Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
196
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£14.99+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2008
After buying my Panasonic Blu Ray player I was eager to watch a movie giving me the full HD effect. I thought Con Air was maybe a bit too old to provide the best quality but I was rewarded with a fantastic and stunning sharpness and images. Con Air might be a movie for the devoted fan, it is defintely one of my favourites, but Blu Ray took it further and made the movie as exciting as fresh as when I first saw it all those years ago. Great action , great dialog and cliched, but worth every minute.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2007
Having seen this film in the cinema on its release I loved it. It is action packed original full of lame wise cracks and glitzy stunts. The cast looked like they had a lot of fun too.

I was quite excited when i saw this extended edition had been released but felt slightly let down by it. Why?

Well what the extras try to do is make this film more intelligent, and give more depth to the characters, all the things that a film like Con Air does not need.

If these extra scenes were more stunts, more explosions, more wise cracks then it would have been 5 stars but i'm afraid whats on offer does not add anything to the original film.

If you don't own Con Air this might be worth a purchase, but don't buy this to upgrade your existing version as it won't
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We all know the film and how great it is if you like that kind of thing (I surely do), but is it worth buying the Blu-Ray version? I would say definitely yes, as the picture is so clear as to it being difficult to imagine it being any better, and the uncompressed HD sound is pretty awesome on my half-decent system. As for the film, I hadn't seen it for a few years and it's still one of my favourites. There's a lot of humour, scarey but likeable characters and stupendous action. Who cares if it's not realistic or believable, it's still a bl**dy good action film that could stand up to anything on the go even now.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
CON AIR [1997 / 2007] [Blu-ray] Fasten Your Seatbelts! High-Energy Action!

Buckle up for a pure adrenaline rush! As producer Jerry Bruckheimer s explosive hit ‘CON AIR’ detonates onto this Blu-ray Disc. Starring acclaimed actors Nicolas Cage, John Cusack and John Malkovich, this edge-of-your-seat thrill ride soars to new heights in this remarkable format.

A prison parolee [Nicholas Cage] on his way to freedom faces impossible odds when the maximum security transport plane he is on is skyjacked by the 10 most vicious criminals in the country. Experience death-defying stunts and mind-blowing special effects in eye-popping 1080p while jet engines roar and turbulent action rocks your world in 5.1 Dolby Digital 48 kHz, 24-bit uncompressed audio. The excitement takes off and never lets up with Blu-ray High Definition!

FILM FACT: 70th Academy Awards®: Nominated: Best Original Song for "How Do I Live." Nominated: Best Sound Mixing for Kevin O'Connell, Greg P. Russell and Art Rochester.

Cast: Nicolas Cage, John Cusack, John Malkovich, Ving Rhames, Danny Trejo, Mykelti Williamson, Rachel Ticotin, Colm Meaney, Dave Chappelle, Nick Chinlund, Steve Buscemi, Monica Potter, M.C. Gainey, Jesse Borrego, Renoly Santiago, Brendan Kelly, Jesse Borrego, Carl Ciarfalio, Mongo Brownlee, John Marshall Jones, Ned Bellamy, Fredric Lehne, Marty McSorley, Robert Stephenson, Tommy Bush, Don Charles McGovern, Steve Eastin, José Zúñiga, Jeris Lee Poindexter, Landry Allbright, Angela Featherstone, Don S. Davis, Dabbs Greer, Chris Ellis, Kevin Gage (uncredited), Matthew Barry (uncredited), Powers Boothe (uncredited), Kira Burt (uncredited), Marty Fresca (uncredited), Kevin Gage (uncredited), Christopher Robin Hood (uncredited), Walter Ludwig (uncredited), Bob Pepper (uncredited), Mark Rodney (uncredited) and Dan Rudert (uncredited)

Director: Simon West

Producer: Jerry Bruckheimer

Screenplay: Scott Rosenberg

Composers: Mark Mancina and Trevor Rabin

Cinematography: David Tattersall

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 5.1 LPCM Uncompressed Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio, French: 5.1 DTS, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio, Spanish: 5.1 DTS and Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finish and Icelandic

Running Time: 115 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Touchstone Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Here is my one and only guilty pleasure: ‘CON AIR’ [1997]. Here is a lesson in manhood where Nicolas Cage gets to be innocently hijacked on a plane and has to save his diabetic buddy with lots of explosions and it is a totally gloriously boneheaded macho-fest rollercoaster ride from start to finish.

But here is a slight warning: If you have a slight fear of flying, then this film will not be for you. But for me and for some unknown reason, with ‘CON AIR,’ is about a film in which an aeroplane transferring hardened nasty criminals is hijacked by its criminal passengers before being taken on a raucous rollercoaster joyride, has always had a comforting effect on me and I think (spoiler warning) it's because the good guys survive, but who that is, you will have to view this film and especially this high octane 1080p Blu-ray disc.

Of course, I'm well aware that Hollywood heroes usually live, but when I watched ‘CON AIR’ for the first time in the cinema in 1997 that I hadn't yet had the pleasure of working my way through the abundance of cheap action flicks with all-American bad-asses and one-liner scripts churned out by Hollywood every year. Previously, one of my favourite films was ‘Airplane,’ but of course that was the opposite direction and of course I considered ‘CON AIR’ gives us a lesson in real macho manhood, so to speak.

And the starring man in this gloriously boneheaded macho-man fest is soft spoken Cameron Poe, played by a biblically long-locked Nicolas Cage. What a man Cameron Poe is, a former soldier, he has just been released from prison after serving time for manslaughter after killing a local drunk who berates his pregnant wife. After more than seven years doing handstand press-ups, learning Spanish and making friends with the help of the "pink coconut things" his wife sends him, he's ready to be transferred home with a fluffy stuffed rabbit to give the daughter he's never met. Unfortunately for poor Cameron Poe, a nutty bunch of Supermaxim lifers led by Cyrus "The Virus" Grissom [John Malkovich] who are also on the flight, have other ideas; they take control of the plane and Cameron Poe is forced to tread a delicate line between being an innocent good guy and a criminal in order to survive the trip. But basically the film is just about a man trying to get a toy bunny home to his daughter.

That's what I love most about ‘CON AIR,’ because of all the masquerading; it really is a hysterically comic flick. The characterisation teeters just enough into the tongue-in-cheek side of cliché to make it fantastically watchable. You've got the Dostoevsky-quoting field marshal Vince Larkin [John Cusack] waxing sociological with the brutish DEA agent Duncan Malloy [Colm Meaney] while they try to take back the plane; the quasi-profound Garland Greene [Steve Buscemi] who plays the OTT psychopath who turns up on board in a Hannibal Lecter-style face cage; and Joe "Pinball" Parker [Dave Chappelle] who gets side-tracked chatting up an airport employee in a hanger during a stop-off and almost misses the flight. There's also great action slapstick, like when (spoiler alert) Joe "Pinball" Parker's dead body is shoved out of the plane and lands on the bonnet of a car as the driver grumbles about his dirty windscreen.

But while the first half of the film is all about the hijack, the second half is essentially about a massive gun battle in an apocalyptic dustbowl scrapyard. Cameron Poe, who unlike the other prisoners is technically a free man, does actually get an opportunity to escape at this point, but turns it down because his prison cell chum Baby-O who happens to be diabetic and is in dire need of insulin. Did I mention Cameron Poe really is a great guy, who risks his life to get a syringe for a near-death Baby-O, in a fine homage to an oft-overlooked sub-genre of cinema; films that use diabetes as a narrative device?

Meanwhile, the plane takes off again, Cameron Poe's cover is broken and he is forced to fight for control of the aircraft for the epic finale; safely landing on the Vegas strip, a plane full of mad men crashing, cartoon-style into the American dream. It truly is a beautiful thing. I may be speaking for myself, but any action film that features the line: "Make a move and the bunny gets it", deserves to be watched at least seven times. ‘CON AIR,’ is one flight you cannot afford to miss!

Blu-ray Video Quality – Touchstone Home Entertainment brings you this powerful action packed film ‘CON AIR’ in a brilliant awe inspiring 1080p image transfer, and an equally impressive 2.35:1 aspect ratio. Despite of its age, it has a great picture quality with some surprisingly good quality images. Virtually throughout the film it has completely sharp images. The contrast and detail is at a high level, with mostly very vivid image with some very good depth. You also have minimum noise in larger areas, especially in the darker areas. Minimal visible ghosting throughout the film and there is no artificial sharpening.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Touchstone Home Entertainment brings you this powerful action packed film ‘CON AIR’ with an equally impressive impacting 5.1 Dolby Digital audio experience. Even ‘CON AIR’ follows the same rule as the other Jerry Bruckheimer productions: to crack it and the more intense, the better! And Touchstone Home Entertainment here gives ‘CON AIR’ namely not only provides a reference image quality but also a corresponding Home Theatre Sound experience especially in the numerous action packed scenes, where the walls of your lounge will tremble with great vibration. Here you have a full programme on offer: explosions are punchy, cannonballs hiss from one corner to the other and the engine noise of the ‘CON AIR’ comes with plenty of deep bass therefore I can honestly say that action fans will find themselves in seventh heaven acoustic! There are not many quiet scenes in this film, but even these have been well implemented sound wise, while dialogue remains always well understood even in fast-paced scenes. So well done Touchstone Home Entertainment.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: Movie Showcase [2007] [1080p] [2.35:1] [2:33] Movie Showcase is basically a series of bookmarks that lets you demo the 1080p HD picture and sound quality by selecting three big cinematic moments from the film ‘CON AIR.’ While it is presented in 1080p, the audio is in 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio, you do get the full HD experience. Touchstone Home Entertainment is basically giving you a Blu-ray demonstration of the three selectable scenes that are presented, the brilliant 1080p HD image quality with this Blu-ray disc, but personally I cannot work out why this has been included, very strange.

Special Feature: A View From Above [1997] [480i] [1.33:1] [4:38] This “Making-of” is just under 5 minutes and is basically seeing behind-the-scene documentary of the filming of the film ‘CON AIR’ and some of the actors and several crewmembers have their say and they include Nicholas Cage [Cameron Poe]; Jerry Bruckheimer [Producer]; John Malkovich [Cyrus The Virus], John Cusack [Vince Larkin] and Simon West [Director] have far too brief words with their involvement in the film and you get to see a few set-shots. Basically, however, this is more or less a short promotional clip for the film, and this was originally only available as a DVD feature, that is why the quality of this video is very grainy.

Special Feature: The Destruction of Las Vegas [1997] [480i] [1.33:1] [2:40] This is a follow up documentary to the previous special feature where again we see behind-the-scene of the film ‘CON AIR’ where you get to view them destroying parts of Las Vegas, especially with the CGI effects and other special effects inside the plane. We also get to view a miniaturised to scale of Las Vegas on the film set, to show you how they did the effects of the plane landing on the road and destroying parts of Las Vegas. We get also contributions from Jerry Bruckheimer [Producer] and David Goldberg [Visual Effects Supervisor]. Again this was originally only available as a DVD feature that is why the quality of this video is very grainy.

Theatrical Trailer [1997] [480i] [1.33:1] [2:28] This is the original Theatrical Trailer for the film ‘CON AIR,’ but sadly not being shown in the 2.35:1 aspect ratio. Despite the slightly grainy image, it sure packs in a lot of hard action for this theatrical trailer, that really gives you a brilliant view of this film, to the point it makes you want to view the real macho testosterone ‘CON AIR’ film.

Finally, here is another Jerry Bruckheimer high powered production value film and therefore another highly explosive rollercoaster ride of this always rapid all action film! ‘CON AIR’ picks up basically where the film 'The Rock' has ceased and offers even more breathless action and this time mainly in the air. Nicolas Cage maybe the hero throughout the film, while John Malkovich is perfectly cast to be the disgusting villain again. To add other forms of ingredients into this rollercoaster ride, on top of all that we have John Cusack and Steve Buscemi to add some familiar faces, to counteract especially the performer of nasty macho felons who clearly had their fun and delightfully over-acting personified. With such exaggerated story line, ‘CON AIR’ is the best 1990s popcorn cinema. Sit down (and do not forget to buckle up!). Switch off the brain and have a good over the top time! The film can also be technically convincing, since ‘CON AIR,’ after all is a 1997 film, but still looks up-to-date and especially with a very good and excellent 1080p image quality and an even more powerful sound design. Sadly there are only two extras as an added bonus that has only a short run length and very poor standard definition presentation with only a slight inadequate impression. Fans of this immensely exaggerated over the top genre action cinema à la Jerry Bruckheimer will certainly not let down with this truly spectacular Blu-ray disc release is not to be missed! Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 October 2007
Generally I'm not a fan of Hollywood blockbuster action movies. These days they mostly rely on CGI effects, have no characterisation and really are only worth seeing once. Con Air is the exception to that rule. I must have watched this film 7 or 8 times in the first five years after it came out.

The main reason its so watchable is the cast: Nicholas Cage, John Cusack, John Malkovich and Steve Buscemi are all, given the right material, excellent actors. Here they are put to good use. Cage is a US Ranger hitching a lift back in a airbourne jail/transport plane. He's just been released from prison, but don't worry he's a good guy. The rest of the plane is full of the baddest of Americas bad criminals. Some of them, like Buscemi's Garland Greene (an appalling serial killer) are complete fruitcakes and he arrives on the plane in a secure steel box. Buscemi is brilliant. He only has a few lines of dialog in the whole film and steals the acting honours from the rest of the cast. Naturally the plane full criminals escape and all hell breaks loose. Fortunately inbetween the carnage and violence there are also a few nice comedic touches as well, which is relief.

The ending is perhaps the weakest point of the film where it does degenerate into a typical blockbuster movie. Overall though, its great entertainment thats in a different class from most bloated blockbusters. This is a rollercoaster ride you won't want to get off....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Cameron Poe' ( Nicholas Cage ) has served his time, he is to be taken home on a plane which is used to carry prison transfers, hardened villains serving 'life'
The trip turns sour when the plane is taken over by the prisoners after a violent struggle with the guards.
'Cameron' has to hit a credible balance to protect a friend and surviving guards, not to mention himself.
It become an action-packed roller-coaster ride coupled with some great 'finale' special effects to enjoy.
The casting is brilliant especially the different characters among the villains -
'Malkovich' and 'Cage' are quite simply magnificent in this superb movie.
If you have never seen the film you have a treat in store, if like me you haven't watched it for some time it's worth 're-visiting' on this format. (Picture quality certainly sharper than on DVD)
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
It's funny to say that I had the chance to watch this movie only in 2013! It is a must see classic for lovers of action movies. Nicolas Cage, John Malkovitch, John Cusak, and all cast were great. The blu-ray rendering delivered well and I enjoyed every bit of it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
What can I say?

Love this film - I had this sent as a gift to my daughter and we both love how terrible and yet how good this film is!

I just hope I get to see my Daddy on July 14th!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
i bought this DVD as i seen it once and i loved it and i still cannot get enough of this film, i would recommend to anyone who hasnt seen it its good and specially as its the extended version too. worth the money and the watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
All those who have seen a Jerry Bruckheimer produced movie (not forgetting the late Don Simpson), certainly know what to expect - unless they've been on a different planet - and they aren't going to be disappointed here!.

To call this "another Die Hard" won't do it justice, say its an action movie with "merit" is most likely going to do that : and with equally good films like Crimson Tide and Enemy of the State etc (also with the same producers and released in the extended editions), customers won't have many issues in selecting good entertainment within their DVD collection!.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)