Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of Stevie's Classic period
This album is the first of Stevie's big 5 albums of the Classic Period. Undeniably experimental, and dare one say it influenced by the use of performance enhancing materials Stevie does everything in this album - instrumnetals, vocals and production in itself tribute to the quite staggering talent of the man. The album contains less of the well known tracks of his other...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by ChrisG

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sign of great things to come
I do not agree that music of my mind is second to songs in the key of life neither is innervisions a bit of hit and miss. I believe that with this album, soul music was about to have an overhaul. This album was pointing the way forward and soul music was never to return to what it once was. This was truly a remarkable album in terms of its technological advance in sound...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by keith roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of Stevie's Classic period, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
This album is the first of Stevie's big 5 albums of the Classic Period. Undeniably experimental, and dare one say it influenced by the use of performance enhancing materials Stevie does everything in this album - instrumnetals, vocals and production in itself tribute to the quite staggering talent of the man. The album contains less of the well known tracks of his other major albums, but tracks such as "Love Having you around", "I Love every little thing about You" and "Happier than the Morning Sun" give an indication of a very unusual musical sensibility with a depth and range that few before or since could master. By no means Stevie's greatest album, its importance lies in his move into new musical territories and development as one of the greatest and most important musicians of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonder-full stuff!, 26 July 2006
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
Stevie did get better on the following albums, but by any standards this is still five star fare. This was his second album since taking total creative control from Motown (the first was 'Where I'm Coming From'), though still recorded and released on Gordy's label.

As a drummer I'd like to draw attention to the occasional tempos shifts in Stevie's drumming. There are several very noticeable shifts on 'Love Having You Around', the opening track. But does it ruin this excellently effusive number? No... Modern music's slavish adherence to the click is, I believe, helping destroy the freedom and feeling - the 'soul' if you like - that lies at the heart of good music (another good example would be Chameleon by Herbie Hancock, a monstrosity of musical excellence and funky groove, that ends at a significantly higher tempo than it began at, but does that lessen it's magnificence, I think not!).

'Superwoman/Where Were You When I Needed You' is Wonder at his best, as is the simple sentimental groover 'I Love Every Little Thing About You'. 'Girl Blue' and 'Seems So Long' also belong to Stevie's sentimental side, whilst 'Evil' belongs to his epic/consciousness themed catalogue. 'Happier Than The Morning Sun' has a similar feel to Talking Book's 'Big Brother' keys-wise, tho' the lyrics are obviously quite different. 'Sweet Little Girl' and 'Keep On Running' are the closest you get to filler, but they are still purty good...

Fabulous, from Stevie's golden era, and well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happier than the morning sun, 17 Feb 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
I sometimes forget this wasn`t Stevie Wonder`s debut album. In fact, it was his fourteenth! It`s just that it was the beginning of something - for Stevie, for us, and for music itself.
Whenever I think of this man`s music, despite his political and environmental concerns, which came to the fore more with each succeeding release, I think of a sunlit, richly textured, warmly sung and played world of music that communicates with passionate immediacy. If I may be fanciful, Wonder has always worn his musical heart on his sleeve. He`s less subtle musically than label-mate Marvin Gaye, say, or Al Green. By that, I simply mean that his music can be grasped at first hearing; embraced wholeheartedly in fact.
It seems pointless to go through each track on this glorious album. Like so many of his 70s records, it sounds all of a piece - almost as if he and his musicians (who must have been a meagre group, as he plays most of the instruments himself) went into the studio and just played for hours until they had an album. We`re in overdub city, but nothing sounds at all contrived, quite the opposite. MOMM is one of the most organic sets of songs I`ve heard. It`s all good, as they say.
Some of these songs are so full of sunlight, bursting positive energy, and Stevie`s
own brand of pop-soul sweetness, that it would be impossible to hear them and not feel a little better about life. To me, he has always possessed more real `soul` in his voice than Michael Jackson, or any of his soundalikes, and is far less mannered too.
This is, to my mind, virtually as good as any of the celebrated albums that followed, and musically more successful than the rather overrated, less spontaneous Songs In The Key Of Life - not that I don`t like the latter, but I play it much less often than MOMM.
Happier than the morning sun? I am when I play this joyous disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 6 Jun 2000
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
Do you mean to say you've come this far in life without owning this album? Redefine Stevie Wonder. Hear him at his very best. This recording, along with Innervisions, Talking Book and Fulfillingness First Finale, is a true black American musical landmark. There is nothing else like it. You have to own this disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INNOVATIVE PIECE WELL AHEAD OF IT'S TIME, 31 Jan 2013
By 
PICKY H (CAMBRIDGESHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
Just great. Stevie at his best and most productive. Had this originally as an album and loved it. Still own the album, but am making sure i still hold on to this beautiful, creative sound in CD format. Just wonderful. I believe music lovers of any age should be introduced to Stevie Wonder masterpieces such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
fab music just as you always rememeber that great sound of music and you never forget the great stevie wonder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC OF MY MIND - STEVIE WONDER, 3 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
This review focuses mainly on the validity of digitally remastering and re-releasing Stevie Wonder's albums, in 2000.

Originally released on 03.03.72, this album was digitally remastered by Kevin Reeves at Universal Mastering Studios-East, 1755 Broadway Manhattan 10019 NYC USA in 2000:

Remastering [for CD] is a process which involves compressing the original analogue master recording, in specific frequency bands, to enhance the clarity, presence and apparent volume of the music. Mastering for CD is a delicate and highly skilled procedure, which was in it's infancy when original analogue masters were digitally mastered and prepared for CD release, in the early 1980s.

The compression of masters for vinyl [LPs] is different from that for CD, & current remastering for release on CD, can breathe new life into recordings originally mastered for analogue playback/vinyl. The art of digital remastering has developed greatly since the development & birth of the CD: 1979/1982 [initially invented in 1965 by James Russell].

This album of superlative song writing was performed, produced & arranged entirely by Stevie Wonder, apart from trombone: Art Baron & the guitar solo on Super woman: Buzzy Feiton.

Album sleeve/insert notes provide full production credits.

It cannot be over emphasised what a very significant increase in detail is realized in this digital remaster for CD, over the first CD release. If you are considering replacing a pre-2000 CD with this digital remaster, and compare the sound of the two releases back to back, you may well consider replacing all your pre-2000 Stevie Wonder CDs with new digital remasters. The improvements in overall clarity, presence & volume, are strikingly dramatic, making listening to these stunning albums an even greater pleasure.

My personal favourite is track 7, Seems So Long, with it's ethereal introduction and beautifully structured soaring climaxes. The plaintive lyrics are further testimony to the awesome art of Stevie Wonder's song writing.

Although Songs In The Key Of Life is widely regarded as Stevie Wonder's seminal work, his other albums, such as Music Of My Mind, are truly remarkable, revealing the incredible depth & musical sophistication of Stevie Wonder's song writing & performing talents. If you've never heard Music Of My Mind and consider yourself a Stevie Wonder fan: buy it!

Matt Shoul/reviewer has been involved in UK music education/songwriting workshops [nursery, primary & seconday: 4-18 year olds] since 1987.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
An excellent album. The first of four of what I believe to be Stevie Wonder's best period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was the Start of The Journey for me, 4 Dec 2013
By 
G. R. Chapman (Boston, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
This is Stevie Wonder going through the metamorphosis from Little Stevie Wonder to the colossus that stunned the world with Talking Book, Innervisions and other incredibly original music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE START OF STEVIES GOLDEN PERIOD., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of My Mind (Audio CD)
In the early seventies Stevie turned 21 so bring to an end his contract with Motown, he refused to renew his contract and retreated to a New York recording studio where he would begin a mammoth recording session that would provide the basic tracks for the next four albums [Music Of My Mind, Talking Book, Innervisions and Forefillingness The First Finale]. When the tracks were finished Stevie hawked the tracks around eventually extracting a lucrative contract from Motown. This album is the first release from those sessions and is a very different proposition to his Motown material, it has a distinctively jazz funk feel to it's material perhaps jazzier than the later albums, the tracks are also a bit longer than on future albums [apart from 1976's Songs In The Key Of Life', there is the beautiful 'Superwoman' and the funky 'Keep On Running' as particular favourites of mine. Things would get even better on 'Talking Book', but this album was a magnificent beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music Of My Mind
Music Of My Mind by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews