Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars460
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£7.23+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2001
This DVD has to be the worst I have ever seen in terms of picture quality, the print used is truely awful and it often distracts from the enjoyment of the film.
That said the film itself is still probably the funniest film ever and it puts modern "comedies" to shame.
Buy the video instead and save yourself some money.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Following their great success of their hit comedy sketch show Monty Python's Flying Circus, the Monty Python team decided to translate their work to the big screen which back then seemed like a huge risk. And Now For Something Completely Different was basically just a movie combining some of their most famous sketches which mainly grabbed the attention of audiences outside of the UK. Their first official Monty Python and the Holy Grail was hugely well received and remains popular to this day.

When Monty Python's Life of Brian came out their was a lot of controversy over the film due to its story about a man who is mistaken for the Messiah. However in the years following its release it too has become a great hit and in my opinion stands as the best of the Monty Python films. It features some of the funniest moments in movie history including the stoning, What Have the Romans Ever Done For Us, Bigus Dickus, haggling ('He's offering me 14 for this!') and of course 'Always Look On The Bright Side of Life'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2006
Greatest comedy ever? Maybe! Comedies get dated very quickly, but yet this wonderful cutting, social and political comedy will have you rolling arounding in side-splitting agony more than a quarter century after its release.

The Python gan were famed for the series the Flying Circus and The Search for the Holy Grail is also superb but Life of Brian proved to be their masterpiece. Despite managing to offend a lot of people by parodying the life of Christ, they managed to make the rest of the world laugh with wonderful characters are one of the most quotable scripts ever written. Among the best and most memorable lines are:

Brian's mum: 'He's not the Messiah, he's a very naughty boy'

Pontius Pilate: 'This man commands a cwack legion. He wanks as high as any in Wome'

Prisoner: 'I'm Brian and so's my wife'

Reg: 'So apart from the roads, the wine, law and order, medicine, education, irrigation and public health...what've the Romans ever done for us?'

How do you get your graffiti to be grammatically correct? What is Biggus Dickus's wife called? Why should you always haggle? And just how many pressure groups are their in ancient Rome?

The acting is OTT in the extreme and perfectly done with the greatest comic script ever. It'll probably be making people laugh long into this century.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
That movie about someone who was not the Messiah - but simply a naughty boy. And boy is it hilarious - non-repulsive and magical, yet banned in Norway upon theatrical release. (Swedes - like me - have always had a much better sense of humor than the people in our brother-land, and do we have proofs!) I bet you have seen the arch-bishop - the real Anglical one, that is, - stating that the movie is blasphemous. He was, of course, blatantly wrong. This is heart-warning, magically funny as well as serious, to the point of happy tears falling continuously. This is in my top-ten ever, for so many reasons. It is perhaps the Python's crowning achievement, in the midst of dear Chapman's alcoholism and reluctance to be a star. It is magically accurate in its depiction of religious stupidities in all shapes. It is simply a drop-dead killer movie. Can't live without it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
When this film first came out & I saw it at the cinema, I thought I would be struck down by the Almighty for laughing at religion. But now I am older & wiser (and not struck down!) & see clearly that I wasn't laughing at religion but the man-made nonsense around it. This film is my 100% favourite of all time. It makes me laugh every single time I see it and I watch it if I'm down, for therapeutic purposes. There are so many things that are as true now as then - the throng of people all shouting, 'yes, we are all individuals' is classic. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Monty Python boys have had their ups and downs – mainly within their ranks, while their output has remained pretty solid – from revolutionising TV comedy with their surreal and ‘anything can happen’ way of doing things to their big-screen epics (and by that I mean ‘The Holy Grail’ and, of course, ‘The Life of Brian’ (notice how I kind of forgot The Meaning of Life – which is basically a sketch show where some scenes work better than others).

I was pretty young when Brian hit the cinemas and I didn’t know anything about it – only that I wasn’t allowed to watch it (not just because I was about fifteen years too young) but because my local cinema refused to show it and you had to drive to the next town to see it. Yes, it’s that (allegedly) controversial. The reason being is because it makes fun of Jesus/Christianity. Only it doesn’t. That’s basically what people who didn’t see it and didn’t want to like it said about it. Yes, it is set during Jesus’ time (and Jesus himself is never ridiculed, shown only twice – once as an infant surrounded by angels the way you’d see in any nativity play and once on a hillside, preaching to his numerous followers).

No, Life of Brian – as you may have guessed by the title – is a film about Brian – just an average guy of the time who becomes hopelessly out of his depth when he’s accidentally mistaken for the messiah. What follows is typical madcap Monty Python humour. No, it never makes fun of Christianity, only the way things (in that time period) can be misinterpreted and distorted into what others want them to be.

If you like Monty Python – you’ll love this. If you like comedy – you’ll like this. If you haven’t seen it yet and have an appreciation for satire – you’ll also love this. There are so many classic scenes and phrases that you’ve probably already heard and yet never known where they come from contained within. There’s hard to pick a stand-alone performance from the cast – John Cleese’s height and general loudness puts him up there, but, seriously, it’s well and truly a team effort.

Life of Brian is one of those rarest of films – one that stands up to the tests of time and is still as relevant and funny today as it was when I wasn’t allowed to watch it. Brian may not be the chosen one, but this film certainly should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Undoubtedly The Python's finest moments on the big screen and one of the funniest comedy movies ever made, having said that Python is a strand of comedy that you either love or loathe, but for me a lifelong fan, this is the best they ever did. At the time of release back in 79' it did cause some controversy and was accused of blasphemy, this film was not mocking Christ , Christianity or Christians, but mocking those who misinterpreted and. twisted what they heard and used for their own ends. Seems what was being mocked 36 years ago is still going on now in 2015, but with more sinister overtones, and of course, here in the 21st century a movie of this subject matter could now never be made. Indeed the film itself at the time almost didn't get made at all when EMI backed out at the last minute, after, as Eric Idle recalled:" Lord Delfont (head of EMI) actually read one of the scripts which was ours". It was George Harrison who stepped in, got the money and of Brian, so was born Handmade Films. There are some classic scenes in this movie, for me it's Pontious Pilate with his speech impediment (thwow him to the fwoor!) and his vewy good fwend in wome Biggus Dickus. Like the legendary parrott sketch there are fans out there who can recite scenes word for word. It is well worth noting and it could be a case of blink and you could miss it, Spike Milligan's cameo and George Harrison's brief appearance, of which Michael Palin said " It must've so disconcerting for George to be in a scene where someone else was being mobbed". Palin also said of George at the time that he'd put the money up because he wanted to see the film, which has to be the world's most expensive cinema ticket. So thanks George, this is one of my favourite movies which I watch at least once a year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
Well it is Christmas, so here's yet another R2 turkey.
Classic comedy, one of the all-time greats on a pathetic shoddy couldn't-care-less Dvd release.
Where's the commentaries,deleted scenes, radio ads, documentary and digital widescreen transfer?
On the far superior R1 Criterion release, that's where............
44 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2004
Other reviews deal with the many and varied virtues of MPLoB, so let me respond to those accusing the Pythons of inciting religious hatred. You may remember at the time the film was launched that it was the victim of a religious witch-hunt, accused of blasphemy, and banned by many local authorities - which only increased its popularity. There was also a famous TV interview where Malcolm Muggeridge and an Archbishop were roundly abusive of the unfortunate Palin and Cleese, who had expected a serious debate on the film's merits.
The Python team certainly hit a raw spot, and the strength of the protests indicated that they hit their target with absolute precision. Anyone with moderate religious sentiments would recognise that this gentle comedy is lampooning the worst excesses of militant religion, therefore the only people likely to be up in arms are those whose beliefs are intolerant and who are never likely to laugh at themselves - the people for whom loving their neighbour and turning the other cheek are alien concepts. In fact, many of the worst excesses of human behaviour have been carrried out in the name of organised religion, so it seems not unreasonable that the behaviour of the followers - rather than the deities - should be the subject of an accurate satire.
But you don't need to analyse this film to enjoy it. There is nothing remotely blasphemous, racist or unpleasant about it - least of all inciting hatred against any individual group. The jokes and sketches both together and separately constitute a brilliantly entertainment, worthy of 5 stars. Who can forget the immortal scenes such as 'what the Romans did for us,' Romans with lisps, Always look on the bright side of life? In fact, the Romans were sent up more than anyone else!
See Life of Brian now and you'll wonder what all the fuss was about!
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2001
The film is one of the funniest made, and certainly the best piece of work from the Python Team.
However, the UK edition on DVD is simply the worst DVD I have bought. It is a very poor video transfer in 4:3, complete with pops, lines and flickers. The sound is muffled and dull. There are no extras, despite many documentaries ( made by Monty Python Ltd) relating to the film.
There is nothing to recommend this DVD over the video release.
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)