Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality Jack yet!
The re-mastering looks great in high-def and the sound is great too, with depth and detail to the music, singing and voices. There are also plenty of extras for the film buffs & Burton fans.

What a coincidence that it's been released just before Halloween! Having said that it works as a Christmas movie too as the people of Christmas Town are also involved,...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by Cheatin' Jockey

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film.... Product not as shown in picture
I ordered this expecting special edition with two disks as in the picture but received a flimsy case with just one disk!
Great film but if you are buying it and expect what is in the picture think again!
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's children throwing snowballs, instead of throwing heads...", 14 July 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The gothic style of this excellent film has that trademark Tim Burton feel to it, his story is brought to life by animation fan Henry Selick who directs this gloriously dark tale of the pumpkin king who becomes disillusioned by the yearly monotony of Halloween and decides to have a go at running Christmas instead.

I'm a massive fan of stop-motion and this is a beautifully crafted film rich in talent and textures. The movements are fluid but with that staggered quality which gives stop-motion that otherworldly feel. A dark colour palette and a common aesthetic theme throughout ensure a visual quality which resembles a dark fairytale. There's plenty of bleak imagery here and it's gloriously gruesome at times, for example; a child unwrapping a dismembered head on Christmas morning. The film is steeped in comedy too, not slapstick or obvious one-liners, instead we get subtle visual gags (a two-faced mayor, an enthusiastically decorated yet clearly dead Christmas tree) - little things which don't always register the first time but pay off during repeat viewings.

The models, particularly Jack, are very expressive. Facial expressions and body language are utilised to make the characters feel real, with Danny Elfman's excellent score and songs injecting even more personality. Elfman himself provides the singing voice of Jack and his vocal abilities are genuinely impressive, I never fail to share Jack's childlike wonder when he sings the films most rousing number "What's this?". The songs are incredibly catchy and after watching the film it's pretty much impossible to stop humming them, there's a great range of styles too ranging from melancholy musings on the banality of life, upbeat numbers designed to inspire the folk of Halloween town, and also a great bit of Oogie Boogie!

The overall story is heart-warming without being schmaltzy, there's a blossoming romance here too and again, it's handled well and never feels cheesy. I know some consider this to be too scary a film for young children, my own children were introduced to it at a young age and they were scared but captivated at the same time. Personally I think it's healthy for children to watch something which takes them outside their comfort zone (Doctor Who for example) rather than watching the usual saccharine Disney fare - and this Disney musical contains infinitely more talent and sheer creative energy than their more modern sing-song High School Musical titles. I know which I'd prefer to watch along with my children, and this magical film has become staple family viewing on rainy days over the last few years.

This Blu-Ray transfer is a noticeable improvement over the DVD. If this had been a CGI effort then high-def would simply have highlighted the lack of small detail (for an early nineties lowish-budget film ), but as the film is produced using hand manipulated models, the landscapes and props enjoy much deeper textures. Sometimes the handmade aspect of the film is clear to see and that is not a bad thing, the whole feature looks and feels like a labour of love rather than a formulaic sing-a-long flick. Jack's head reflects the light and is usually a bit hazy, that's nothing to do with the high-def transfer however, it's simply a result of photographing a well-lit, bright white object in the middle of an otherwise muted set. On Blu-Ray the darker scenes show much more detail than on the previously released DVDs, and the Christmas Town "What's This?" routine looks absolutely superb with lights and bright colours seemingly even more vivid in comparison to the greys and browns of Halloween Town. There are plenty of great bonus features here too - the original Tim Burton poem which was the inspiration for the film is read by Christopher Lee and accompanied by visuals which show how dark the initial vision was. It's a great 'origins' piece and it's great to watch it before the 'making of' features which show the ideas behind the film sets used. My personal favourites of the goodies available are 'Vincent' and 'Frankenweenie' two Tim Burton short films which are definitely worth watching and show how Burton's trademark style was very much in force before he broke through. The optional brief 'introduction to the film by Tim Burton' seems a bit unnecessary though and simply adds another level of menu before you get to play the film!

In a nutshell: I was thirteen when I first saw this and I absolutely loved it, I'm in my thirties now and still adore The Nightmare Before Christmas. It's charm has also won over my kids and I'm sure it will become a firm favourite for their children too. A magical animated tale which has become a modern cult classic, don't wait until Halloween or Christmas, treat yourself to this whimsical fantasy any time of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film of all time!, 27 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I first saw the Nightmare Before Christmas at the cinema when I was 14, and I have been captivated ever since. The beauty of the animation and the feeling behind the characters moves me time and time again. If you've ever fought to find yourself another life, or loved someone from a distance, or if you just love the bizzare wit of Tim Burton, then I highly reccommend this film. Cartoons are never just for children1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic surrealism and Musical genius at its very best, 18 Aug 2003
I first saw this film when I was 8 and this is still one of the best films I have ever seen, however I must say for differant reasons since then.
On first viewing of the film it was not only the way each character on screen was superbly brought to life with wonderful voice acting but also the claymation used for the film which gives it such a wonderfully unique and twisted looking setting for such a story to be told.
All of the main characters within the film are superb during not only dialogue but also while singing the songs that they have throughout. Danny Elfman and Tim Burton have once again put together a remarkable film with the superb directoral view of the dark and romantic gothic look that Tim Burton gives to his films but also to the way the score, wonderful in its own rite, only enhances every scene in the film.
Danny Elfman as Jack is sublime and this is surely one of his better compositions for a film managing to make some of the songs happy and cheerful while singing of severed heads, boiling Santa Clause in a pot and having someone steal christmas so that a new one can be made in the thief's own image..... Truly miraculous film-making and a must have video or dvd for young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film but misleading packaging, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film so I wanted it on DVD. Unforunately it wasn't a "special edition" and the packaging was a simple box and not the flashy one shown on this listing. However, I wasn't too devestated as I wanted to own the film and the price came out as the cheapest option at the time. It would be nice for this listing to be a bit less misleading for those looking for a nice gift etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Nightmare!!, 19 Dec 2011
By 
I keep buying copies of this film in every format as they are released. The latest 3D version is as amazing as ever. Tim Burton's magical world combines perfectly the delicate, vulnerable and sinister all on the one palate. A must have in any collection. The 3D BD version is great and shows the care taken in transferring the material to 3D. 3D suits the animation perfectly. But having said that I would happily watch it in any format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nightmare before xmas (Blu-ray), 2 Feb 2010
By 
Brf Churchill "BANJOMAN" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love anything Tim Burton does especially his animated films,I alredy have this on SD DVD,Decided to up grade to Blu-ray version, wow total new film experience fantastic transfer so much detail,If you shop around you can get this for under a Tenner well worth it, so much so I got the Corspe Bride as well (see other review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 4 Feb 2009
I had not seen this film until I saw it on Blu ray and I have been blown away. The film is very good and quality is awesome. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best!, 17 Nov 2007
By 
Jackiesmackie "Independently Different" (UK, Blackburn) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I hate kids films, with a vengeance. Sitting through a Disney film makes me feel ill.
When I first saw this 13 years ago now with my youngest sister I was elated, finally, a good film that had the dark undertones and scares I craved as a teen.
The musical score, unrivaled in any other childrens film I reckon, written by Danny Elfman who is more notably linked to The Simpsons.
The story, well, self explanatory, each 'holiday' has its own world that runs it. The Pumpkin King, Jack Skellington, has been sucessfully running Halloween for years and years. The poor chap is in need of a change, he goes for a walk and ends up somewhere he has never been before, 'Christmas Town'.
Everything appeals to him, his bony heart beats with christmas cheer and he decides that he'd like a crack at 'making christmas'. He has Santa kidnapped and gets his ghoulish minions to start making toys. The chaps in Halloween town do their best, but perhaps inevitably, it ends up rather evil and really, really funny.
The way the film was shot using claymation and photography meant the film took 3 1/2 years to make. No skimp on quality there. The motions are seemless, the songs will stay in your head, and hopefully the cheer will stay in your heart.
Get the family round, young and old and put this film on.
Its sure to delight everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Weird and original it gets 5 stars., 2 Oct 2007
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic animation, typical of Burton's whacky humor and works like a dream. The characters are brilliant especially Jack Skellington and Sally the love interest and the fantastic scenes where the toys are delivered and start attacking the children is just beyond words.

The story involves Jack Skellington trying to make a name for himself in Halloween Town and decides to kidnap Santa Claws the red lobster man so he can deliver his own merry time before seeing the error of his ways.

This is a true classic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special Film, Great Blu-ray, good value combo pack, 19 Mar 2010
By 
jcmacc (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's probably little need to review the film, it's a modern stop-motion classic lovingly made by Henry Selick (Coraline, Corpse Bride) based around Tim Burton's designs for his own poem about the King of Halloween, Jack Skellington, trying to take over Christmas. The visuals are fantastic as is the music written (and sung) by Burton's longtime collaborator Danny Elfman.

The Blu-ray transfer is stunning and is one of the discs you could use to show why Blu-ray is worth the investment above normal DVD. The Blu-ray shows fine details on the figures that DVD just can't pull out and the clarity of the images reveals background depth in the film that are simply missed on the lower resolution formats. The additional detail and depth of view create a 3-D effect all through the film which makes watching it feel like a completely diffrent experience than the DVD, almost like a bigger budget remake.

Bundling a Blu-ray with a DVD version of the same film rarely makes sense, if you've got the high definition version why bother a poorer quality one, but for a "kid's film" having a portable version is actually useful. There's also the nice touch that the DVD is the old special edition so the new commentaries on the Blu-ray aren't repeated and the DVD has unique special features, not reduced versions of the content from the larger capacity disc.

Highly recommended for both content and Blu-ray quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightmare Before Christmas [VHS] [1994]
The Nightmare Before Christmas [VHS] [1994] by Henry Selick (VHS Tape - 2005)
9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews