Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic stuff
I first saw Willow when I was very young, and now, a decade later, it has lost none of its magic for me!
The film tells the story of young Willow Ufgood, the reluctant hero of his Nelwyn village as he is chosen to return a very important Daikini (the Nelwyn word for humans!) baby to her own kind. However, Willow gets a lot more than he bargained for along the way,...
Published on 14 Dec 2002 by Johnson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars of the Rings
There wasn't a truly successful sword and sorcery film until Peter Jackson got into the act, and despite a liberal helping of trolls, brownies, dragons (bearing a bit of an unfortunate resemblance to a two-headed version of the Penosaurus from Flesh Gordon) and fairies, Willow certainly didn't break the run. Rather than going the Conan route, producer George Lucas adheres...
Published 16 months ago by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic stuff, 14 Dec 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw Willow when I was very young, and now, a decade later, it has lost none of its magic for me!
The film tells the story of young Willow Ufgood, the reluctant hero of his Nelwyn village as he is chosen to return a very important Daikini (the Nelwyn word for humans!) baby to her own kind. However, Willow gets a lot more than he bargained for along the way, joining forces with a great (and often silly) swordsman, Madmartigan, two bossy and very short brownies, and the mysterious Fin Raziel, in his quest.
I loved everything about this film ... the music is beautiful, as are the settings (filmed in a variety of locations from Wales to New Zealand), the special effects are good, and the story is the classic and timeless tale of good versus evil, narrating the lives of many memorable characters. The film combines humour, action, fantasy and romance in a very satisfactory and watchable two hours. What more could you ask for?
And a note about the special DVD features as well ... crystal clear sound and vision, added extras such as interviews, trailers (some of which made me laugh) and stills from the making of the film, and a feature on the way the special effects were produced. I enjoyed seeing all of these - this classic is definitely worth the money!
Top marks for a film that I'll always enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget all you know,,,and all you think you know, 16 Jan 2004
By 
M. Barrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Willow" has been an easy target for the critics. Perhaps it's true that George Lucas wished he had written Lord of the Rings, or at least had secured the movie rights to it, but that doesn't take anything away from the magical adventure that is Willow.
There are some films which are timeless. You see them as a child and enjoy them equally as an adult. The adventure never pales, the wonder never ceases, and despite their clear existence in a world very different to your own, you care deeply about the characters and what becomes of them. No matter how many times you watch it. Willow is one such film.
Looking for something for the kids? Willow is perfect, and they'll wonder at your good taste. Want something to curl up to on the sofa with your other half? Willow's guaranteed to make 'em smile, laugh, and (when they think you're not looking) mist up a bit.
Warwick Davis is excellent in the title role, and his performance is even more remarkable given that he was only 17 when it was made. But Val Kilmer steals the show as the swordsman who finally finds something to believe in, wisecracking his way through various feats of heroism. The actor improvised much of his dialogue, which really makes it crackle. And watch out for the smoldering scenes with Joanne Whalley, parelleling their burgeoning off-screen romance during the filming, which ended in their marriage.
If you have never seen it, buy it now. If you have already experienced its magic, you already know you're going to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Film, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This is a must have film for all you people who like the 1980s classics. how can they hire so many little people to make such a classic film. The scenes, the music and the characters are all perfect for this film. This is an all time family classic that i owed once when i was a child but now i got it again 15 years later. If you are looking for a loving friendly, family classic this must be the first. Other wise you'll never now what you've missed out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outta the way Peck!!!!, 1 Jun 2003
By 
I first saw this movie about 12 years ago and have loved it ever since. I'm really pleased it's been released onto DVD. The extra bonus footage is fantastic. Ron Howard excells in this true classic film.
It's a story about a young magician called Willow (Warwick Davis) who lives in a village inhabited by little people. one day he finds a baby in the stream. The baby then turns out to be a Dikini (human). Willow is then summand by the village council to take the baby and give it to the first human he finds. Unfortunatly the first human he finds is Mad Mardigan (Val Kilmer) the greatest swordsman who ever lived. He then sets out on an unexpected adventure when he realises the true importance of the small child.
The child is special and the evil Queen Bavmorder (Jean Marsh) is out to kill her. With the help of Willow, Mad Mardigan, A couple of brownies, the princess (Joanne Whalley) and the great Fin Raziel how can she loose against the evil queen.
This film is superb and has an all star cast and crew and amazing special effects especially concidering the time this movie was made.
If your looking for an action-packed, magical romanic comedy. Willow is most certainly the perfect film to watch. It's best to buy the DVD just for the extra sound quality and extra DVD features.
Once you see this film you'll want to watch it again and again, and why not...IT'S A CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are my sun, my moon, my starlit sky... (bluray), 11 Aug 2013
By 
Dr. Justin Gan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've waited a long time for this to come out on blu-ray, and let me say first off that the transfer is absolutely superb. The image quality is crystal clear, and amazingly looks a lot better than a few more recent films I've picked up on bluray (Dredd, anyone?); which is astonishing for a film that's over 25 years old. There were no obvious graining or weird optical effects. The sound quality is good, but feels slightly thin to my mind, however I think this is to do with the original recording.

There are 3 deleted scenes that I've never seen before as well (which were quite rightly left out), but were interesting all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 29 Oct 2003
I first watched this film when i was 8, and still it's the greatest magical film i have ever seen.
When i had this film on VHS originally i cherished it, i kept it in my room alongside the turtles and He-Man etc so it must have been pretty good.
The following month when i returned to my room, it had GONE! my mother had lent it to a friend, and that was the last i had seen of Willow, until this YEAR!
Willow returned to my screen on the hugely anticipated DVD release, and by god is it as goood as it it was when i first watched it. With the ever so talented Warwick Davis and Val Kilmer and that fine looking princess, the film is pure genius.
The them tune rings in my head as i write this, remembering the classic scenes from when they were turned into pigs, to Willow fighting those lizard type things, to the final encounter between val and that guy with the skull on his face!
The effects are truly breathtaking with those pixies and the little borrowers. Writing this has made me slap the dvd in to watch again!
The extras are good aswell taking you behind the scenes to tell of how it was made so give em a go.
Overall go and buy this now!
FILM 10/10
Extras 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical. simply marvellous., 26 Mar 2004
Pure.Magic. This is one of the best films i have ever seen. I originally had this when i taped it off the telly, and i watched it recently after not seeing it for a while and remembered just how brilliant it is. After I had watched it, I immediatley went on to Amazon to see what price it was. I was amazed when i saw that it was only 6.99( on dvd)! I immediately asked my dad if he could buy it and thankfully he let me! this version is amazing, the picture is much clearer, and the lovely music is made even better! If your a fan of fantasy films, or just want a nice film to watch, Willow is perfect as it is humourous, romantic, exciting and fantastic! That is just the tip of the iceberg so if you have good taste, you will buy this film now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Old Favourite, 26 April 2006
By 
Tara Saunders (Derry, NI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this film as a child and when I saw the DVD version I jumped at the chance to introduce it to my own daughters.

It's an excellent family movie for those long winter nights, with everything from dwarfish, heroic Willow determined to do the right thing as a family man to madcap Madmartigan, out for the main chance but a good guy really. When our fine heroes meet up with the seemingly evil but actually quite sweet Sorsha, daughter of the evil Queen Bavmorda, things start to get really complicated. Add a sorceress who (unwillingly) changes shape about twenty times over the course of the movie and you've got something the kids will go mad for.

For those adult eyes amongst us, it's sad to admit that this movie hasn't aged as well as we might have hoped. More than a little cheesy and peopled with every fantasy cliche character from inept magician to evil babykilling queen to swordmaster thief turned hero, the watching prompts as many winces as it does smiles.

At least the kids will love it. And, in theory, they're the ones we're buying it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'mazing, 10 April 2006
By A Customer
This is one of the best and most lovable movies i have seen so far, it has everything you need in a movie and more, this is the kind of movie that you can happily sit down with your family to watch with no one complaining over the movie choice. Because its awesome. Another movie in this sort of genre (i.e fantastic) would be The Fifth Element, if you enjoyed Willow you will love this film too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review of Blu-ray, not of film:

Amazing quality picture and sound.
Good special features.

Review of film:

Cracking, way better than Lord of the Rings et al. and doesn't steal 9 hours of your precious and finite lifespan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae4880d8)

This product

Willow [VHS] [1988]
Willow [VHS] [1988] by Ron Howard (VHS Tape - 1995)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews