Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney does "A Christmas Carol" as an animated short
The only real complaint about "Mickey's Christmas Carol" is that it only runs 25 minutes, which means the story gets a bit rushed. The rest, such as the idea that Goofy should play Marley, is just quibbling (Goofy has the height to make it work). On the plus side of the ledger is the on-point casting of Uncle Scrooge McDuck as Ebenezer, Mickey Mouse as Bob Crachit, and...
Published on 20 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film for little ones, but the quality of the tape is bad.
This is my favourite Christmas story but is hard to watch because of the quality of the tape. Good characters
Published on 7 Sep 2012 by Mrs. P. J. Townsend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney does "A Christmas Carol" as an animated short, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The only real complaint about "Mickey's Christmas Carol" is that it only runs 25 minutes, which means the story gets a bit rushed. The rest, such as the idea that Goofy should play Marley, is just quibbling (Goofy has the height to make it work). On the plus side of the ledger is the on-point casting of Uncle Scrooge McDuck as Ebenezer, Mickey Mouse as Bob Crachit, and Jiminy Cricket as the Ghost of Christmas Past. Historically "Mickey's Christmas Carol" was important for Disney because it was the first animated Mickey Mouse short in thirty years. Since these are the Disney characters inhabiting the familiar roles from "A Christmas Carol" by Charles Dickens, you end up with a winning combination of goofy humor and warm sentiments. However, you cannot help but thinking that given the creativity of Disney, even in those dark days six years before "The Little Mermaid" brought back the magic, this could have been a pretty good feature length animated film. Compared to other Disney animated shorts, "Mickey's Christmas Carol" is a five. But compared to other versions of "A Christmas Carol," this one is just short of the top tier. Worth having? Absolutely. But just make sure it is not the first version of this Christmas classic that the small fry see. They should appreciate the original holiday lesson taught by Dickens before they enjoy this more comic version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Short, but it Works, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Loving Dickens' Christmas classic as much as I do, I am surprised to find myself enjoying this short take on it as much as I do. It's probably because I love Mickey and Disney so much.

They have kept the important parts of the story the same. Scrooge (Scrooge McDuck) is a miserable miser who hates Christmas and over works Bob Cratchit (Mickey Mouse). But one Christmas Eve, he is visited by his dead parter Jacob Marley (Goofy) who warns him about three more spirits. Can visits from the Ghosts of Christmas Past (Jiminy Cricket), Present (Willie the Giant), and Future (Pete) help him see the need for compassion?

Since this "short" is just under half an hour, they quite obviously truncated the story. But they hit the most important parts, allowing our emotions to truly be moved. I'll admit, I get chocked up at the end. The animation is wonderful in a way only hand drawn animation can be. While some of the casting is a bit odd (Goofy as Marley?) most of it works. And it is fun spotting all the characters who have blink and you miss them cameos.

About the only serious issue with the film is the ending. Marley and the Ghost of Christmas Future can be frightening. By making Goofy Marley, they make him out to be funny. However, they go overboard at the end in what could be a truly frightening moment for young kids. You will probably want to keep that in mind before letting them watch it.

Obviously, this VHS copy is long of out print, but the movie has made several appearances on DVD. If you love Disney and Dickens, you'll want to find a copy to enjoy year after year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i think this film is amazing. it is realy good and tiny tim is very cute.dont think twice about bying this film.any one who likes disney will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mickey,s christmas coral vhs, 3 April 2009
By 
Kathleen Houston (Northern Ireland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was lucky to find this as they are very hard to get, micke'y christmas carol vhs, it brings the spirit of christmas to young and old. I loved this and loved watching the motions in my wee grandsons face. sad story of christmas "scrooge" if you know the story, with the happy ending of pople sharing and caring at a cold long winter time of the year in england.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good film for little ones, but the quality of the tape is bad., 7 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is my favourite Christmas story but is hard to watch because of the quality of the tape. Good characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very prompt service, suitably packaged. Not a complaint ..., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very prompt service, suitably packaged.
Not a complaint against the supplier as they can only supply whats available, but don't see why this isn't available with English cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS]
Mickey's Christmas Carol [VHS] by Burny Mattinson (VHS Tape - 1993)
Used & New from: £3.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews