Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to the world of Dinosaurs
I watched this series when it first came on TV and remembered it as an enjoyable documentary series with CGI dinosaurs and landscapes that looked very real. I thought this might be something that would interest my young children so I bought the DVD. My decision has turned out a very good one as "my brood" is completely hooked on dinosaurs and want to watch the series over...
Published on 4 Jun. 2008 by KN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect quality, it stuttered alot
Found it stuttering on more than a few occassions, which i didnt expect from a brand new dvd disc :/
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See sights you thought yould never see, 29 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Walking with dinosaurs is exactly what it says on the box and much, much more. Graphics that stun even the latest hollywood releases into silence and scripts which mimic the Nature Documentary style that the BBC is so famous for, help make this a must-have dvd. If your looking for detail, this DVD moves from tiny insects through to huge 35m long monsters. On-screen are the famous dinosaurs and the rare ones. Behind-the-scenes footage inset into the screen show exactly how much care was taken to produce this visually amazing show. Dinosaurs have never been this accessable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent though obviously somewhat speculative presentations, 3 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This provides 3 hours of documentary entertainment on two CD's. The first disc presents the 6 episodes of the BBC TV series. That is, the currently understood story of the earth's fauna from before the first dinosaurs over 200 million years ago to their extinction 65 million years ago. With only a little suspension of disbelief one can imagine that the visual presentation really does represent a picture of how it was when these creatures walked the earth. The 6 episodes predominantly cover the creatures that existed during the triassic, jurassic & cretaceous periods & describes the evolutionary changes in dinosaur species that existed at each time. I learnt that for example T-rex only existed during the last part of the cretaceous period; that is just before the dinosaurs (or most of them) became extinct.

The second disc describes the making of the series, but is much more a part of the story than would ever be the case for a programme on contemporary animals. This is because it describes the research which has allowed them to reach their current level of understanding on the age, habitat, diet, size, shape and even movement of each dinosaur species presented. Paleontologists describe their fossil findings and how they date them. Fossils include the bones of predators and their eaten victims as well as skin (in one case), footprints, vegetation and even dung, which allows analysis of their food. Bone analysis allows them to judge such things as the size of blood vessels & muscles and hence the shape and posture of an animal. Computational animators contributed to the debates on how the dinosaurs walked, swam & flew. This is a superb story for adults & children alike; easily worth the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 3 April 2013
By 
DebbieP (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my 4 year old son who is dinosaur mad. We were going to see Walking with Dinosaurs Arena Tour and I bought this DVD for him to watch before the show. Anyway, the first disk is basically a story about various dinosaurs. This involves obviously dinosaurs being killed etc which were quite graphic, I was slightly worried about my son watching these but he was not phased by them at all and understood animals need to die for others to live.
The second disk shows how the dinosaurs were made etc. I didn't think my son would be interested in this disk but he has probably watched this more than the first. He was fascinated by how you make dinosaurs look real for a dvd.
Definately well worth buying if someone is dinosaur mad and wants to learn...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Excellent Value. Exeactly right for a dinosaur mad child., 4 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my dinosaur mad 3 year old (and only just 3). Thought it might be a bit scary and maybe it would be if he hadn't already seen all the Ice Age films (lots of times) and been to Dinosaurs Unleashed in Oxford Street with the full size animatronix dinosaurs. He is completely in awe of the series and asks for it to be on all the time. He's learned lots of new dinosaur names (and he knew at least 20 before....) and is unfazed by the attacks by one dinosaur on another.

Am sure any dinosaur mad child would love this and such excellent value at £4.47.

Maybe would exercise some caution and make sure you watch the series with them to start off with - just in case of any distress - it's incredibly realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars walking with dinosaurs complet series, 3 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Having taken the grandchildren to see the show i thought they may like to have the dvd to look at. age from 4 years to 11 years they all loved it very educational and the boys just love dinosaurs a little scary in places but very good value and a must for dinosaur fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Multiple viewing highly recommended, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, the best Value DVD out there, You just want to watch this over and over again, it's that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, but..., 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This series is superb in terms of CGI imagery and overall cinematic presentation. But, in comparison to the breathtaking Planet Dinosaur [DVD], where everything that was being visually presented was also being provided with a very solid foundation based on painstaking research & material evidence, it fell short. Yes, the episodes were truly spectacular, and it's not difficult to understand why it had encouraged so many members of the younger generation to become avid dino-enthusiasts. But scientifically speaking, this series has been outpaced by the latest one from BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dinosaur DVDs ever, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
J. Nelson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Walking with dinosaurs is probably one of the best dinosaur DVDs in the world. Every episode will make you fell like you really are going back in time (hence the name) so i think the name really says it all. Each episode is only 30 minutes long but it makes you think like you have been watching it for millions of years. I just knew i had to get it because with out it i (and every other dinosaur fan) would not really be a dinosaur fan. It was first premiered in 1999 but is still the most famous dinosaur DVD even today. The first episode is set 220 million years ago and the other 4 episodes each go down a little bit more in time until in the sixth episode set 65.5 million years ago when (well for all the non-avian dinosaurs anyway became extinct but birds survived which are actually dinosaurs believe it or not). My favorite episode is Spirits of the ice forest because i loved it when the polar allosaur ripped the head of the Leallynasaura. But all the episodes were great. I thought the computer generated imagery was great. I thought the narration was great. I thought the facts were great. I thought the music went really well with the scenes. I thought the battle scenes were great. I thought the way they interacted with each other was realistic. I thought the way they ate, drank and slept was great. I thought the locations were great etc. However each episode i watched had this thing in the top left hand corner of the screen saying 1/2 which annoyed me a bit. But apart from that everything else was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Documentary Series ever, 15 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this from episode 1 when it was on TV and even though I was young at the time I knew it was something special, I have seen ever episode many times and recently bought this DVD set after finally deciding to upgrade from video.

First thing first, the animations, well they look a bit dated now and there not up to Jurassic park standards but their still above average, the level of detail is out-standing and shows how much work went into this series. Like Jurassic park they have used a combination of animation and models for example when doing close ups they often use the models then when its in the distance they use the 3d animation, this works very well but it is noticeable when you see the models, if they was to remake the series I would suggest making it all animation as this is the most unrealistic aspect of the whole documentary.

The facts in the documentary are pretty accurate, at least as far as we know, it doesn't go with any fringe theories and just sticks to the most widely agreed facts. Obviously they had to create drama in order to make the series more interesting but they stick to events that could have happened.

The first episode is possibly one of the worst with the series getting better and better, they ofcourse keep the most famous dinosaurs till the last episode BUT they only do this as it keeps with the timeline involved.

Overall 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 21 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I have only seen the films on VHS, the DVD is not out in my country. Can you believe it? Now, to the review:
It's the best! Fun to watch, cool, and what should I say? Great! Althoug there are about 100 little goofs in the animation, like the dinosaur drinks, when he should eat, and some things "go into" other things, but I still like it. Too bad I can't buy it. But I recommend it for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking With Dinosaurs - Complete BBC Series [1999] [DVD]
£9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews