Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Raimi's Spaghetti Western
I'm not usually a fan of westerns but this well-paced film held my attention throughout. It has a unique look and is brilliantly and imaginatively photographed and choreographed. The setting has as much character as the actors, and you can enjoy all the details on Blu-Ray. Jaw-dropping moments, besides the gunfights themselves, included Sharon Stone storming upstairs in...
Published on 9 Feb. 2010 by S. Day

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some disappointment
I'm somewhat of a western enthusiast but I never enjoyed this film very much. There is an unwritten boarderline with how westerns should go in my world. This is not a statement which claims to predict story endings, I'd never attempt to do that because of director creativity. There is something underliningly unsavoury felt when watching this film. The actors act well, the...
Published on 13 Jun. 2010 by Mr. M. G. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Raimi's Spaghetti Western, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
S. Day (Ewell, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not usually a fan of westerns but this well-paced film held my attention throughout. It has a unique look and is brilliantly and imaginatively photographed and choreographed. The setting has as much character as the actors, and you can enjoy all the details on Blu-Ray. Jaw-dropping moments, besides the gunfights themselves, included Sharon Stone storming upstairs in the saloon to the bordello (crammed with background happenings), and every time you got a wide shot of the scenery behind the actors.

It is a little disappointing that there are no extra features. All you get is a fine transfer of the film itself, with English, Spanish and Italian (if memory serves) Dolby TrueHD sound. But this is a film you'll want to savour the look of even in the absence of a commentary track or featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray, 2 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie on Blu-Ray is great -- what an underrated movie. AQ and PQ are really good. I live in the US and bought from Amazon UK to get the deleted scenes that were removed from the US version. I'm really glad I bought the UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TQATD: Blu-ray---"I gave him a way out, he wouldn't take it"--- yeahhh, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
Maziar (NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok not the best western ever made but certainly good enough and worth every penny of the £7 asking price for a Blu-ray movie of this quality. Great cast (Sharon stone looks her hottest ever), nice 1 liners (e.g."takes a lot to scare me, I love the sensation" and "wanna play poker with me little lady"? ...... "looks like you're having a great time playing with yourself") and a superb colour palate of golds, sandy browns and light oranges, which make for a very distinctive but memorable look and feel of the whole movie.
The Blu-ray transfer is a fairly decent job considering the age of the movie and the upgrade in picture quality compared to the DVD is noticeable. The picture nevertheless looked very slightly grainy in places, which is why I have only given 4 stars. The Dolby trueHD 5.1 audio is good especially if you have a decent surround sound setup. So is it worth the upgrade from a DVD? Imo yes. There are no fancy extras on the disc but for me that's a minor niggle. A great watch at a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You may be unexpectedly surprised..., 25 Sept. 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad that I have the chance to be the first reviewer of this movie, for in general it was considered as a failure both for S Stone and S Raimi to resurrect style and hype of spaghetti-westerns.Despite its several flaws (like numerous annoying shots of the main characters' eyes staring intently at each other to enhance suspense, Ms Stone's at times blank face when it should reflect stronger emotions, some characters so bad and revolting that they make you chuckle), I've seen it for the second time and it made me grab my chair in childish excitement.
The plot is stark simple (see above, but in short a dozen rascals participating in a lethal shooting contest till last man standing), as well as the reasons driving the main characters to participate in the murderous contest: Ms Stone - to avenge her father, the Kid (L d Caprio) - to win his father's respect, Herod (J Hackman) - to keep townsfolk submissive and to teach his best and repented "pupil" Cort (R Crow) a lesson of abeyance, others - for money (but they don't matter).
True, leading actors carry out the plot on their steady shoulders: * R. Crow emanates sexual charisma and suppressed prowess (long before world wide fame as macho Maximus the Gladiator) even if he spends all the movie shackled and beaten. ...*L de Caprio is well into the shape of boyish and outside haughty/inside weak-trying-to-prove-he's-better-than-his-father, long before downpour of post-Titanic fame. *J Hackman isthe perfect scoundrel,ageing scavenger, full stop. As to * Sh Stone, she remains one of the sassiest and talented actresses for me(praise her, fore she spends 2/3 of the movie rather disheveled), despite several movie flops she's participated in. She's carried her role well, with mixed feelings of despair, indifference and revulsion (at least I can't imagine any other actress in this role).
The end is unexpected and is not a usual annoying happy-end. What more do you need? Watch and enjoy and don't compare this movie with any earlier masterpieces. ...it may count S Raimi's best movie so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great classic of this genre, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review? Gene Hackmann, Russel Crow, Leo DiCaprio and stunning Sharon - for those for whom it's not enough: plenty of action, packing story, great acting and the "good, old days" - as for me this is one the "must haves". And with blu ray great transfer, the picture is clean and sharp, and you hear the bullets whistling as if you where there...

GREAT STUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate westerns, so why do i love this one? - by EML, 8 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Blimey.
Sam Raimi does it again, and makes a great movie from very poor pickings. His innovative direcorial style and creative minimalist use of SFX make this a surprising visual treat.- His cinematographer must have been working hard to get the lighting right on 99% of the shots, as most of the movie is shot outdoors. -the more money in the kitty, the more external shots.
Stone isn't a strong lead, but is well supported by her co stars, Hackman, Dicaprio, and Crowe in his first Hollywood role.
The film is typical of the nineties, i mean when have you ever seen a decent female cowboy in a mainstream Hollywood movie?- Political correctness enters the movie making arena!
As is always the way with Raimi, good and evil battle it out, while neither side are particularly complex, it's still fun predicting the outcome.
The slightly cliched costume choice and the (at times) cheesy dialogue do not hamper the film as much as you might think, and the steamy scene between Crowe and Stone makes it even more appealing. (Producer Stone actually put production on hold to wait for Crowe to finish filming in Oz)
Memorable for the gender role reversal, seeing a woman get tough, and most of all, the amazing clean teeth of the goodies, compared to the blacked up teeth of the baddies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Also into town rides a beautiful woman, Ellen (SHARON STONE), 21 Nov. 2014
Anybody seeking a gritty, realistic Western would do well to steer well clear of THE QUICK AND THE DEAD! Instead, Director SAM RAIMI takes us on a thrilling roller coaster ride of entertainment which, if not authentic, at least brings a fresh perspective to the genre.

In the town of Redemption, self-proclaimed Mayor and ruler Herod (a suitably nasty GENE HACKMAN) has a novel way of retaining power by holding an annual no-holds-barred shooting contest. This roots out potential rivals and helps placate the populace, who he taxes heavily. A small fortune in cash is up for grabs and gunmen from many miles around journey to Redemption in order to win the prize.

This year's contestants include Herod's own son, Fee "The Kid" (LEONARDO DiCAPRIO), dandy Ace Hanlon (LANCE HENRIKSEN), veteran soldier Clay Cantrell (KEITH DAVID) and reluctant participant, outlaw-turned-preacher Cort (RUSSEL CROWE). Also into town rides a beautiful woman, Ellen (SHARON STONE), who may well have interior motives for entering the deadly contest.

What follows is a series of well-staged shoot-outs between the various gunfighters using clever zooms, pans and weird camera angles (especially of clock faces) to help heighten the tension. At this the film is highly effective. Gone, too, are the clichéd one bullet duels, as here several shots are often necessary to conclude many of the encounters which highlights the problems with late 1800's firearms.

Unfortunately some of the more interesting characters such as Sergeant Cantrell, card-trickster Hanlon and "invincible" Indian Spotted Horse are underused while there is much emphasis on the blossoming relationship between Cort and Ellen. Reasons for her arrival at Redemption and participation in the contest are at least explained in a series of flashbacks, featuring GARY SINISE in a small cameo role.

The only Special Feature to speak of is the Original Theatrical Trailer. Nothing else is included at all which, considering the strength of the cast involved, is highly disappointing. Where, for example, are the deleted scenes and Making Of... documentary? Perhaps a Posse should be sent after the DVD producers!

Despite the lack of extras, the film itself is well worth a view especially at budget price. STONE still looks great and DiCAPRIO fresh-faced, while action fans will enjoy the numerous fire-fights - some of which are rather gory - and forgive the film for its lack of authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raimi's Western attempt..., 26 Jan. 2010
Before becoming the director of the Spider-man franchise and an executive producer of the American TV show Spartacus: Blood and Sand Sam Raimi played homage to the spaghetti westerns of Sergio Leone with this star vehicle for Sharon Stone, the story is partly told in flashback just as Leone did in a Few Dollars and Once upon a time in the West, the main part of the tale is centred on a shooting contest which is held in a town controlled by the tyrant Herod.

Herod is portrayed by Gene Hackman who is obsessed with getting the Cort character played by Russell Crowe to take part and showing all the townspeople not go against his rule.

Leonardo DiCaprio role is that of "The Kid" who thinks he is the son of Herod this adds some laboured tension between them, Herod denying all knowledge of him and look- out for "C.S.I. New York's" Gary Sinise in a small but key role.

Sharon Stone doesn't quite pull the role off but does look great in the costumes I can't help but think Raimi would have better served with Sigourney Weaver in the main role as she has the physical size and acting chops to play the Ellen part, but for all its short comings I was entertained for the whole of its running time of 103 minutes of this DVD and the 5.1 surround sound was mixed so as to make the gunfire to really pop out of the speakers but the film transfer is a little grainy in places but it was released in 2005 on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some disappointment, 13 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. M. G. Walker "Cowboy" (South Humberside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm somewhat of a western enthusiast but I never enjoyed this film very much. There is an unwritten boarderline with how westerns should go in my world. This is not a statement which claims to predict story endings, I'd never attempt to do that because of director creativity. There is something underliningly unsavoury felt when watching this film. The actors act well, the storyline has some potential and there has been a little thought to detail (although I can't imagine why anyone would wish to live in such a place). I guess then its the special effects. The director has tried to create some code of honour from a group of gunfighters who, when you watch them; have not code at all. If it was reclassified as a horror flick, it would do much better. If you're looking for a good western I would'nt recommend this. Instead, try Broken trail, open range or Lonesome dove which will entertain you much better. I did watch this film, but I'll never watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and the 'dread' (ful), 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. P. Springer "Tubby F.G." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shame really, impressive film title and cast add's to excited anticipation for this movie. Unfortunately, as with the premis of the film, the protagonists taking part in 'the contest', the crux of the film, are presented, and from there unfortunately, the predictability of the plot presents itself, all singing and dancing with 'bells & whistles'. You see the participants and immeadiately deduce who will be killed off and who will remain at the films' end. Most annoying is director' Raimi's fascination with Ms Stone, as she is in virtually every shot/scene, with Mr Crowe almost as popular. A heavy-handed plot and an outcome so glaringly obvious, weak sub-plots and flashbacks will enable a clued-up' viewer to predict the movie's end. Hopefully I've reviewed this without giving away any of the storyline/plot, and do note, this is only my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quick and the Dead [VHS]
Quick and the Dead [VHS] by Sam Raimi (VHS Tape - 1996)
£9.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews