Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars85
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2003
It has all the hallmarks of a potential flop - low budget, unknown actors, Dukes of Hazzard-style plot, unheard-of director, and all in dodgy subtitles as well. I was all set up to hate this movie like a week-old Big Mac & Fries.
I couldn't help it - I loved it. The spark-spitting Vespa ride under the opening credits started the little smile on my face, and it just couldn't be stopped from there. It's simple (no denying), and the car stunts are dangerously low-tech (what, REAL car crashes?), and the characters are sitcom-slim (taking less time than a polaroid in development), but I defy you to come away with anything other than an adrenalin-induced good vibe at the end.
It's the movie equivalent of junk food - but at least it tastes good. It's worth having in your DVD library, even if you only drag it out for a laugh before bed after a night at the pub. Life's too short to miss out on a little old-fashioned fun!
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
The movie itself is a very entertaining comedy with lots of fine car chase sequences.

Like many French films, the script, plot, humor and acting is not as predictable as it is in American films and I find it as very refreshing viewing experience.

The DVD itself deserves only 3 stars because:

1. The dubbed version sounds terrible and has no supporting English subtitles.
2. The French version appears as a boxed window on about the third of the screen's area with the subtitles in the black area beneath.
3. No valuable extras apart from a very short trailer and a useless web link.

Still, if no better DVD set has come out yet, I recommend this one as the film itself is well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2000
Taxi is the sure to become a classic in European cinema - an incredible ride through the streets of Marseille. The pace never really slows, although the dialogue is subtitled rudimentary French would be helpful. This film is superb!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
I tried to watch this film three times. It has its moments.

Generally though the acting is poor and the story cliched. I don't think this film knows what it's meant to be. Is it a comedy? Well it's trying to be. Is it a thriller? It acts like one but doesn't quite get away with it. Is it a RomCom? Well there is a hackneyed love interest.

Imagine Stallone's 'Stop or my mom will shoot' and you'll get the idea.

I love French films usually but I just found watching this like one of those dreams where you're trying to escape but you're running through mud.

Plodding, predictable, painful.

As I said; I tried to watch this film three times. On the third attempt I simply gave up. I have no idea how it ends. I don't care.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2000
Taxi was a huge success in France, where it has already spawned a sequel and a video game. It follows the adventures of a speed-crazed Marseille taxi driver, featuring a great soundtrack, exhilirating chase scenes and some very funny moments.
Our hero is forced to help the police catch a gang of thieves or lose his driving license, with great comedy ensuing.
Not to be missed - the opening sequence as a pizza delivery scooter hurtles through the traffic in Marseille.
I can't comment on the French language version, but the dubbed version (thankfully not released) was ruined by quite simply the worst dubbing ever - poor translation and wooden acting totally detracting from a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
This movie is fantastic. It is simply an all action car chase romp set in the French city of Marseilles with the magical Luc Besson touch. The acting is highly convincing especially the pairing of Naceri and Diefenthal, the direction is fresh and modern and the film is easily the best car movie in years. Followed by two sequels, the film makers have kept the film very French without resorting to American-style CGI effects or bland super star actors. I would recommend watching the film in French to everyone, it's much better than the dubbed version. One of France's biggest films of the modern years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2005
This is a highly entertaining film that is definitely one to buy as it is a film that can be watched again and again.
The cast is excellent with each member fitting their role, with the interaction between both Daniel and Emilien as well as the supporting cast such as Lilly and Camille being first class, this results in the humour being excellent from start to finish. The film is not just comedy though there are some fast car chases, which have some great camera work and they fit in with the style of the film and are definitely entertaining.
Incase you didn't know this is a French film, as can be seen from the patriotic use of a Peugeot as "the" car. This also means that the audio is French only with English subtitles but this doesn't detract from the film and as with most good subtitled films after a while you don't even notice that you are reading them.
Perhaps the weakest aspect of the film is the script but it is not bad and there is enough present with the comedy moments, cast and car chase scenes to stop you really noticing. All in all this is a film that doesn't try to be anything other than it is, its not over complicated and is something you can just sit down relax and enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2004
It's French, it's fast, it's funny, and they smash and shoot up a lot of cars in 86 minutes. Fun is what it is; very tightly delivered fun and just enough to satisfy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2000
A magnificent film which has been out in France for years, but was only over here in selected cinemas. Shame! This film really is a piece of movie cool with plenty for the lads! Phenomenal car chases, smart humour and the Germans are the baddies...again! Some of the subtitles are slightly dodgy and wander from the true translation, but amazingly, some of the jokes do translate well! Check it out! (They started filming Taxi2 just a couple of weeks after the first was in the cinemas and it's out now over there!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2001
There is a wonderful cartoon-like quality to Taxi. No deaths, no blood or guts. Car crashes and gunfire galore but no-one gets hurt. Throw in some decent humour, tight editing and fabulous views of beautiful Marseilles and you have the perfect Friday night film. After a week at work I don't want a film that lectures me or makes me do all the brainwork - I want to be able to settle back with a pizza in one hand and a coke in the other and be ENTERTAINED. Taxi does the job perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)