Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this film totally exceeded my expectations
I'd never heard of this film and only watched it because there was nothing else on. It turned out to be the most entertaining film I've seen in ages. It walked the fine line between the believable and the ludicrous - and sometimes life's really like that!
Published on 30 April 2006 by Simon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A few good scenes in an otherwise stupid movie
A long (seems longer than 100 minutes), manic and extremely tedious movie about an extraordinarily obnoxious group of people who evidently are supposed to be funny but are only annoying. The most obnoxious actor and character by far is Desmond Askew as Simon, and his namesake middle segment - about four morons in Las Vegas - is the most irritating.

The ONLY ten...
Published 6 months ago by J. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spanking Gorgeous!, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Takes everything from a Tarantino movie, and throws it together into a new genre altogether. Sex, drugs and violence, not to mention the babes and the lethal plot. Absolutely SPANKING GORGEOUS film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Get It!, 4 July 2000
This review is from: Go [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Comparison has been made of this movie to Pulp Fiction. On that I cannot comment because I have never seen Pulp Fiction (yes its true) however, I understand the comparison has been made by the way the movie intertwines three separate sub plots.
The three stories originate in an LA supermarket some time around Christmas and spins off into three separate stories, culiminating in their conclusions back at the first story.
Ronni is a checkout operator who, about to get evicted, unwittingly gets caught up in a drug deal that goes wrong, and tries to make some money by selling over the counter drugs at a rave party.
Simon, a Brit, goes to Las Vegas with some mates where chaos ensues following a visit to a girlie bar, and results in his being pursued by two thugs.
Adam and Zack, two gay soap opera stars, are asked to participate in a drug sting, in order to avoid facing a possession charge themselves. However, the "sting" does not happen and they are asked to have early christmas dinner with the detective and his wife ... but do they have an ulterior motive? This story would have to be my favorite with some very witty lines.
A humourous look on darker subjects but stylishly written, with a great soundtrack, brilliant cast, all in all a thorougly enjoyable movie. Unfortunately not being the proud possessor of a DVD player, I have had to resort to the video of this move. Although the DVD has many more features let me just say, the surround sound on the video does not disappoint and enhances the movie.
I bought this movie solely on the names of the director and some of the cast members. Jay Mohr is excellent as usual and Scott Wolf was suprising. Go give it a try. Another movie which it is a shame didn't get world wide cinematic release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, and the DVD features are cool !, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The animated menu is cool, the extra features - deleted scenes, music videos etc. are great and the movie is one of my favourites. Three diverse stories that start and end at the same place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody marvellous, 27 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a great DVD, it has super extras (3 very good music videos.) A commentary that is a lot of fun and some okay deleted scenes. Add these extras to the brilliant film and you have a real hit on your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - amazing DVD, 17 Mar 2000
By 
David Cahill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I don't wanna write a crtique of the movie here, it's not my thing. Suffice to say I loved it. But if you're wondering about getting it on DVD - do ! Packed with deleted scenes, 3 music videos, scene access, director's commentary - GET IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything else is your mums dirty pants!, 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's a complete mish mash of hoity toity hybrids... no really. (The preceding sentence will only be appreciated by viewers of the fine television programme, 'vids') This film is the dogs scrollox, it starts a bit dodgy but bear with it and u will uncover a true gem of a film. The middle hour is well paced and engaging, the script writing is dynamic and intelligent, the characters are well thought out and well placed, the cinematography is spot-on and the sountrack is BANGING! Erm... I quite liked it. If u like films which crack along at a pace and not only are funny but serious then this is the film for you. if you don't, then buy "Johnny Mnemonic". everything else is just pants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teenagers on the edge! A Great Flick from SWINGER's director, 6 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Go is a must to see movie and a triumph of the American independent cinema...It's much better than Doug Liman's former brilliant movie Swingers! The Son of the Pulp Fiction meets Trainspotting! It's a cutting edge, funny story of 90's teenagers. Stylish movie with talented young cast and great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Human Traffic vs Pulp Fiction = fantastic, great disc too, 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film didnt get the box office it deserved...it is a contemporary look at one mad night in California with several stories (of each of the characters) intertwining with each other a la Pulp Fiction..it is funny, cool, and has a great soundtrack..the cast is perfect...and the disc is superb with outtakes...music vids..commentary..the lot..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, hip and very stylish, 10 Dec 2001
This review is from: Go [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
In choosing a story structure which is similar to "Pulp Fiction", Doug Liman's film has been unfairly compared to Tarantino's work. In actual fact the two movies have almost nothing in common, apart from both being excellent pieces of work. Liman's direction is faultless, John August's script is packed with wit and imagination, and the ensemble cast is a dream. I really cannot say anything negative about this film. You have to see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but nothing special., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good, engaging film about youth-, drug- and rave-culture in which we see three different stories that overlap each other slightly and effect each other in unexpected ways. Sound, entertaining stuff, but this kind of thing's just been done much better in films like 21 Grams or Pulp Fiction. The film's main redeeming feature is probably the presence of the irrepressibly cute Katie Holmes, who's always worth watching...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go [DVD] [1999]
Go [DVD] [1999] by Doug Liman (DVD)
Used & New from: 43.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews