Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,038
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£2.49+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2003
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the New Version of the Lion King.
I called Buena Vista Home Entertainment, they informed me that you need to do the following;
Wait for the main film menu to appear, then go to set-up Icon, in set-up go to the Languages Icon and lastly in Language menu you will find Original Version, (just under Hebrew).
Thank you for reading my review and I hope it helps anyone who thinking about buying this DVD or anyone who had the same problem as me.
55 comments|251 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is just a basic release- Disney are just counting on the fact that Lion King hasn't been available on DVD for almost ten years, so people will pay high prices for something which is just the film.

Luckily I had discovered this before I bought the product. If you want a special edition of Lion King, track down the 2003 2-Disc Version. There's extra material to please adult and child enthusiasts alike!
11 comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
VIDEO:

The Lion King comes to blu ray as MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1. I have the first taste of the high definition picture of the Lion King when I watched the trailer of this movie in the Tangled blu ray disc. In the trailer, the picture was simply stunning. Now watching the entire movie in 1080p confirms the fact that the video is pristine and razor sharp, nothing short of spectacular. Colours are bold, vivid, pure and brilliant. Black levels are deep and inky, and contrast is impeccable. Detail and clarity are exceptional. The line art is sharp and clean, and noise is nonexistent - it's just plain beautiful and stunning. (5/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 shows great dynamic range and wonderfully extended lows. The dialogue and atmospheric effects are placed perfectly throughout the soundstage, with absolutely wonderful dynamics, not a second of distortion, not a single off or odd line or sound. Distinction, directionality, localization effects, they're all top notch.

The Lion King is one of the rare movies with 3 Oscar nominated songs. The other movies with 3 Oscar nominated songs are Dreamgirls and Enchanted, but they did not win the Best Original Song. The Lion King did with "Can You Feel The Love Tonight"...a rare feat...3 Oscar nominated songs and won!! As the matter of fact, Hans Zimmer also won an Oscar for Best Music, Original Score.

The voice casting is another triumph, with Matthew Broderick as Adult Simba, James Earl Jones as Mufasa, Nathan Lane as Timon, Jeremy Irons as Scar, Robert Guillaume as Rafiki, Rowan Atkinson as Zazu and Whoopy Goldberg as Shenzi. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

(1) The Lion King has an original budget of $79 million. And its latest Worldwide Box Office Receipt is currently at $783 million!!!
(2) Did you know that the Lion King was originally titled "King of the Jungle"? It was supposed to be about African lions living in the jungle until the production team realized that lions don't live in the jungle.
(3) A few weeks before the film opened, Elton John was given a special screening. Noticing that the film's love song had been left out, he successfully lobbied to have the song put back in. Later, "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" won him an Academy Award for Best Original Song.
(4) Did you also realize that the animators were so impressed with Jeremy Irons's performance that they worked Irons' features into Scar's face.
(5) Rafiki's Swahili message "Asante sana, squash banana, We we nugu mi mi apana" does not mean "You are a baboon, and I'm not." It really means "Thank you, Squash Banana, You are a Dog, and I'm not!"
(6) When Mufasa tells Simba about the Great Kings of the Past if you look at the stars in the wide shot you can see Mickey Mouse.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

In summary, the Lion King remains one of Disney's most beloved animated films. There's love and loss, betrayal and redemption, friendship, innocence, the clash of good and evil. The story is expertly paced, with the heavier, more emotional sequences always given the proper build up, while maintaining a tone that makes even the toughest of moments appropriate and accessible for all ages. It is still a wonderful, family-friendly Disney classic with memorable songs, amazing animation, and a compelling story, with top-notched video and audio. And, looking into the future for Disney's Platinum Releases for 2012, The Lady And The Tramp and Cinderella are coming....

This blu ray disc (2D) is highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE LION KING presents the story of a lion cub's journey to adulthood and acceptance of his royal destiny. Simba (voiced first by Jonathan Taylor Thomas, then by Matthew Broderick) begins life as an honored prince, the son of the powerful King Mufasa (voiced by James Earl Jones). The cub's happy childhood turns tragic when his evil uncle, Scar (voiced by Jeremy Irons), murders Mufasa and drives Simba away from the kingdom. In exile, the young lion befriends the comically bumbling pair of Pumbaa the warthog (voiced by Ernie Sabella) and Timon the meerkat (voiced by Nathan Lane), he and lives a carefree jungle life. As he approaches adulthood, however, he is visited by the spirit of his father, who instructs him to defeat the nefarious Scar and reclaim his rightful throne. Borrowing elements from Hamlet, classical mythology, and African folk tales, THE LION KING tells its mythic coming-of-age tale with a combination of spectacular visuals and lively music, featuring light, rhythmic songs by Elton John and Tim Rice, and a score by Hans Zimmer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Although, yes, I do object to Disney's basic way of profiteering by withdrawing a film from general release for a couple of years and then re-releasing a 3D movie and 'special edition' movie to make yet more money, everybody does it - and would they do it if people were not happy to buy the DVD? No.

What you can't get away from is the simple fact that the Lion King is one of, if not THE, greatest Disney movies of all time. Simple. The animation is beautiful, the musical numbers nothing short of perfection (although this latest DVD does not have the Morning Report song) a great cast as far as animated movies go, a wonderful and meaningful story and a funny script that can be enjoyed by children and adults alike.

The film is loosely based on Shakespear's Hamlet and follows the story of Simba, a young lion cub who is destined to become king of Pride Rock. His evil uncle Scar has other plans however and plots with the hyaenas to eliminate both the King and Simba and become King himself. The result is a wonderful story about duty, growing up and dealing with the past and moving on.

Comedy, musical numbers to die for, beautiful animation, noteworthy cast - This film was not turned into a hit stage musical for nothing and in my opinion this is one of the all time great Disney movies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 April 2006
Disney are known for creating amazing tales but this one, along with the animation the powerful voices for the characters, and the amazing music makes this a truly breathtaking Disney classic!

I saw this film when it came out in the cinema, and I have watched it so many times since then as I think it should be regarded as one of the best animated films out there.

I was lucky enough to get hold of this version of the DVD and I would totally recommend adding it to your list today! One of the best Disney films out there.

I grew up watching Disney films, and have seen most of the classis, but this for me is the ultimate classic. Its got laughs its tear jerking moments and above all it's a film that has proved the test of time and deserves its classic status. So buy it while you can because you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 November 2011
The Lion King Double Play (BluRay +DVD) released in November 2011 is a 5 star product. No doubt in my mind. Picture and Sound quality are superb and the film is a true classic that speaks for itself. However reading through some of the reviews shown here, it appears that they have been mixed up and do not always relate to this package - some relate to Region 1 US read along issues for example. Choose your review with care!
22 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
The Lion King was the first film I saw at the cinema -I was only 6 years old at the time so all I can say that I remember about it that first time for sure is the stampede. More years than I care to remember we got a DVD player and started replacing those videos we still wanted to watch on DVD. But for some reason we couldn't get The Lion King -and as a result the only reason we have a VHS player is to watch the old Lion King copy that is all scratched and sticks because we've watched it too many times.

When it came out again at the cinema me and my 23 year old friends all went to see it opening night-and were way more excited than we had any reason to be. The Lion King is a film for all ages, even if you don't love it because you're it's target age or because you've loved it for 17 years I guarantee you will enjoy this film. It has amazing songs, fantastic characters-brilliant actors, come on Rowan Atkinson, Whoopi Goldberg, Jeremy Irons, Matthew Broderick and James Earl Jones? All together in a film with music by Elton John? What more could you want? Shakespeare? Because we essentially have that

Basically, if you don't love this film...well there's certainly nothing wrong with the film, so that just leaves you..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
this film was as good as believed amazing in 3d delivery was exactly as specified and came in secure packaging. kids loved the 3d experience will definatley purchace more 3d films from this retailer.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2003
This is an excellent DVD from Disney. The only dissapointment is the new sequence 'The Morning Report' as it is extremely obvious it is a different singer singing for Young Simba, and this kind of spoils the new sequence. You shouldn't let this put you off though because it is still interesting to see, and the original version of the film is on the DVD anyway.
The lion king never looked better on DVD. The images are crystal clear with the colour more obvious than ever before.
Theres a whole disk of extras as well as many extras on the disk with the film including a new version of 'Circle of Life' (sang by random stars from the Disney Channel), a 'Which character are you most like?' quiz and many featurettes about the making of the film.
If you liked Disney's previous 'Platinum Edition' offers you'll love this, and if you are a huge fan of the lion king, it is definitely for you!
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.