Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courageous acoustic brilliance from wild man Harper
There is plenty to enjoy on this, the most perfectly realised of Roy's early albums. As he says in the liner notes, production quality was up, the instrumentation (though generally sparse) is crystal clear, the songwriting is sharp and Roy is in fine voice throughout. Some of the songs (Davey, East of the Sun, Francesca) are brief but beautiful snippets while others like...
Published on 18 Jun 2003 by S. GODFREY

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Place To Start!
I had intended to check out the enigma that is Roy Harper for some time, and previous reviews suggested his "Flat Baroque And Berserk" CD was a good place to start. This guy seems to have operated under the radar for all these years, never really courting the "mainstream" but nevertheless influencing a host of the great and good. If the tracks on this CD are typical of...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by geerob1952


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courageous acoustic brilliance from wild man Harper, 18 Jun 2003
By 
S. GODFREY "Stuart" (Risca, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
There is plenty to enjoy on this, the most perfectly realised of Roy's early albums. As he says in the liner notes, production quality was up, the instrumentation (though generally sparse) is crystal clear, the songwriting is sharp and Roy is in fine voice throughout. Some of the songs (Davey, East of the Sun, Francesca) are brief but beautiful snippets while others like "I Hate the White Man" and "Hells Angels" are more extended work-outs: "White Man" is a blistering, outraged attack on racial prejudice while "Angels" is a full-on rock blast with members of The Nice joining in and Roy having a whale of a time on electric guitar. The real jewel in this collection, however, is the heartbreaking "Another Day"...a tad more poignant and it would kill you. Great songs, great album, one which Roy has only bettered in "Stormcock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flat Baroque and Berserk: Roy Harper - Songs of the ages, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
Roy Harper is an artist that I have heard a lot about over the years, mainly from other artists that I really enjoy such as Jethro Tull and, of course, Led Zeppelin. I finally got round to getting a taster of his music, and decided to go for this album based on the sound scientific principle that I really liked the title and the cover art.

I was instantly captivated. As a bit of a folkie with a lot of Dylan, Guthrie, Fairport Convention and the such in my collection it is a wonderment how I have never heard this music before, as it is such a natural fit with the other stuff on my cd shelves.

The album starts off with seemingly simple tunes, soft and mellow as though being played in a haze of `herbal' cigarette smoke. The simple folky guitar lines are picked out with delicious clarity by Harper on the guitar. Then slowly you realise just how not so simple some of the guitar work really is and you get drawn into the complexity. Then the lyrics hit you. This is someone who has something to say, whether it be a tale of broken hearted love, or railing against racism. The message is important, and you get swept along with Harper's tales. The album is well paced, with real care being taken over the placing of each track in the running order, and there is a rise and fall in tempo throughout, culminating in `Hell's Angels', where Harper really lets himself go and stretches himself out in a long, folk/prog rock fusion that works absolutely divinely and provides a thrilling, almost breathless album closer.

Hats off to Roy Harper indeed, 5 stars and I am now hurrying off to acquire more from this amazing artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best album in the world, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
My introduction to Roy Harper started with FBB.Having continued to listen to the Master of prose and acoustic skill "Live" and on tapes and vinyl, we have now the chance to purchase the musical talent of both Roy and Nick Harper on CD. FBB is full of the best of Harper. Recorded originally on four track with no other studio instruments used though the creation of tracks such as DontYou Grieve,I Hate The White Man,Another Day and Hells Angels are pure brilliance, he was likened to Dylan but I would not agree .This man is pure genius,Hats off to Roy Harper .To experience The true Harper this album is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine ground breaking album in its day and still is!, 22 Jan 2006
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
It is hard to remember how far ahead of his time Harper was. I remember seeing him just as this album was ready for release and he said that they had had to reduce the gaps between the tracks to fit it on an LP! That was the problem he did not have the appropriate technology to support him then. "Flashes From The Archives of Oblivion" captures some of his live power. When stoned he rambled between songs but (usually)when he sang live, no matter his mental state, his voice and songs were powerful, unnerving and sublimely beautiful. Something that was never really caught in the studio - he worked by his mood/feeling/the gifts he was given/consumed that evening, hence the fact he could also be awful at times. You didn't meet on his ledge you were on it with him!
All his albums are sketch pads for the ideas he would develop live. When I first saw him he did 'Hells Angels' live and alone but no one missed the band (the record wasn't out), he more than made up for them, as Nice as they were on the LP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazin amazing amazing, 5 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
alongside harvest by neil young, and the eponymous tim buckley album, this is one of those albums that gets undr your skin. you put it on to do the washing up and it takes you over. buy it. now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 6 Jun 2012
By 
T. Baranyai "COVERDALESNAKE" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
This is definately Roy Harpers best album. The lyrics are way ahead of there time and the album has a song for ever emotion. Another day could very well be the most beautiful song ever written and Don't you grieve is one of the most unique songs lyrically ever. Francesca, Davey, and Goodbye are all delivered with class and passion and How does it feel and I hate the white man are Harper milestones. Infact the only bad track on the entire album is Hells angels, but that was written for a laugh anyway. This is a must buy for anyone who loves music at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic RH, 4 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
This was the first RH album I heard. At the time was into 70's Metal, Judas Priest, Saxon and Demon to name but three. A friends sister lent me this album and I was amazed that a mainly acoustic folk album could be so controversial lyrically and musically outstanding. My favourite tracks Don't Yo Grieve, I hate the White Man, Tom Tiddler's Ground and Another Day later covered by Peter Gabriel and Ktae Bush (this version is better). Still like metal now into Children of Bodom, Korn and Stone Sour but own every album RH has recorded and now also listen to Blue Grass and Folk. Great album give it a listen. If you are not yet a fan give an introduction to RH a go, it should get you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb album, 11 April 2003
By 
Mr Nick Cooper (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
I adore this acoustic magician's album. It is very late-60s in content and yet has a certain contempoary feel too. My favourites are the beautiful 'Francesca', the religiously-challenging 'Don't you grieve' and 'Tom Tiddler's'. I hope you enjoy this album as much as I have. And the album cover is a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
Roy Harper is definitely one of the best artists out there and one of the great lyricists of all time. This early album features one of his best known songs, but in my opinion every song on the album is equally fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turn it up to eleven and enjoy, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Flat Baroque & Berserk (Audio CD)
We all have them,albums that we pull down from the shelf when we want to be made to feel a certain way. For me it usually makes an appearance when I'm feeling anoyed or angry with the injustices of the world. It stokes the fires alright,it allows me to link the songs with my own experiences,though the beauty of the albumis that it doesnt leave you in an state of blind fury. It calms and acts as a balm,leaving you feeling rung out but ultimatly it instills a quiet sense of peace. In the end what more can you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flat Baroque & Berserk
Flat Baroque & Berserk by Roy Harper (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews