Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly cooked meats
I used this as the advice of Tim Ferris's Four Hour Chef was that meats can be best cooked using an oven thermometer. The specific product recommended wasn't available in the UK. I'm pleased to say that this product fills that gap brilliantly. Not only do I have perfectly cooked meat, it takes a lot of the stress out of cooking.

The thermometer has several...
Published 20 months ago by T. Morgan

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serious Cook's Review
Well- It's cheap, and it does work tolerably well if you are not too fussy and you know what temperature to set it at.

By comparison with a quality cooking thermometer:
-For beef, the recommended cooking temperatures are way too high by comparison with most reputable cooks references (e.g. recommends 60C for rare beef, around 46C is normally...
Published 17 months ago by Oxford Don


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly cooked meats, 28 Feb 2013
By 
T. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
I used this as the advice of Tim Ferris's Four Hour Chef was that meats can be best cooked using an oven thermometer. The specific product recommended wasn't available in the UK. I'm pleased to say that this product fills that gap brilliantly. Not only do I have perfectly cooked meat, it takes a lot of the stress out of cooking.

The thermometer has several pre-programmed temperatures (so for example you can select 'Beef' 'Medium-Rare' and it will automatically choose the right temperature for that) but you can also enter a custom temperature. It tells you the current temperature and the goal temperature so you can see how far away you are from cooked. When it reaches the correct temperature, there is an alarm (although this option can be switched off) which is loud but not annoying.

The electronic part is magnet-backed so can clip to the oven and the probe cord is long enough and flexible enough to make it into the oven without being taut (but not too long that the cord trails on the floor).

Overall this has been a great addition to my kitchen - both an oven thermometer in general, and this product specifically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of kit, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
I searched for a few weeks for a good BBQ probe and this is the best i came accross , the wire is braided and looks strong and durable just what i needed.

I tested it on a chicken and i have to say my wife over cooks it everytime but this did it perfect , it was so tender and jucy.

Would not hesitate to buy another !

Love it

Sky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serious Cook's Review, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
Well- It's cheap, and it does work tolerably well if you are not too fussy and you know what temperature to set it at.

By comparison with a quality cooking thermometer:
-For beef, the recommended cooking temperatures are way too high by comparison with most reputable cooks references (e.g. recommends 60C for rare beef, around 46C is normally recommended).
-It's not very accurate (reads 2C in a mixture of crushed ice & water, (should read 0C), and reads 98C in fast boiling water (should read 100C).
-It won't give a reading below 0C, so you cannot use it to check your freezer is working properly.
-It has a slow response time, if you care about such things. [So poking it in and out quickly will not give an accurate reading].

It's sold as an oven thermometer, and is not really suitable for BBQs (cable not grill/flame proof).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential kitchen gadget, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
Always tend to over cook roast chicken and it usually ends up dry . Using my polder thermometer has given me amazing results. Tender perfectly cooked chicken.So easy to use and accurate for all types of meat. I have already recommended it to many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well so far, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
It arrived ahead of the quoted delivery date.

I've only used it twice so far but the meat was cooked perfectly (Beef joint rare and a lamb joint medium). It's very easy to use although I've only tried the preset cooking settings.

I don't think you could go wrong for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on!, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered this for my mum who was cooking the christmas turkey this year. It worked brilliantly and resulted in a perfectly cooked turkey (for the first time!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but not cheerful, 17 Oct 2014
By 
K. Wall "Essexm" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
Even after reading a load of reviews I still bought this, figuring it's cheap enough to see what it's like. But after only 10 months and it not working I still feel let down!

The temperature now will not go below 70 degrees. I put it in the freezer and it went down to 50 degrees but as soon as I took it out and laid it on the worktop it went back up to over 70!!

I would not buy this product again, nor would I recommend it.

Spend a bit more and get a better one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly made and doesn't last, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
Another pile of junk that didn't last 12 months before the thermometer stopped working.

Is anyone else sick of buying the same product over and over again because they are so badly made? This is my second now and two different makes.. both not the cheapest around.

Can anyone recommend a decent thermometer that won't break?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Oven Thermometer, 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. P. A. Gomes "Musical Goan" (London & Goa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polder Programmable Digital Oven Thermometer, White (Kitchen & Home)
I have used this item out doors for BBQ foods. The food measurement is excellent and food cooked just right. Care need with outdoor use as the cable has a plastic/rubber covering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews