyable story to share with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous ! 10 Stars !, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Lady and the Tramp Diamond Edition Blu-ray for our 2 year old Grand Daughter - and she absolutely loved it as did the whole family across three generations ! As with Cinderella this production is also exquisite - it is from the period when Disney was at its finest and again brought back memories my own delight as a small child on seeing it for the first time. Age has not dimmed the appeal of the story and the characters - they are as fresh and delightful today as they ever were - the characterisation of the various dogs and two wicked Siamese cats is utterly delightful and again the little vignettes of 'evil' are beautifully done and with just enough 'threat' to make the story exciting. Once again - the fabulous work that has been done to restore this enchanting film to the current dazzling condition can only be marvelled at. Buy it ! you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady And The Tramp [DVD] [1955]
Lady And The Tramp [DVD] [1955] by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: 7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews