Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What have the Romans ever done for us?
John Cleese once said that this film is what he'd most like to be remembered for, which coming from a man who wrote some of the best Python sketches and Fawlty Towers, should tell you something about how good this film is.
Hugely controversial at the time, the subject matter of 'The Life of Brian' was considered strictly taboo in 1979, and even today it can still...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Touring Mars

versus
102 of 115 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Always read the small print
I have steadfastly resisted buying previous versions of this DVD, as the 'extras' are virtually non-existent. Where is the spoof travelogue that accompanied the cinema release (with John Cleese getting increasingly frustrated with the number of scenes including gondolas)? Where is the short Christmas card animation, without which the appearance of the cut-out stagecoach...
Published on 9 July 2004 by John Wyant


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Python comedy, at it's very best., 18 Mar 2011
By 
R. A. Mcneill (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whether your a fan of Python or not, this is the one to have, in my opinion. I've lost count of how many times i've watched it and still come back for more. Every time i see it i notice or hear something that i've missed on previous viewings. Now with the blu-ray version, things can only get better, as the song goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film that has everything, 2 May 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is off the best films of all time and probably, defiantly the greatest comedy films of all times (the only one near is Monty Python and the Holy Grail).
This has a great story line which makes a change for a comedy film. There are laughs everywhere and you will be quoting lines to people for ever. This film takes you in and you won't be able to stop watching it and you will keep watching it again and again so you will get your money's worth out of having a DVD of it.
It hasn't got as much randomness or catoons as Monty Python and the Holy Grail which will make it better for the none Monty Python fan.
This has film is a must have, good script, good story line, brilliant acting, lots of laughs and is a must have because it has everything you want from a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS - I COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING!, 12 Feb 2010
Monty Python: LEGEND!

I saw this on amazon and it brought back so many memories - I just had to buy it! And as soon as the film started I just couldn't stop laughing! The whole film is so funny! A perfect comedy rendition of the story of Jesus - and Christians have no reason to be offended by this content - it has gone down as a definite comedy legend - a must buy for anyone who hasn't seen this masterpiece of a film!

Thanks for reading,

PUNK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my husbands delight, 18 Dec 2009
I bought this DVD as a gift for my Husband, he was thrilled as he had previously been banned from watching Monty Python as I hate it. He can now watch it till his hearts content on his portable DVD player with the ear phones. The package arrived really quickly in a sealed cellophane and padded envelope. The whole purchase process was painless and easy its nice that Amazon do what they say they will do unlike some other companies. thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already have this movie on DVD and decided to see what it looked like in HD with colour correction. Its strange to see this movie in HD, while looking much sharper it didn't add anything to the overall movie experience. If you have the DVD they it's most lightly going to be good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ho Hum, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this in London when it first came out because it was banned in Cornwall where I was a student. However, on seeing it now it is not very funny or clever. Just a film that should be (along with all MP) kept in the museum of British humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film in the world!, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
When I first saw this I thought it was excellent and very well written as well! Some scenes are excellent and made me laugh until it hurt. I heard all about that the film is blasphmous, but I didn't care because I am not a Christian but people who take great offence at this film should just get a sense of humour and get a life as well. There are alot of scenes in the film that are significantly funny but I won't tell you, you'll have to watch it and find out for yourself
The main actors in the film are:
John Cleese
Graham Chapman
Michael Palin
Terry Jones
Terry Gilliam
Eric Idle
They all play different charters in the whole film
But overall this is a funny as hell film and would recommend this comedy to anyone who has a sense of humour, but this film is still funny years later!!!!!!!!!! The Pythons have did it again!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best motion-picture ever!, 16 Oct 2001
This is one of the most sarcastic, macabre parodies I've ever seen! As you can imagine it is a typical Monty Pythons Movie, some people say the best of them all! If you haven't seen this movie, you never had a life! I allways wondered why they didn't produce a DVD-Version, but now my dreams come true! The only thing I wonder is: Do they have a German sound version on that DVD, too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is how all Blu Ray Movies should be.
You can choose the English spoken language without the Hard of hearing subtitles, all respect to them but I for myself do not need more than what is said in the Movie. Decides you get a Latin lesson ( Romans go home) And the extras are a joy to Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Life Of Brian [VHS] [1979]
Monty Python's Life Of Brian [VHS] [1979] by Terry Jones (VHS Tape - 2004)
£14.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews