Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2000
After a gap of a few years, Engelbert returns with what can only be described as a gem of an album. In one word, this album is 'classy', with all the accoutrements fit for the 'King of Romance'. And the songs are brilliant; the new recordings ( of which there are eight) are sung with a style and refinement that two generations of the discerning public have come to associate with Engelbert Humperdinck. The older, magnificent hits from the sixties are all here. In many ways, the new recordings contrast beautifully with vintage Humperdinck, as it serves as evidence of his phenomenal staying power. The voice is STILL the same, if more mature after three decades in the business, and the smoothness and dignity of sound remain, as intact as ever.'How to win your love' is sublime, as is 'Nothing in this world'. His treatment of 'Strangers in the night' is radical, but highlights his dynamism and versatility. I need not say much about his 60's hits. All of them were huge successes for years after their first release; suffice to say there is not one low point in this album. Great stuff from the man!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
Once again and a long time in coming this is again the best of Engelberts work what a voice and the limits of his range is unbelievable he can still make my heart strings faint just by hearing that wonderful voice, he has done it again, thank you Enge for sharing your voice with us one more time. Always a loyal fan Sue Cheska
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2000
Oh my! He has done it once-again..This new CD is something to rave about. The most beautiful songs have been recorded by the "best" singer of our times. His version of "Strangers In The Night" together with "Sometimes When We touch" are only two of the songs that are sung by Enge. There is a Burt Bacharach tune entitled "Nothing In This World" that he sings so beautifully. I promise you that once you hear this new CD, you will just want to hear it over & over.....I just love this new recording. He truly is the voice of today as well as yesterday. He never fails to give his all. This is truly Engelbert "at his very best"! ENJOY...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2000
Listen and appreciate his singning is a joy. All other words to describe the album seem to be redundant except one comment on his albums, including this one, that they should include "Pretty Ribbon" which has always been a very popular song with many listeners in Asia.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2000
Listening to this record made me understand why my mother was in love with this man's voice back in the 70s. There is so much warmth, sincerity and beauty in this record to keep you dreaming for days on end. Engelbert's powerful voice and lyricism shine through, both in the old and new tracks. Engelbert Humperdinck has definitely made a come-back in the best Tonny Bennet/Tom Jones style. The king of romance is here to stay, and to be enjoyed by both old and new fans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2001
Listen to the dark rich velvet voice, then listen to each word, which can be heard crisp and clear to each song. New songs are sang with such feelings, old songs are sang by this wonderful performer like they were wrote just for him and he makes them his own. Strangers in the night - listen to it for yourself. It's nothing like Old Blue Eyes version. Such magic and Dance the night away why can't Engelbert always sing these upbeat songs more often. The whole CD wonderful to perfection.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2000
I really enjoyed this CD. I thought the up tempo version of "Strangers in the night" was great. I also liked how the CD had 7 or 8 new songs, plus a trip down memory lane with some of the old stuff. "How to win your love" should be the first #1 for Engelbert this year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
For any Engelbert's fan this C.D. is a must. Yes, some of the songs have been recorded on previous albums but does that really matter? There are so many favourites of mine here, sung in only the way Engelbert could sing them. His tone and diction are superb, which says a great deal for strong ballads rather than some of the rubbish brought out today when most of the words cannot be understood. For such a low price, how can anyone feel disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2000
Engelbert! What a dynamic voice for so many years. And once again great new hearttouching songs! Thanks for sharing yourself with us!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Just what we were looking for, an Engelbert CD that included his popular hit recordings and others. An essential part of our in car entertainment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.