Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film
First of all I have to disagree whole-heartedly with the 'official' review of this film. Never Been Kissed is a wonderful, feel-good movie that will leave you with a huge smile on your face long after it's ended.
I'm not a 'teen' and I still enjoyed it thoroughly. Drew Barrymore is great and totally believeable as the nerd who is an ugly duckling on the outside but a...
Published on 22 Mar 2003 by K. Anderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American and lacking in depth
This was far too American for my tastes - the storyline was OK, the acting good but the whole setting was too geared towards the US market with some scenes totally alien to the rest of the world. How old was this woman *supposed* to be, whilst going back to 'school'. And was this University or High School. I thought I understood the US education system but there was no...
Published 3 months ago by The German Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 22 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
First of all I have to disagree whole-heartedly with the 'official' review of this film. Never Been Kissed is a wonderful, feel-good movie that will leave you with a huge smile on your face long after it's ended.
I'm not a 'teen' and I still enjoyed it thoroughly. Drew Barrymore is great and totally believeable as the nerd who is an ugly duckling on the outside but a swan on the inside, who returns to school for an undercover job as a reporter, where she ultimately finds herself.
When I saw this at the pictures, the whole audience was totally absorbed by the film and vocally sympathised with Josie's humiliating flashbacks and laughed out loud at her charming awkwardness.
David Arquette as her 'cool' and 'popular' brother was inspired casting and Michael Vartan as the teacher she falls for plays his part perfectly.
These three actors alone make the film well worthwhile. Watch it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, uplifting romantic comedy, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
While the plot is not airtight, Never Been Kissed succeeds because it does not try to be anything other than what it is--a quirky, fun romantic comedy. I adore Drew Barrymore, and she is wonderful in this movie, allowing us to see her as a pitiful, geeky teenager, a plain and mousy young lady, and ultimately as a beautiful, self-confident woman. Josie Geller (Barrymore) is a copy editor at a Chicago newspaper who desperately wants to be a reporter. The eccentric head of the newspaper selects her to go back to high school undercover and produce a story about today's teenaged youths. Excitement turns to horror as Josie flashes back to her torturous high school days as "Josie Grossie," but she puts all of her effort into fitting in with her new classmates. She eventually "transitions" from geek-dom to join the cool group and develops a real connection with her English teacher Mr. Coulson (Michael Vartan from TV's "Alias"). Predictably, things go screwy on prom night, but Josie manages to deliver a story that has all of Chicago talking.
The flashbacks to Josie's teenaged years, especially the prom night fiasco, are incredibly touching and painful to watch. The chance to go back to high school and be one of the cool, popular people is almost every geek's ultimate fantasy; as this movie shows, though, such acceptance by your teenaged peers does not guarantee happiness--what matters most is being true to yourself and to your real friends. The love story component of the movie ends up seeming a little rushed and could have used a little more foundational structure, but its culmination is a beautiful, heartwarming thing. Along the way, there are plenty of laughs, as Josie's attempts to fit in at high school are both pitiful and hilarious.
Look for a definitely pre-Dark Angelish Jessica Alba as one of the cool girls and SNL's Molly Shannon as Josie's friend Anita. David Arquette is quite good (much less annoying than usual) but does not seem to merit the sharing of the main credits. To be honest, this rather formulaic movie with its stereotypical depiction of high school society could have been a forgettable, disappointing experience had it starred someone without Drew's immense acting ability and natural charm. For that reason I am giving it only four stars, but I must say I myself never tire of watching this funny, heartwarming movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I reccomend anyone that loves comedies to watch this! I am not a big fan of comedies, but this is really great! If you disliked american pie, don't hesitate to watch this, as it is much better!

A chic flick comedy with some funny parts to it. Drew really rocks in this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never been kissed, a great comedy....., 6 Sep 2000
By 
PAUL SHARPE-DEACON (Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit after reading the cover of the DVD and finding out that Drew Barrymore played a geek I was not sure that the film would work. I am glad to say that I had to eat humble pie, Drew is a superb comedy actress and holds the film together brilliantly. How often does a romantic comedy get the balance right between comedy and romance, well this one does, whilst being funny is still manages develop an interesting plotline about American high school life and how shallow and superficial this environment really is. This film gets a big thumbs up, I cannot wait for Drew's next comedy offering...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming film with the endless comical moments, 1 May 2000
By A Customer
Drew Barrymore at her finest! Josie Geller makes you smile, makes you cry and makes you cringe behind your cushion - God i hope we weren't like that at school.....were we?
There's fun, tears, romance and a fine looking man! What more do you need? You can't help but watch this film over and over again. Definitely a must for those girlie nights in with tea and toast! Thank God it's out on video soon! You'll love it - i promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching!, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Kittiara (Cornholme, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Though the plot is not terribly original - a girl who was a geek in high school wanting to be one of the cool girls, falling in love with her teacher, there is enough to this film to make it worth watching.
Drew Barrymore plays Josie, sent back to high school, undercover, to do a report on today's youth. She desperately wants to do well, as this is the big chance she has been waiting for.
It's not that easy, though. When she was an actual high school student, she was far from popular. Now, on return, it all seems to go the very same way.
She requests the help of her brother, whose wish it has always been to be part of a football team. Everyone immediately loves him, and by pretending to have been Josie's boyfriend and still being crushed that it wasn't meant to be, she slowly becomes accepted.
Except... there is that really cute teacher, who thinks she is a teenager and thus out of his reach...
This film is sweet and I genuinly cared for Drew's character, sometimes cringing on her behalf. And the end scene... I so wanted it to go well!
Yes, it is predictable, yes, it is another film set in an American High School and yes, the storyline on the whole isn't amazingly original. But it's done well and it is one of those lovely feel-good movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josie may be Grossie but Drew is a Star, 19 Jun 2000
As part of her job as a journalist, Josie is sent back to school undercover. However, when a high school student, Josie was a geek, and her attempts at trying to go back as part of the "cool" crowd are hiliarious. Aided by her brother the movie is the story of a misfit trying to fit in and yes, finding true love at the end. I have never been a big fan of Drew Barrymore but my opinion certainly changed after seeing this movie. Her portrayal of somebody who has never fit in, and, despite her best endeavours, still can't make it on her own, was touching and funny. This is a thorougly enjoyable movie and well worth a look. Great performance by David Arquette as the "cool" brother too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too American and lacking in depth, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
This was far too American for my tastes - the storyline was OK, the acting good but the whole setting was too geared towards the US market with some scenes totally alien to the rest of the world. How old was this woman *supposed* to be, whilst going back to 'school'. And was this University or High School. I thought I understood the US education system but there was no real explanation about what it was all about.
Storyline was predictable but the flashbacks to her prevuious prom nights were insightful and amusing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Favourite film! Great package and quick service! Very cheap! Will recommend this DVD to friends if they looking for this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, if you like predictable rom-coms., 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Romantic comedies were somehow lighter and cleaner in the 1990s. Drew Barrymore was in her 20s when she starred in this, as a pedantic copy writer who longs to be a journalist. She is finally given an undercover assignment.. at a local high school.

The story was somewhat unlikely, the script a bit tired; there weren't any laugh-aloud moments, and the ending was predictable. Nevertheless, this is a nicely done film, with some good acting, and some rather shocking insights into American high schools, albeit (I assume) rather caricatured.

Recommended for anyone who likes this genre, and wants a fluffy hour and a half that's a bit different from the average rom-com. Rated 12, which I think is about right - no real violence, no nudity, no intimacy, although there are many discussions about it, including one fairly explicit (albeit humorous) scene in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD]
Never Been Kissed [1999] [DVD] by Raja Gosnell (DVD - 2000)
2.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews