Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good dramatisation of a great book.
This film is not just for rowers, or fans of rowing! It depicts the relationships, occurrences, troubles and strains the Oxford crew underwent during their arduous preparation for the Boat Race. Although clearly made for a more global market, rather than *just* those more familiar with the race, this an excellent dramatisation of the book by Dan Topolski. All the...
Published on 10 Oct 2000

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does this remind you of a certain film about running?
All I could think adout was Chariots of Fire while watching this film. Perhaps is was just my imagination. Did the director say to the score composer "think 'Chariots...'?"
The acting is good and it's always great to see the most beautiful sport on film.
It's in the nature of many rowers to scrutinise anothers technique from the bank as...
Published on 19 Feb 2006 by Adam Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good dramatisation of a great book., 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: True Blue [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
This film is not just for rowers, or fans of rowing! It depicts the relationships, occurrences, troubles and strains the Oxford crew underwent during their arduous preparation for the Boat Race. Although clearly made for a more global market, rather than *just* those more familiar with the race, this an excellent dramatisation of the book by Dan Topolski. All the problems and difficulties experienced by all boat crews and International rowers are shown and explored with the traditional, historic and amazing background of Oxford and the Boat Race. It is an athletes race, but one very much affected by human interaction. This film explores this problematic aspect of sport. There is a focus on a couple of key characters, but no claustrophobic concentration on them. This is not just for rowers, but is of interest to anyone who enjoys a good drama - even if they remember the race and know how it ends! A very good dramatisation and an uplifting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does this remind you of a certain film about running?, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
All I could think adout was Chariots of Fire while watching this film. Perhaps is was just my imagination. Did the director say to the score composer "think 'Chariots...'?"
The acting is good and it's always great to see the most beautiful sport on film.
It's in the nature of many rowers to scrutinise anothers technique from the bank as they row past and as an ex-rower it's impossible not to see that most of the actors, although doing a fine job on the water, are not rowers which does detract from the believability somewhat. But then, no-one said rowing was easy. All in all a good film. I would recommend it, especially before race-day, though do read the original book by Dan Topolski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLORIOUS CHEESE!!, 19 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I first watched this film as part of an VIII crew on the eve of Henley Royal Regatta and I still get pumped up watching it now (as a 'slightly' more weighty non-rower).
The action sequences are well shot in picturesque locations around the Thames Valley, and the close-ups do show that some work was done with the actors to actually learn (albeit very basically) the rowing technique - to add an aspect of reality that could easily have been missed out.
The film is constantly accompanied by an extremely cheesy score, but this adds to the film and definitely works with the climax during the race itself.
All in all a very entertaining film - it's great that one has been released about the sport of rowing.
One to watch before taking part in any competition.
Must rank up there with the Rocky films as a classic underdogs-overcome-adversity epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC - real feel good stuff, 18 Sep 2008
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
I don't want to write too much as it will simply dilute the value of my comment - True Blue is a great film. For anyone who has even been close to water, let alone been an oarsman or coxswain, this is a complete must. It makes you feel good, it's inspiring and it's utterly cool. Buy it now, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic on a small scale, 23 Jan 2003
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films despite the fact that I'm not a rower and I have lived in Cambridge all my life where I am now a student at that university! The emphasis is completely one-sided towards the other place but that is the point: this race is war, there is no second place. The leading characters are all well acted: Dominic West manages to secure all your sympathy as the beleagured and wronged president of the boat club, and Josh Lucas is the perfect manipulative villain of the peace. Don't worry if you can't tell one end of a boat from another you really don't need to be able to, as everything is simplified enough for a large market, none the less this remains a very good drama that has been all too often overlooked. There is a balanced combination of the physical pain that these rowers have to go through to be the best and the human emotional tension of sacrifice and justice just to get to the race day itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boat Race history on DVD, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Great British film to watch with a wonderful backdrop of London from the River Thames. True story that keeps you gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery but no need for price increase, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was very good however the last minute price increase was not called for. After it was mentioned on the Steve Allen radio show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story behind the race., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
A gripping story which really makes one appreciate how hard those guys have to work and only 50% can win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Good story thats get's the viewer engrossed in the trials and tribulatons of the boat race. A pleasant evening's viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what i expected, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue [DVD] (DVD)
the dvd was as good as i thought it would be, not disappointed. it was a good story if you like rowing, even if you dont.
i would reccommend this if you are looking a goood nights entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blue [DVD] [1996]
True Blue [DVD] [1996] by Ferdinand Fairfax (DVD - 2002)
£14.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews