Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-ray release
As my title suggests this is a review of the US Import Blu-ray release.
First, and most importantly, for UK buyers....this disc is REGION FREE!!! The back of the box states this and my region-locked player plays it fine.
There are lots of review for the actual film, so in this review I'm only going to focus on the blu-ray release.

The biggest...
Published 24 months ago by Pantheon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average film (spoiler)
Normally I am not one to become involved in watching films where women are the main focus and 'comedy' is used to describe a film they are in e.g. SEX AND THE CITY (2008), but a particular film like this one which combines a group of likable characters, a heartwarming story and a fun American sport is what makes A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN (1992) a very genuine success. The...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by Mr. S. K. Mackie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-ray release, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As my title suggests this is a review of the US Import Blu-ray release.
First, and most importantly, for UK buyers....this disc is REGION FREE!!! The back of the box states this and my region-locked player plays it fine.
There are lots of review for the actual film, so in this review I'm only going to focus on the blu-ray release.

The biggest question: Is this worth replacing on Blu-ray. Answer: A resounding YES!!
The picture on the DVD has never been great, and, while the image on the blu-ray isn't perfect all the time it gets damned close. The opening scenes in the present are the grainiest the film gets; but once the films goes into flashback the picture is excellent. Colours are bright and vivid and the blacks are deep. The film continues in this vein throughout with only a few scenes showing grain or soft focus issues.
Overall, if you're a fan this is a must-own and I'm very please I bought it.

Technical specs:
2.35.1 Widescreen.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Flemish, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedith, Turkish.
Audio: English DTS-HD Master 5.1, and the following in Dolby Digital Stereo German, Spanish, French, Japanese and a Commentary.
Extras: Hour long making of documentary, Commentary, Madonna's music video, deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars were one for all!!!!!!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
where do i start a under rated tom hanks film for me. This is one of my favourite 90's movie with kindergarten cop it has sports it has a young tom hanks and a string full of beauties to wet your appetite lol. It start with geena davis and her sister living on a farm with there parents as geena husband is away at war and she just waiting for him to come home where her younger sister has different faults about leaving small town life and heading to the bright lights of the city. In the opening scene the two sisters are playing baseball at a local park and get recruited for the first all girl american league. Now i stop there as i don't want to give away to much but this is a must own if your a sucker for late 80's early 90's movies it heart whealming in places where the wifes wait on news on there husbands during the war, you also see great acting from tom hanks who plays a wash up professional baseball player turned coach also you get a young madonna before she turned ultra weird and didnt have the body of a 16 year old boy lol. So if you reading this don't wait no more just order it plus delivery from allyourmusic was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film, has you hooked all the way through......, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
Easily my favourite film of all time, something that everyone can enjoy, if not for the film itself, the sport, the genre, there's something for anyone! With a cast of acclaimed actors and actresses, it offers more than the average film and induces you into its tale of happiness, losses and fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars League of Their Own, 5 Sep 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Like so many films that have a sporting theme, "A League of their own" does follow a fairly predictable storyline. It has all the elements we've seen in so many films that have both gone before it and come after it; a team of nobodies, a rare old mixture of misfits and different personality types. There's the brass loud mouth, the sexy tart (with a heart of course), the plain shy one and so on and so on. The composition of the film is also pretty unsurprising with long montages of thrilling sports snippets and buddy-buddy hug scenes in the dressing room. Obviously the main difference this time is that the team involved is a female baseball team.
It's the Second World War and in fear that the draft of star Major League Baseball players into the armed forces will cause the league to be closed down, the main team owners decide to create an all female league to keep things going whilst the men are away. Scouts are sent around the country and one comes to a little farming community where he meets and signs up catcher Dottie Hinson (Geena Davis) and her kid sister Kit Keller. The girls are formed into the Rockford Peaches and the soon start making the headlines, not only for their sporting prowess.
To only consider the film on its sporting merits though is to really miss the point. What it does throw up is an extremely important period for women when for basically the first time every the "fairer sex" was called up to serve their countries. Women poured into the factories and the workplace to keep the war machine rolling on and I think that the ladies realised what life and opportunities were now open to them. Was it any surprise that when the men came marching home the ladies resisted being packed away back into the kitchen.
The performances are great, Geena Davis is lovely as the "league's best player" and I'd never really realised what a beauty she is. Tom Hanks as the team's alcoholic coach is a bit of a change from his normal good guy he plays, here he's tobacco spitting and generally mean to his girls. There is some good atmosphere generated between Davis and Hanks and you are left to wonder "what if" it was Dottie's husband who didn't come back from the war. Lori Petty as Dottie's sister also puts in a fine performance and although he character is jealous and unfair you never loose sympathy with her and you do enjoy her final victory at the end. Madonna and Rosie O'Donnell as other team-mates put in great entertaining parts and also mention for Jon Lovitz as the talent scout who does a perfect line in sharp one-liners.
The ending is cloyingly sentimental and rather over the top, but it does work. My wife was in floods and something seemed to have got in my eye also as it was watering rather badly.
Great fun film and also very suitable for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A League Of Their Own [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film not seen it in years and got it at a reasonable price as well. Would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EINE KLASSE FÜR SICH - MADONNA [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Bought this as a present for someone who had never seen it and had no interest in baseball but they loved this film. The acting by Hanks and Davis is amazing but Lori Petty steals the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit it girls, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A League Of Their Own [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely film,funny,romantic and a little bit sad . Great family film. A great look how girls base ball come to be .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great film ...... a must have for any collection., 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A League Of Their Own [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, good price & excellent quality. Ive watched it a lot and enjoy it everytime. A must for any collection a great chick flick. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all, 12 Feb 2013
By 
A. Ray "Andy Brighton" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched this with my 20 year old daughter, then bought it for my 80 yr old Mum. Yes its that good. Fab story telling and one of the best Geena Davis roles by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's film that everyone must see, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A League Of Their Own [DVD] (DVD)
it's just pure entertainment and it show's just how different women were and are treated in the professional world of sport you can knock them down put can't keep them down,it's a real rollercoaster ride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EINE KLASSE FÜR SICH - MADONNA [DVD] [1992]
£5.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews