Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from the past 10 years
Simply put, any music fan has to own this album. The twin vocalists Emma Pollock and Alun Woodward provide the perfect front for this album, yet it is the marvellous music that really makes it. Often written off as typical indie miserablists, this can't be futher from the truth. One listen to Aye Today, No Danger, and especially Accused of Stealing (which has a hook that...
Published on 10 Feb. 2003

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not-so-great
Despite the praise heaped upon it on this page and by the media, The Great Eastern in truth sees The Delgados overreaching themselves somewhat.

Much of the appeal of the band and their songs lies in their fragile charm, and the rather bombastic production on this LP mars otherwise decent songs like American Trilogy and No Danger. There are some fine moments...
Published on 19 Dec. 2000 by knowledeayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from the past 10 years, 10 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
Simply put, any music fan has to own this album. The twin vocalists Emma Pollock and Alun Woodward provide the perfect front for this album, yet it is the marvellous music that really makes it. Often written off as typical indie miserablists, this can't be futher from the truth. One listen to Aye Today, No Danger, and especially Accused of Stealing (which has a hook that will lodge itself in your brain for months, if not years) show that The Delgados' orchestral guitar music is unrivalled today, with Dave Fridman's production putting a shine on it that even betters his work with Mercury Rev. Yes, it's that good. Perhaps the standout track though is 13 Gliding Principles, with grinding guitars mixing with swelling strings producing a result that could come close to being the song that you will listen to over and over, giving no thought to anything else.
Any Delgados album is good, especially the newest, Hate. But in my opinion nothing beats The Great Eastern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty manifested in music, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
This album is quite simply one of the most beautiful ever produced by Delgados, or any other band. The Great Eastern has a hidden beauty similar to that of some of the newer work of Nick Cave, yet keeping the overdrive undertones of early Delgados such as Domestiques. Its filled with the kind of music that forces you to lay down somewhere and be absorbed by it, moving itself through you almost to the point that you can feel it physically. The haunting melody of Make Your Move and the piano of No Danger will make you quiver inside while Knowing When To Run caries a warming sound fixed up with murderous lyrics.
Anyone who cannot appreciate this glorious album has a musically closed mind. Sorry, but ya just do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime melaqncholia, 28 April 2000
By 
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
"Peloton", the Delgados' previous release, was the finest of 1998 so "The Great Eastern" contained considerable baggage. Often follow-ups disappoint. Either a band opt for a carbon copy or their new direction is less appealing. Fortunately, "The Great Eastern" retains the traits that make them endearing but these are enhanced by Dave Fridmann's panoramic production.
In a music world which echoes that of business and media in embracing all that is big, The Delgados remain refreshingly understated. Whilst their avowed intent was to create the most grandiose record ever, their lyrical introspection contradicts that aim. They capture perfectly self-doubt and self-loathing as exemplified by "American Trilogy"'s opening: "I became accustomed to a kind of social servitude and no one, I mean no one, could accept what I had become. Selfish, bitter, weak, Enough to make you sick." The tension between such sentiments and the chorus' orchestral sweep create a rare emotive depth.
Such conflict is equally effective in "Thirteen Gliding Principles" in which Emma Pollock and Alun Woodward" take alternate vocal lines and give the impression of a discussion at cross purposes, suggesting a more polite version of the aggressive interplay between Prolapse's Mick Derrick and Linda Steelyard. The swooshing of the string section adds to its impact. "Accused of Stealing", with Emma's smooth vocals and its subtle melody changes, is another highlight on a record bulging with sublime moments.
"Knowing when to Run" seems less personalised in its account of child abuse but from the opening, grandly funereal "The Past that Suits You Best" to the minimal, downbeat piano of the country-tinged closer, "Make your Move", "The Great Eastern" is an emotionally rich journey. Whilst their lyrics immaculately portray personal failings, their exquisite music mean that they avoid being purely a soundtrack for wallowing. Whereas their Chemikal Underground labelmates, Mogwai, attempt to subvert conventional song structures, The Delgados triumphantly prove that, with a bit of tinkering, classic songwriting and arranging can still be a source of myriad delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted and more, 6 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Eastern (Audio CD)
Don't get the wrong idea about the title of this record - it is great; but it strikes me as a record of disillusionment. Take lines such as, "we spent our years dreaming, but our dreams were misleading, and now we're through..." and "your happy home is never found..." Yet it's as if the depression depicted isn't the kind which makes you howl with dejection, but the kind which just numbs you; incapable of happiness, but also incapable of profound sadness - stuck in limbo. There's a lot of piano (which is kind of a personal limbo for me), but mostly to good effect, and a beautiful use of strings. Sometimes the album feels a bit too dry, but fear not - its epic stature is secured by the time the last track fades out.
The Great Eastern is an intriguing blend of inventive, experimental, innovatively panned, trip-hoppy sounds and seasoned, melancholy, Seventies-era folky songwriting. My favourite is the phenomenal "No Danger," which may just be the song of the year. Then again, I tend to prefer more rocking tunes, so I'm especially a sucker for the punch delivered by "American Trilogy" and "Thirteen Gliding Principles." I don't know to what extent the band was affected by recording this in the U.S., or how much Dave Fridmann's production is responsible, but there is a certain "Apocalypse Now" sort of feeling to the whole thing, yet it's simultaneously super-modern... Just call it great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best album i have ever heard, 28 Mar. 2003
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
As stated in the title, this is quite simply the best, most beautiful, engaging, enigmatic, wonderful album i have ever heard! You may think i may be going overboard, but once you have heard it i hope you will realise if anything i am understating the quality of this album, one critic was quoted as describing it as 'the most beautiful songs in the history of recorded sound', i for one find it very difficult to argue with that appraisal. The beautiful sumptious melodies, layered though simplistic approach, variation though continuity still exists, an album that has to be listened through from start to finish, and then again! The brilliant sublime '13 gliding principles', 'accused of stealing', 'witness' and culminating in the stunningly beuatiful lament of a track 'Make your move', actually every song on this wonderful album can be used as a lesson in brilliant song-making.
Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
This is a superb album. The melodies, the harmonies, the lyrics all combine to great effect. The sheer scope of the writing leaves me breathless. I bought this album after hearing 'American Trilogy' on 'Later with Jools' and I was not dissapointed. If you like your music cerebral, atmospheric and downright beautiful, then you must buy this album. I can't believe the band is not more well known...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You really need this album, 4 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
Just browsing through the internet, bored, I came across this page and decided that I HAD to review the album! It's hard to say why though, because it's near impossible to put into words how sublime this album is. I bought it straight after they completely blew me away at the Reading Festival 2000, and wasn't disappointed. 'No Danger', 'American Trilogy' and 'Accused of Stealing' shone straight away, each with a grand, GRAND climax where their trademark crashing guitars meet lush orchestration. After these massive statements, though, there's more subtle tracks that are equally enticing, like the epic opener 'The Past That Suits You Best' and the gorgeous closer 'Make Your Move'. Then there's the sweeping stings of 'Knowing When To Run' and... in fact, EVERY song is brilliant in its own right, while they're all wrapped up in complex string arrangements. What makes this album stand above most others, though, is that underneath all the orchestral grandiosity, the songs themselves are all brilliant. It's true the vast instrumentation means that this album doesn't have the same delicacy of 'Peloton', but this doesn't mean it isn't brilliant in its own way. I could go on, but I don't think I can really do it justice. It may take time, but every person I've recommended this to has not been disappointed. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful Seller, 25 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Great Eastern [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The package was lost in overseas delivery and the seller was very helpful in rectifying this. The record showed up in perfect condition and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ear Candy To Die For, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
In a time where it seems real pop music is fighting a losing battle back come the Delagdos with one of the finest British albums EVER released. A collection of some of the most beautiful music you will ever hear in your life. Quite simply stunning. 'Been Caught Stealing' is the icing on a most delicious cake. BUY BUY BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercury Prize - they wuz robbed, 27 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Eastern (Audio CD)
I'm sorry but I can't let this album sit around with only a 4-star average. I first bought this album on impulse while I was buying some others, but soon I found this was the only one I was listening to... Truly an album without a weak spot - but the best of it all have to be the gorgeous Make Your Move, the sprawling beauty of The Past That Suits You Best and the simply-one-of-the-best-songs-ever Thirteen Gliding Principles. Buy it now, or your children will blame you for their unfulfilled lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Eastern
The Great Eastern by Delgados (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews