Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Australian Perspective
I am very tired of re-hash after re-hash of Shirley Bassey compilations but this disc is definetely a cut above the rest. It is extremely well presented and the cover photography (all new) is stunning. It's a great compilation of Dame Shirley's work but more importantly, we are given versions of "As I Love You", "Big Spender" "Kiss Me" and...
Published on 22 Nov. 2000 by padsrr@flinders.edu.au

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shirley's populars
I bought on impulse. It's really not the sort of music I enjoy listening to
Published 3 months ago by shirley degani


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Australian Perspective, 22 Nov. 2000
By 
padsrr@flinders.edu.au (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I am very tired of re-hash after re-hash of Shirley Bassey compilations but this disc is definetely a cut above the rest. It is extremely well presented and the cover photography (all new) is stunning. It's a great compilation of Dame Shirley's work but more importantly, we are given versions of "As I Love You", "Big Spender" "Kiss Me" and "This Is My Life" which are not the usual versions released on compilations. Also it is quite nice to have "Moonraker" and "History Repeating" on a greatest hits CD. The digital remastering is also a bonus. I recommend you buy it and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 17 Jan. 2007
By 
Dr. Michael Peters "Michael" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD gave my partner and I what we now affectionately call 'our song' - its 'Never, never, never' and means a great deal to us both. The rest of the CD is a sublime listening experience, sending shivers down your spine and making you laugh and cry. A wonderful collection of iconically sung masterpieces. Thank you Shirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELSH PERSPECTIVE, 9 Mar. 2002
By 
Michael Daniels (SWANSEA, South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As a long time fan, having most things Shirley I avoided this CD at first. However the nice art work and good track selection finally persuaded me. As I thought, all the tracks have at some point been previously released on both vinyl&CD, with the exception of (Surprise) "Big Spender" which is obviously an out-take from the original 1967 sessions- it is quite different from the single version and issued on the "And We Were Lovers" LP and makes this a very good excuse for buying this CD for fans (which for the casual buyer is about the best SB CD on the market).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bassey at her very best!, 1 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
22 tracks all digitally re-mastered including three Bond themes "Goldfinger" "Diamonds Are Forever" and "Moonraker". Other standout tracks are "Light My Fire" and "The Greatest Performance Of My Life". Fans may have many of these tracks on cd already, but I can recommend this cd for the excellent sound quality, fantastic booklet with amazing new pictures of Dame Shirley and its the only Bassey cd where you will find History Repeating!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TO HAVE THE HITS ON 1 CD, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
AS A DAME SHIRLEY CONNOISSEUR, IT WAS A GREAT THRILL TO HEAR A DIFFERNET TAKE ON AS I LOVE YOU. I HAVE NEVER FOUND THAT VERSION ANYWHERE IN BRITAIN BEFORE:) ALL THE OTHERS I HAVE ON MANY DIFFERENT FORMATS. WELL WORTH IT, IF YOU WANT ALL THE BIG DRAMA SONGS ON 1 CD, PUT IT ON AND GET YOUR FEATHERS OUT AND BELT THE WORLD IN THE *****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This a fantastic collection of Shirley Bassey clasics, 6 Oct. 2003
By 
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I recently became interested in Shirley Bassey through a friend. Being only 15 I hadn't really heard much about Shirley Bassey but as I listened to her music I began to love her!!!!! Her voice is so powerfull; she can really blast out a true masterpiece. I bought this album and recomend it to enyone who is an enormous fan of Shirley Bassey. It includes many old favourite such as "Big Spender", "AS I love You", "Goldfinger" and my personal favourite, "This Is My Life". It is a must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The majority of tracks are really nice with a few being real classics, performed by a true artist, possessing a voice hard to find anymore. Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHIRLEY, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Item arrived on time, there are so many Shirley cd"s out there but this one in my opinion is a very good choice to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my Life, Shirley Bassey, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. J. S. Robinson (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits
Excellent recording of some great numbers - just what was wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who couldn't love Shirley?, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Ian316 (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What a fantastic singer, performer. This one cannot be replaced. Considering all she has been though in her life she has managed to keep her life private.
Just love Shirley B xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits
This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits by Shirley Bassey (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews