Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Psychologically disturbing
This tends to be a Marmite film. Most people either love it or hate it, and from my five star rating it's clear I'm in the former camp. This is the only horror that actually freaks me out psychologically rather than simply making me jump. It was an original in its genre at the time and the concept was a good one. However, my only complaint on this front is that due to its...
Published 20 days ago by Edwin Page

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trick of the Light?
There are different types of people in the world. For those who love dripping blood, creatures with enormous claws, werewolf transformations - this film will not appeal. For those who have ever lain awake at night, listening to a creaking floorboard and just wondered...this film will revive such memories.
Nevertheless, while it is a generally well executed film it...
Published on 10 Jun 2000 by Mr. S. Carlin


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Psychologically disturbing, 6 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This tends to be a Marmite film. Most people either love it or hate it, and from my five star rating it's clear I'm in the former camp. This is the only horror that actually freaks me out psychologically rather than simply making me jump. It was an original in its genre at the time and the concept was a good one. However, my only complaint on this front is that due to its supposed creation by three students there is no surround sound. I would argue that everyone knew this idea was merely a ruse and therefore surround sound could have been included and would have made the film even more effective.

Essentially, three students embark on a journey through the woods tracking down the legend of the Blair Witch. During this journey they become lost. It's a simple plot, but effective, relying on the characters and then the discomforting events to drive the narrative forward and build to a suitable finale.

The woods are eerie and the strange sounds in the darkness very unsettling. One thing I especially liked about the film is that you do not ever see the perpetrator and it is left down to the viewer to decide whether they are real or otherwise. There is a great deal left to the imagination and this adds to the psychological impact if you are engaged in the narrative.

It certainly has a psychological impact on me, especially as I live in a rural location and have a very good imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your imagination will be tested., 21 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The thing that all ways gets me about this film is you never get to see a thing all you get is a pile of rocks and some sticks, the film made your imagination run away with you, it all so made you think what would it be like if you were in there shoes. This is a really good film to watch at Halloween, there has been many other hand held camera films, but the blair witch project is the best ever made. The dvd version has loads features, am not sure about the Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A successful experiment, 27 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Blair Witch Project has something that most "horror" films don't have - horror. It's too easy to assume that "horror" equates to "blood and gore", and yet Hollywood's dark side appears entirely focused on blood and gore as its standard fodder. BWP, however, makes full use of a technique only seen elsewhere on such films as "Predator" (up until "Predator"'s ludicrous ending, of course) in which the audience never actually sees just what is terrorising the cast.
It's a cheap film made extremely well for its budget. Its approach is novel, and extremely effective. It is by no means perfect - but when I can produce the perfect film then I'll start levelling the more trivial criticisms. Contrary to the comments made by some reviewers, the story is very well thought out and there are no noticeable "contradictions" which cannot be resolved by simply paying attention. For "newbie" actors and directors, it's a very fine first effort, and certainly worth a look provided you're flexible enough to believe that there's more to the horror genre than simple flying entrails.
(As an aside, and slightly off-topic - "Blair Witch 2" isn't nearly as bad as people say it is, provided that you're prepared to be open-minded and think about the actual plot.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great horror!, 16 July 2014
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Heard a lot of bad reviews about this and if you haven't seen it yet then it's one to watch! 3 student friends head off to film there own documentary about the Blair witch only to get lost and then a year later there footage is found! .. Shot in the same camera mode as paranormal activity and I think that helps people get gripped. Great acting and I did hear that apparently the students weren't aware of some of the scares that was gonna happen as the film maker threw them in without there knowledge so the fear from them you see is actually in some places real! .. If also you want my advice watch it in surround sound as you'll hear things you won't hear in normal television! Makes it that more scarier!! Class film and one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trick of the Light?, 10 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. S. Carlin "arca20" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
There are different types of people in the world. For those who love dripping blood, creatures with enormous claws, werewolf transformations - this film will not appeal. For those who have ever lain awake at night, listening to a creaking floorboard and just wondered...this film will revive such memories.
Nevertheless, while it is a generally well executed film it is not perfect. I enjoyed it, and have watched it twice. Its not a bad film but I think its appeal comes from playing on childhood fears - the dark woods, strange sounds at night. Suspend disbelief, imagine you are watching a tape belonging to a friend who mysteriously disappeared - that's the power of the film.
The DVD is an excellent transfer, variance in picture quality is deliberate, the home movie feel giving it a greater ambience than it might otherwise have had. It also triumphs over the R1 release by presenting it in full screen and not adding a frame around the whole picture (supposedly to make it look as if the viewer is actually watching through a camera viewfinder).
Extra features include commentary track, The Curse of the Blair Witch, trailers, TV spots etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant and genuinely frightening, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Blair Witch Project is the most brilliantly creepy movie I have ever seen. I can no longer say just how many times I've watched this film, but I become more and more impressed with its production with each viewing. I can't really imagine how so many people can claim that this film didn't scare them in the least. I am a long-time horror fan, inured long ago to almost everything the movie studios throw out there on the big screens with a "frightening" label. The Blair Witch Project, I am delighted to say, creeped me out quite impressively. It may well be that this is a different movie experience depending on the venue of its audience. Those watching the film for the first time at home can turn off all their lights and watch the movie in the dark, but there is really no way to recreate or equal the powerful mood and atmosphere that came rushing in icy waves on to a theatre audience. When I go to see horror movies, there is almost always some laughter to be heard from time to time, and usually I am the one doing the laughing. Once Heather, Michael, and Josh got into the Maryland woods and the spooky meter began to rise, an eerie, almost unprecedented silence took over those of us sitting in the theatre. There was no laughter; I heard no one sucking on a straw or chomping on popcorn; no adolescents whispered back and forth. There was no longer an audience around me; I and the film were locked together in a mortal embrace, and as the suspense built up at the end I felt as if some force were pushing me farther and farther back into my seat. When the movie ended, I don't remember anyone really talking about what they had just seen; I think we all just wanted to get the heck out of that darkened theatre. That kind of experience, I must say, is what my horror dreams are made of. Viewing the film at home just cannot recreate the movie experience.
To me, The Blair Witch Project is simply brilliant in many, many ways. First, of course, Eduardo Sanchez and Daniel Myrick used the Internet to build up a hype of unprecedented proportions for this film many months before its general release, creating a thriving fan base drawn deeply into the legend of the Blair Witch and the mysteriously doomed student film project, mucking up the waters of truth and fiction into a bloody froth that attracted horror sharks such as myself from far and wide. Then there was the SciFi Channel documentary Curse of the Blair Witch that was released just prior to the film's release. In this remarkably professional and believable documentary, the fictional story of the movie was given sturdy legs with which to scurry around the truth. The actors used in the documentary were amazingly good, and the use of family photos, old historical documents and letters, newspaper articles, television news features, interviews with law enforcement, family and friends, etc., did a great job of masquerading fiction as reality. Even those of us who knew going into the theatre that this was a work of pure fiction could allow ourselves to wonder if the story could still actually be true, and that suspension of disbelief did much to increase the power of what I saw on the big screen.
Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard, and Michael Williams were simply brilliant. Their displays of fright, rage, and hopelessness were stunningly believable; of course, some credit for the actors' performances must also go to the geniuses behind the film. I would imagine that the dark woods would become quite unnerving after a few nights, even when you know that whoever or whatever is out there is just someone associated with the film production, and the fact that the characters were forced to endure sleep-deprived nights and grueling daytime hikes over the course of a full week had to do wear down the defenses of the actors and bring to the surface emotions and expressions that lie too deeply to be accessed simply on command. I am still fascinated to read about the way in which things were managed in the filming. The actors ad libbed almost everything they said and did, which is actually quite amazing. At times, though, they had to redo things in order to please the filmmakers; the best example of this comes in the movie's final scene. As I understand it, the scene in the movie is actually a second night's shoot of those events, as things did not go quite the way the filmmakers wanted on the first night. To see that kind of emotion and fear portrayed by an exhausted Michael and Heather on a second night's take is just outstanding.
This horror fan welcomed such a refreshingly new type of movie to the fold. I like blood and gore as much as anyone, but true fright is best achieved by unspectacular yet highly personal events taking place in what looks very much like the real world as we know it. Millions of dollars have never made an expensive, special effects-laden horror movie as creepy as this extremely low-budget masterpiece of mood, atmosphere, and unseen things that go bump in the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was I Scared?, 12 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Blair Witch project was for me one of, if not THE film, for 1999. Although I had heard it's hype I still watched it with an open mind and this is the key.
The filmmakers shot this on location and to add to it's menace only fed the actors the plot as they needed it. This adds to the confusion as you really start to feel the dispair of the three. This isn't a film that you can shout at, telling the actors, 'He's behind you', because you dont know where it is!
I'ts method of filming lends a mad and realistic angle to the film. As we are so used to viewing home movies as 'real life' it is easy to belive that what they filmed was for real.
Before watching this film get on the web site and read about the filmmakers it adds to the realism. The fact that you would do exactly the same in their situation makes this film so actual. The way in which The Blair Witch Project was marketed by word of mouth only gives an indication of the power of this film.
The scariest film ever? If it doesn't affect you then you had your eyes closed. The confession scene is probably the best I have witnessed in any film.
If you see this film watch with an open mind, you won't go near the woods for weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor. ✋😔, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
For some reason the dvd won't play? I've tried it on an xbox and 2 other DVD players and it still won't play. Really disappointed tbh. :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The father of all found footage type movies!!, 3 Mar 2014
This has to be the grand daddy of all found footage movies i know theirs lots of negative views and its been heavily criticised but to me this a gem of a movie and to me it is actually kind of scary probably because it was one of the first of its kind but i know a lot of people out there disagree which is fair enough. People if you are a fan of found footage movies and like suspense you will probably love this! but then again you may not but its a must for all horror dvd collectors !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it on Blu-ray!!, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is very scary despite what many people might think. The movie feels extremely real which is why it is one of the most copied and influential horror movies to date.

When you buy this Blu-ray do not be expecting spectacular picture quality. This movie is shown in 4:3 picture ratio which means the sides of the screen have black bars. This must have been necessary in order to maintain as much picture resolution as possible. You can easily zoom in on the screen though using your television settings but much of the picture may be lost. This movie was filmed on old handheld cameras so it's not much of a surprise the picture is shown in this way.

So, the picture quality may be only marginally better than the DVD, perhaps not noticeable at all to some viewers.

But what makes this Blu-ray so much worth buying, is the fact that it has 4 ALTERNATE ENDINGS included in the special features. Which is not included on ANY OTHER FORMAT!

I watched the 4 alternate endings and it was terrifying. The fact that you just don't know what to expect around the corner each time! Also, it really shown the effort and detail which went into the creation of this film. Some of the alternate endings used brilliant special effects which looked 100% realistic. But instead they decided to stick with the plain and simple ending which used no special effects, in order to achieve the most realistic and believable film possible.

All the special features, not just the alternate endings, are amazing also. This is 100% worth the buy on Blu-ray! I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999]
The Blair Witch Project [DVD] [1999] by Eduardo Sánchez (DVD - 2003)
£3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews