Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrated film
This is the sort of film that you really want to own. It loses nothing and gains detail the more often you watch it. Rupert Everett's lack of leading roles is a great loss to film, as he has the looks, timing and presence to carry off any number of romantic leads. I don't see what an actor's private proclivities have to do with what they portray on screen - Cary Grant...
Published on 11 Sep 2006 by fkoepping77

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sound level is poor
I had already seen this film on TV and wanted to add it to my DVD collection. Its an ideal film for those quiet moments with company where a less explosive film is requiered. However, to my dismay, with the sound turned up to 100% some words are still unclear. I have tried it on 2 DVD Players and on both its the same. Also, the subtitles are partly hidden at the bottom of...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrated film, 11 Sep 2006
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is the sort of film that you really want to own. It loses nothing and gains detail the more often you watch it. Rupert Everett's lack of leading roles is a great loss to film, as he has the looks, timing and presence to carry off any number of romantic leads. I don't see what an actor's private proclivities have to do with what they portray on screen - Cary Grant being an interesting topic in that respect. Anyway, it's a fantastic script, a good plot, a serious message in a fluffy film with a happy ending. Perfect Sunday-night viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal dialogue film, 26 July 2004
By 
Angus Bell "spideypsych" (Guisborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Having read the other reviews I have to slightly disagree with the overall tone - this is the perfect comedy of manners with outstanding performances by the whole cast. Jeremy Northam plays a gentle shy man conflicted by ambition and his morals whose wife Cate Blanchett puts him on a pedestal to worship. The subsequent revelation of the hypocrisy at the heart of their marriage is deliciously decorated by all the supporting cast who are manipulated by Rupert Everett enjoying the finest hour (or two!) of his career so far.
The DVD benefits enormously from a home cinema system as every word drips with double meaning! It is my favourite dialogue film of all time and far, far, better than The importance of being ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect social satire: one can not beat Oscar Wilde and Rupert Everett is the perfect incarnation, 10 Jun 2008
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
An Ideal Husband is an 1895 play by Oscar Wilde which revolves around blackmail and political corruption, and touches on the themes of public and private honour. The action is set in London, in "the present", and takes place over the course of three days. "Sooner or later," Wilde notes, "we shall all have to pay for what we do." But he adds that, "No one should be entirely judged by their past.

The movie is classy and captures uppper-class London to perfection. The language is wonderful and the lines really amusing like "Women have a wonderful instinct about things. They can discover everything except the obvious" or "Fashion is what one wears oneself. What is unfashionable is what other people wear" or "To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance.".

If you like Oscar Wilde you will enjoy this movie as Rupert Everett here as Lord Goring really is the best movie actor to portray an Oscar Wilde character. Cate Blanchett - Lady Gertrude Chiltern -,Minnie Driver - Miss Mabel Chiltern, Julianne Moore - Mrs. Laura Cheveley, Jeremy Northam - Sir Robert Chiltern and John Wood - Lord Caversham - give splendig performances too.Director Oliver Parker has created a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rupert Everett steals the show again, 23 Aug 2002
By 
Miranda Jollie (Hanwell, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I'll be honest, I could watch Rupert Everett reading the phone book for 90 minutes and would probably give it five stars. However this is a perfect film for him and it's good to see him in a leading role rather than a gay cameo (sounds like a great tribute band...) for once. On the flip side, Jeremy Northam is colourless and Minnie Driver seems very uncomfortable in her role (try Grosse Pointe Blank to see how good she is when she's well cast), and like so many films (cf. My Best Friend's Wedding) it does flag a bit when Everett is off screen. Julianne Moore does an English accent so much these days I'm always faintly surprised to hear her speaking American and confusingly makes a more convincing Englishwoman than Driver.
However it's Rupert Everett's film through and through. Wilde's words are the words he was born to speak and it's very, very funny - director Oliver Parker has managed to successfully transfer a play to the big screen, a challenge many experienced directors have failed. Can't wait to see him reunite Rupert Everett with his Another Country co-star Colin Firth in The Importance of Being Earnest - but will tape my sides up in advance in case they split...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good film, 14 Jan 2006
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Marked down from 5 to 4 because of the poor sound production at times, but still worth watching nevertheless.
This is a film where the words are crucial, it is based on a play by Oscar Wilde after all! So why did they think it would be a good idea to have obtrusive 'background' music spilling into the foreground and nearly drowning out the speech? Not all the time, but enough to take the edge of an otherwise excellent film.
Forget a night at the theatre, just watch this, though now I've seen it I will take the opportunity to go and see the play if I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sound level is poor, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I had already seen this film on TV and wanted to add it to my DVD collection. Its an ideal film for those quiet moments with company where a less explosive film is requiered. However, to my dismay, with the sound turned up to 100% some words are still unclear. I have tried it on 2 DVD Players and on both its the same. Also, the subtitles are partly hidden at the bottom of the picture. Other DVD's are working fine in the same DVD Players.

Not sure if I should return it, but feel any replacement will be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty & Wise interpretation of Wilde, 5 Nov 2000
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Brilliant cast, witty script, perfect costumes and locations - what more could a cinema fan want? Rupert Everett steals almost every scene and there's even a cameo by an Oscar impersonator. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Triumphantly faithful adaptation of Wilde's jewel of a play, 26 May 2000
By 
Steve (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Sluggishly paced and murkily lit to begin with, this builds into a triumphantly faithful adaptation of Wilde's brilliant jewel of a play. The cast all give excelent accounts of their roles (though it must be said that Minnie Driver makes an unlikely-looking Victorian lady) but special mention must go to Rupert Everett who is quite superb as Lord Goring (surely an idealised self portrait of the author as hero). The introduction of Wilde himself praising his (as yet unwritten) "The importance of being Earnest" makes an amusingly forgiveable anachronism but the depiction of Peers attending a debate in the House of Commons seems a more lementable error. Minor quibbles aside, the overall effect is convincing and the focus on the (excellently spoken) words allows the power of Wilde's masterly text to work its magic. A joy to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful romantic comedy full of intrigue and betrayal, 9 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Member of Parliament Lord Robert Chiltern is blackmailed by the wicked Mrs. Cheverly, with a secret from his youth, leading to a crisis in his life, and in his marriage to the virtuous Lady Chiltern. It is up to his friend, the delightfully foppish Lord Goring to help extricate him. All is well that ends well, but not after much interplay and intrigue.
This adaptation of the play by Oscar Wilde is beautifully done. It is not a production of the wilde play itself and departs from the play itself in various parts. but it is donbe fabulously so that unless you are VERY familiar with the original work by Wilde , you cannot see where this is done. The dialogue is brilliant throughout as is the setting , and the casting is fabulous.

A nonchalant Rupert Everett as the cynical dandy Lord Goring , Julianne Moore seems as if she was typecast for the villainous Mrs Chevely , Jeremy Northam , Cate Blanchett and Minnie Driver all prefect for their parts and providing never a dull moment in this delightful romantic comedy full of intrigue and betrayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab rom-com, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Turner (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I love this film. All the cast are great, especially Rupert Everett & Minnie Driver. Just a fab rom-com. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999]
An Ideal Husband [DVD] [1999] by Marsha Fitzalan (DVD - 2000)
4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews