Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-acted twisting thriller
Robert MacDougal (Sean Connery) is an art thief who hides himself away in his Scottish castle. But an art insurance investigator, Virginia Baker (Catherine Zeta-Jones) is now on his trail. She seemingly aids him in one last major theft - this time of a priceless Chinese mask - with a view to catching him in the act. Virginia manages to slip away and tell her boss, Hector...
Published on 1 Jan. 2013 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "...Never Trust A Thief..."
** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE BLU-RAY VERSION **

I have to admit to a guilty pleasure on this one - I've always liked the wonderfully cheesy "Entrapment" - especially the slightly odd yet very convincing chemistry between the young and beautiful Catherine Zeta-Jones and the old but still incredibly sexy Sean Connery. You genuinely feel that Connery fancies Jones...
Published on 4 July 2010 by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "...Never Trust A Thief...", 4 July 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Entrapment [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE BLU-RAY VERSION **

I have to admit to a guilty pleasure on this one - I've always liked the wonderfully cheesy "Entrapment" - especially the slightly odd yet very convincing chemistry between the young and beautiful Catherine Zeta-Jones and the old but still incredibly sexy Sean Connery. You genuinely feel that Connery fancies Jones and she likewise - and apparently that was the case. You can see that Connery actually likes and admires her and it gives the film a great dynamic - they seemed to be enjoying themselves rather than just grinning and bearing it.

Which is a shame, because I was hoping that this would be a decent buy on BLU RAY, but it isn't.

The principal reason is not the film itself (which is very entertaining), but the way it was filmed. There's a sort of filtered haze over at least 75% of the print (possibly hiding someone's age my dear?) that now looks even worse - accentuated by its transfer to the mercilessness of High Def. The picture isn't crap, but it's NOT 1080P DEFINED either - and it's absolutely NOT AN IMPROVEMENT over say a dirt-cheap DVD. "Entrapment" on BLU RAY looks murky and poorly executed most of the time - and for a film that was issued in 1999, that's just not good enough.

The Extra Feature is a commentary by Director Jon Amiel, but that's all (no making of, no interviews). Presentation is in Letterbox 16:9 (so it fills the full screen) and languages include French, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Dutch and English For The Hard-Of-Hearing.

I'd say hire this before you buy it. In a slew of badly transferred movies to this great but sometimes frustrating format, this is yet another sloppy reissue.

One to avoid I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-acted twisting thriller, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Entrapment [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Robert MacDougal (Sean Connery) is an art thief who hides himself away in his Scottish castle. But an art insurance investigator, Virginia Baker (Catherine Zeta-Jones) is now on his trail. She seemingly aids him in one last major theft - this time of a priceless Chinese mask - with a view to catching him in the act. Virginia manages to slip away and tell her boss, Hector Cruz (Will Patton) all about the plans; but MacDougal has the place bugged so he knows all about the double-cross. After the duo successfully complete this theft, Virginia persuades MacDougal to go for a bank robbery from the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, just as the world is poised to enter the new millennium in 2000. The dialogue is witty and engaging, and the possibility of romance between the antagonists adds another dimension to the story line. There are further twists in this exciting story, but I shall say no more. Connery and Zeta-Jones play their parts convincingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
AV maestro (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great film and good performances by the two "stars". To add to the other reviewer's comments I thought Catherine Zeta-Jones quite fancied Sean Connery as well! It all added to the chemistry. I thought the Blu-Ray disc was excellent, pin sharp and a noticeable improvement on an ordinary DVD. My biggest gripe is there are NO "special features". We couldn't even find the director's commentary. It would have been great to see how they did the stunts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 8 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
A good film, plenty of twists and turns.
I can see it becoming a timeless classic.
Sean Connery at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrapment, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
PeeJay (Devon England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this film a number of times and it was one I just had to have for my film library. Connery and Zeta-Jones prove to be a great pairing and perform their respective roles well. Catherine's antics amongst the laser beams is a must for the male viewers and the storyline is good. This is one to return to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
Roland Pullen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot say this is the greatest film on earth but it is solid entertainment and I will certainly watch it any number of times when I want something not too stressful. Sean Connery is his normal powerful presence and Catherine Zeta-Jones is, again, her normal riveting self. The story is good but the dialogue is not special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrapment (DVD)1999 Catherine Zeta Jones/Sean Connery, 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here is another wonderfull example of the versatility of Catherine Zeta Jones. She displays her gymnastic and dancing skills, as the sultry double dealing financial investigator Virginia Baker who has to contort through laser beams to steal a priceless golden Oriental Mask from a museum in London.
She is aided by ageing master thief Mac (Sean Connery), and they practise at his hideaway castle in Scotland; he has to guide her every movement via a computer link and ear piece during a ten minute interval before security checks. Mac is the master of high tec robberey, having just stolen a Rembrandt painting insured by the company Virginia Baker works for. He realises she is working for the FBI to set him up, and expose his contacts. Little does she know that he has been set up to investigate her, and his 'fence' is also undercover.
Of course they both double cross their respective FBI and Insurance Company contacts, and disappear to attempt the record breaking master stroke of robbing the largest Clearing Bank in S.E. Asia. Virginia is also in league with a mysterious opium smoking reciever Conrad Green, eager to possess both the Rembrandt, and the Mask. It is the eve of 2000, and the USA Headquarters are conducting worlwide computer checks for the feared Millenium Bug. It has taken 5 years for Virginia Baker to seceretly produce a disc which will pay $8Billion, into her account from companies around the world, but there is only a ten second window, to load it in Kuala Lumpar. This escapade is successful, but raises the alarm, and they have to make a spectacular escape high above the New Year Celebrations.
After more double dealings between triple agents, they escape- on a pristine and strangely deserted Pudu railway station for 06.40am - planning a job even more daring just for the record, which gives the film a slightly surreal and timeless aspect.
The Direction is superb by Jon Amiel, as is the screen play by Ron Bass and William Broyles, and the production is by Sean Connery, Michael Hertzberg and Rhonda Tollefson. The soundtrack by Christopher Young is atmospheric, but not obtrusive, and Seal vocalises over the credits. The location shots are excellent, and this NTSC version is well suited to wide screen TV.
Catherine Zeta Jones always brings something special and beautiful to every film, and Sean Connery is always a convincing actor, and here they are well supported by Will Patton, Maury Chaykin and Vin Rhames. It has been called the most enjoyable thriller of 1999, and I agree, and also one of the most enjoyable and original to the present date. It is often televised, but it is well worth having a copy on demand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, it's one that i don't just watch once and never watch it again! When in the right mood it's the perfect film to throw on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 4 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Entrapment [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Ok, so the burglary scene at the Palace was one for the boys. I mean CZJ in a leather catsuit - obvious or what? But for me, the best bit is the little dance between the pulses on the way to the computer (you really have to watch this film to understand what I'm saying!). 12 women at a bachelor(ette) party watched this and we all wished SC would teach us to dance - that scene was just sooo sexy!
Fantastic casting, great locations, wonderful music, and an excellent story. Will Paton and Ving Rhames are always worth watching - both are a bit underutilised here, but the film doesn't suffer as a result.
Unfairly compared to the Brosnan/Russo "Thomas Crown Affair" (which was a pretty naff remake), "Entrapment" more than stands up well on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sean Connery enough said, puuurrrrfect film with a glass ..., 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Sean Connery enough said, puuurrrrfect film with a glass of wine and the girls. It's the voice that does it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Entrapment [1999] [DVD]
Entrapment [1999] [DVD] by Jon Amiel (DVD - 2004)
£3.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews