Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff - but I would prefer the whole series
As a collection of sketches, this is outstanding - some of the all-time Python classics are here, including Bicycle Repair Man, Upper Class Twit of the Year, Nudge Nudge and many others from the first series. Some of the additions - such as the Karaoke Lumberjack Song -are nice to have, but if there's one thing that stops me giving it the top rating it's that I'd have...
Published on 5 Jun 2001 by R. Weir

versus
73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't bother unless....
If you are a casual python fan, who just likes the famous sketches that everyone knows about then this dvd is for you. If you are serious about comedy and love python then don't bother.
All the sketches are shown totally out of context and lot's of brilliant sketches have been ommitted. Admittely this is not the fault of whoever put this package together, the whole...
Published on 26 Dec 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff - but I would prefer the whole series, 5 Jun 2001
By 
R. Weir "pooliealbatross" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a collection of sketches, this is outstanding - some of the all-time Python classics are here, including Bicycle Repair Man, Upper Class Twit of the Year, Nudge Nudge and many others from the first series. Some of the additions - such as the Karaoke Lumberjack Song -are nice to have, but if there's one thing that stops me giving it the top rating it's that I'd have preferred to forgo the extras if it meant having each episode complete. Yes Python is hit and miss in places, but looking at what's left out - Johann Gombolputty.... of Ulm, for example - and the use of repetition in some episodes (How to recognise different types of tree from quite a long way away) makes me want to have the lot, not just selected slices no matter how good. This approach could cause havoc with for example the Spanish Inquisition, who appear several times in one episode of series 2, or the Bishop rehearsing his one line who appears in several different episodes.
None of this is particualarly a reflection of the quality of the material - which is excellent - and if you're just interested in having the best known sketches then this is ideal - however for those of us who want the whole lot on DVD this is at best a stop-gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't bother unless...., 26 Dec 2004
By A Customer
If you are a casual python fan, who just likes the famous sketches that everyone knows about then this dvd is for you. If you are serious about comedy and love python then don't bother.
All the sketches are shown totally out of context and lot's of brilliant sketches have been ommitted. Admittely this is not the fault of whoever put this package together, the whole point is that you cannot do the best of monty python. How can you reduce over 24 hours worth of material and do it justice in just 4 hours. It's not possible, and it is evident here.
The material itself is 5 stars, the package is no stars, it's that simple. So if you want the real thing it's worth importing the mega set from america. It's region 0 so it plays in any dvd player, I have one and it plays in my region 2 dvd player.
Watching the episodes as they were meant to be seen is the only way to watch Python. And for anyone serious about comedy then Python is a must have. 90% of comedy that was made after python could not exist without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy DVD of a Comedy Classic, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This compilation of sketches from the first series of 'Monty Python's Flying Circus' is excellent in its own right - it has all the fondly-remembered favourites from the first series, including 'The Lumberjack Song', 'The Upper Class Twit of the Year Show', and of course, 'The Parrot Sketch'. Good enough in its own right, but the presentation of the DVD is what makes it really special. The picture and sound quality is excellent, and together with a decent ( albeit limited ) compendium of extras, including a 'Karaoke Lumberjack Song' feature, 'Palindromes' and the original Radio Times billing for the show, this is a must-buy DVD. Roll on Volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Python, 26 Feb 2003
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - Series 1 Vol.1 [VHS] [1969] (VHS Tape)
We kick off here in October 1969, where the world was first introduced to the brilliance of Monty Python! John Cleese appears first, as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, hosting the "Famous Deaths" sketch (Ghengis Khan, Lord Nelson, etc...)
Highlights of each of the 4 episodes are:
1) Italian Lesson (with Italian students)
The world's funniest joke
2) Flying sheep
The man with 3 buttocks (Mr. Frampton)
Marriage Guidance Councellor
The Wacky Queen
3) How to Recognise Different Trees from Quite a Long Way Away (eg. Larch)
Court Scene (Witness in coffin)
Bicycle Repair Man
Restaurant Sketch (dirty fork)
Seduced Milkmen (imprisoned in lady's bedroom)
Kidnapped Newsreader (including an amazing sequence with John Cleese being driven down the motorway on the back of a trailer - still reading the news at his desk!)
Nudge Nudge
4) Self Defence against Fresh Fruit
Secret Service Dentists (Lemming of the BDA)
All in all some excellent sketches here, but the real quality comes in series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some extremely funny and classic sketches, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
We watched this on DVD and enjoyed it thoroughly. Some of the sketches are real classics and had us in stitches! Especially the bicycle repair man sketch and the hell's grannies! I would recommend this to all python fans, or even just any-one with a wierd enough sense of humour to appreciate this kind of thing. I think that you would have to buy the whole collection in order to have all the old classics, like the ministry of silly walks, etc. and I can't wait until these are also available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive box set with quality bonuses, 7 Mar 2004
This collection offers superb value for money. Do the math and it works out at under 6 pounds per DVD.
Each of the 3 "Best Of" DVDs are 90 minutes each and are packed with only the classic Python material. Much as I love the Pythons there was an awful lot of "padding out" in the TV series to make it run to 45 x 30 minute episodes (the last 6 without John Cleese). But the 4 and a half hours on offer here are the absolute best.
The fourth "Live At Aspen" DVD is a real bonus though.
Not only do you get the hour long Live At Aspen show but also the 2 hours of new material which was made for the BBCs Python night back in 1999. These are a 50 minute "Its...The Monty Python Story" (presented by Eddie Izzard), a 30 minute "From Spam To Sperm (presented by Meat Loaf and about the band's musical career), 20 minutes of new sketches made in 1999, a 20 minute tour with Michael Palin through Pythonland (showing where the series was filmed)
Which makes this collection something like 7 and a half hours long. Certainly great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python's flying circus vol. 1, 9 April 2006
This DVD is hilarious from start to finish. All the sketches are great, but my personal favourites are: 'Hell's grannies', 'Storytime', 'Kilimanjaro', 'Dirty fork', and of course, the famous 'Parrot sketch'! It will be interesting to see how the other series of 'Flying circus' compare to this one.
My only criticisms of this DVD would be that the special features are somewhat limited (though I think the sing-a-long version of the 'Lumberjack song' is a good addition!), and also I think it's a shame that you don't get the full 1st series- it would have been nice to see the full selection of sketches in the first series. However, these are only minor criticisms, and all in all I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off, 24 Jan 2004
By 
a g s bishop (Bath United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Let's be clear that the one star rating is not a reflection of the material here - Monty Python is still one of the best, and boldest, comedy series of all time. But the BBC are seemingly reluctant to acknowledge this, and so we get another re-release of a best-of compilation, rather than the full 45 half-hour programmes we deserve. There may be complicated rights issues at work for all I know, but why are all the episodes available on Region 1, whilst in the UK we get some poorly edited botch job? For god's sake "Two Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps" is available on DVD and Python isn't? Doesn't that sum up the BBC for you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The very best sketches of Monty Python's Flying 2nd Series, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Can you remember the dark ages of the '70s... Oil shortage, and of course Monty Python, the greatest comedy-group ever. This video contains sketches from their second series op Flying Circus. 'The ministry of Silly Walks', 'The Bisshop' and 'Spanish Inquisition' are only few of the hillarious masterpieces on the tape. If you need a laugh, you need this tape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The video contains the best sketches of series 3 and 4 of MP, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
On this tape you'll find only the best, hand-picked clips of Python comedy. Some of them are the 'Summarise Proust Competition' and of course the unforgettable 'Dennis Moore'. 'A quite controversial look on the world' and some 'French Osteopaths' are also, among with many more sketches, are included. Everything is stiched together by the animations of Mr Gilliam. Every true fan should own the 3 volumes (yes, there are 2 more available at Amazon.co.uk) of The Best Of Monty Python's Flying Cirus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Flying Circus - Series 1 Vol.1 [VHS] [1969]
Monty Python's Flying Circus - Series 1 Vol.1 [VHS] [1969] by Terry Gilliam|John Howard Davies|Graham Chapman|John Cleese (VHS Tape - 1994)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews