Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Slightly annoyed Max"
"Slightly annoyed Max" was Barry Norman's rather dismissive comment on this film when he reviewed it for the BBC. While it is certainly true that Mel Gibson had indeed toned things down quite considerably for this, the third and final outing for Max, the franchise had become mainstream along with its star and so the producers went for a more family friendly view of this...
Published on 2 Dec. 2005 by JA Fairhurst

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madness!
Beyond Thunderdome was a lost opporunity. The feeling at the time was that director George miller had ended up making a maudlin memorial to his friend Byron Kennedy (producer of the first two films) who was tragically killed in a helicopter crash during 1983. If Mad Max 2 is a fuel injected suicide machine this is a battery powered, hollywood-lite, remake. Complete with...
Published on 12 Oct. 2005 by Johnentwistlespout


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Slightly annoyed Max", 2 Dec. 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Slightly annoyed Max" was Barry Norman's rather dismissive comment on this film when he reviewed it for the BBC. While it is certainly true that Mel Gibson had indeed toned things down quite considerably for this, the third and final outing for Max, the franchise had become mainstream along with its star and so the producers went for a more family friendly view of this post nuclear future.

Now reduced to animal drawn vehicles in the main, the opening scene has Max being bushwhacked and his stuff hauled off but his opponents had failed to finish him off - a fatal mistake!

We soon get our first sight of Barter Town where anything can be traded. Barter Town is one of the newly emerging powers in this post nuclear future and rule is split between the mysterious Master who provides electricity for the Town and the all-too-visible Auntie Entity whose roost lets her see all that goes on inside the Town. Max's presence causes the hidden tensions between the two to explode when he finds that the Master has his equipment, Auntie (played with brilliant exuberance by Tina Turner) gets Max into the Thunderdome against Master's henchman the massive Blaster, leading to one of the most inventive fights in cinematic history involving all sorts of weapons from mauls to chainsaws.

There's also a tribe of children, survivors of a final flight before the bombs flew, looking for a saviour to return them to civilisation. Max finds himself cast reluctantly in that role.

This is certainly the most extravagantly designed of the Mad Max films, with Barter Town in particular being wonderfully decadent! It also has something resembling a coherent plot especially when compared with Mad Max 2s pure gorefest. The main sound track is provided by the Royal Phillomonia Orchestra and Tina Turner sings the opening and closing songs with the verve she brings to her stage performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madness!, 12 Oct. 2005
Beyond Thunderdome was a lost opporunity. The feeling at the time was that director George miller had ended up making a maudlin memorial to his friend Byron Kennedy (producer of the first two films) who was tragically killed in a helicopter crash during 1983. If Mad Max 2 is a fuel injected suicide machine this is a battery powered, hollywood-lite, remake. Complete with stupid rock sountrack, depressing supporting cast of unfashionable rock stars and a shot for shot revamp of the classic Mad Max 2 tanker chase...but with a train (a train!) this is a silly, silly film. We even get Bruce Spence coming back in a confused "new" role. I'm only rating this so highly because I love the saga as a whole, for anyone else it really is no better than Waterworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice end to a colourful trilogy, 19 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mad Max - Beyond Thunderdome [VHS] [1985] (VHS Tape)
For followers of this film, chances are likely that you have seen the previous two installments of what rates alonside Star Wars as a near perfect trilogy.
In this third outing our complex anti-hero character 'Max' must do battle with the retrieval of his stolen vehicle, a two-man fighting machine and ultimately the battle to win back his soul as he brings a group of children out from the wildernes into a new life.
Along the way of course there are plenty of neat action pieces and a satisfying train / car chase in the style of its predecessor 'The Road Warrior', which raise up the antae in what is a slighly uneven but ultimately thrilling movie experience.
The return of Bruce Spence's character who played the gyro-plane character in the second one is never explained and is annoying but is a minor quibble over some interesting characters that emerge. Notably from Tina Turner who plays the role of 'Auntie' in a very natural, non-forced acted way, although ultimately it is Mel Gibson's show and he pulls it off with ease but hopefully he will resist any temptation to do a part 4 like he did with the Lethal Weapon series.
I suppose the most striking thing about this film is the set pieces since it provides some nice visual eye candy and the music by Maurice Jarre gives it a nice glossy coat of texture to some of the quieter moments in the film.
Why two directors though i have never quite established but it hasnt affected the overall result and for a film that was released 16 years ago it has stood the test of time and ultimately brings a nice conclusion to the Mad Max series.
The Road Warrior though is still the greatest out of the three, but this one does give it a run for its money and is of better enjoyment for a cinematic experience or a decent TV and sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could've been more shabby!, 9 Feb. 2001
On TV, even '80s films are starting to look like old films, and as action flicks get the most airplay, the thrills are quick to wane. One gets all too used to a faded pan & scan experience, ending up with a lesser impression of the film itself. So with films being spruced up and returned to their original aspect ratios, "a new lease of life" is no empty cliche, and on DVD 'Thunderdome' really thunders. However, despite being awash with terrific set pieces, the film fails to live up to the reputation of its predecessors and methinks that too much money may have been part of the problem. Quite frankly, the saga has lost its edge - the future feels nowhere near as dangerous as in 'The Road Warrior'. And there's the feeling of deja-vu too, in that the tribe of children are merely an extension of the Feral Kid from the previous film and, of course, they're not as effective. Tina Turner proves the real highlight - a true scene stealer. Getting her to stick a song on the end titles would have been completely inappropriate to the first two films. Here, though, given the nature of 'Thunderdome', it sort of fits. The bottom line? It's hard to be rough when there's too much gloss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning, a new hope, 18 Aug. 2004
Beyond Thunderdome is my personal favourite of the Mad Max series for many reasons. The films are set in a post Nuclear Holocaust world where fuel is something to fight for, among other things. This film illustrates how society might begin to reform after such a war. A return to the barter system where skills and products are traded. A return to an "oral tradition," where the tribe's history is remembered and taught to the young. Of course there are always thieves, murderers and someone who is power hungry and want to be in control. Above all it is about what you are prepared to do to survive and still remain human. Tina Turner's Aunty character is the power hungry person and Max is just trying to survive the best he can, however he can. The tribe of children have echoes of the film blue lagoon as they have survived in an innocent manner in a harsh environment. OK Mad Max 2 is a good actioner, and is a no-brainer. This film requires some thought from it's audience and is criticised for having many levels in which to condsider instead of an all out action film we have a film which suggests that even after a tragedy like a Nuclear Holocaust that life will begin to form a new society and maybe just maybe learn from its mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Belief, 21 July 2014
By 
Tony Roberts (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Although I first saw this at the time it was released and enjoyed it then, now many years later I have finally seen it for the second time and found it wanting on so many levels.

Firstly as its part of a series (the third), surely it ought to be on a par with the first two. I mean, if people love the first two, then surely rather than pandering to the Johnny-cum-lately brigade hopping on the Hollywood bandwagon, do what was done before, as that is what is expected. But no, its a watered down version and lacks the guts and soul of the first two.

The biggest complaint I have though are the many plot holes and frankly daft sequences. The scriptwriter clearly built scenes up to an impossible point and then employed the 'deus et machina' solution that speaks of a writer's laziness and lack of detail. I ask myself how come there's a pristine railroad in the Australian desert after a nuclear war? How can a monkey carry a large bottl eof water across said desert and miraculously find Max lying there dying of thirst? I mean, its hardly got a GPS, has it? how can a rickety small aircraft that just about takes two people, suddenly has the ability to carry twelve AND fly through a sandstorm and fly for many miles and happens acrosss the very place they are seeking?

Its all far too contrived and a disappointment to the series. Its like The Lost Boys meets Waterworld meets Conan the Destroyer. Stop trying to cater for the kids and faint-of-heart and get back to the blood and guts of the first two. This is Mad Max, not slightly miffed Max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Max Maxxed., 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Observer (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
I want to hate it.....I need to despise it.
This should have been just so awful but is nearer to a post modern classic.
Once you have come to terms with a big studio turning a cult classic into a franchise. More interested in box ticking rather than creative film making. However, its my contentention that the afore mentioned big studio took a bit of a punt with this one. The main story and aesthetic feel is a continuation of MM2 whilst the sub plot i.e. the band of ferrel children forming a rudimentery society in the back of beyond, is a really creative angle. Although worshiping Mel Gibson like he's some kind of diety, is more than I can stomach. In expanding the story beyond what needed to be delivered they have created a movie far beyond MM1 & MM2. Good characters and a great story.....prerequisites in making a memorable movie.
Which Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max 3, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great bit of acting and film, with excellent performances with Tina Turner and Mel of course.
Plenty of action when they all took to the road.
Recommend you watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscing, 25 Feb. 2015
By 
LT (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having disposed of a mountain of old VHS tapes from the Attic purchased a few of my favourite films of all time on DVD for posterity. Bought used - arrived in excellent condition (Case and DVD.) I look forward to entertaining my Husband and Children (Both adults now!) with this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Men Enter. One Man Leaves., 12 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. Adam Conradie "Maverick" (wmidz uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gibson Takes on The Barbarians of The Post-Nuclear Future, While Tina Turner Plays a Power-Mad Dominatrix.Great 80's Film, And the Best of The Mad Max Tilogy. Just Total Escapism With Excellent Fight Scenes.Good Soundtrack Too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Max - Beyond Thunderdome [VHS] [1985]
Mad Max - Beyond Thunderdome [VHS] [1985] by George Ogilvie (VHS Tape - 2000)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews