Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film let down by poor quality DVD
The Slipper and the Rose is a musical version of Cinderella and stars Richard Chamberlain as the Prince who is being forced into choosing a bride but who yearns to find love. Gemma Craven is Cinderella, young and beautiful but forced into drudgery by her 'wicked stepmother' (Margaret Lockwood). Other well known faces are Kenneth More as the Lord Chamberlain, Michael...
Published on 16 Jun 2005 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, but awful quality DVD
This is also one of my favourite films, but I would like to confirm the comments about poor transfer of the film to disk. I was quite shocked! Several scenes are actually blurry and indistinct, and sound quality is horrid in many parts. Film is not in letterbox format (apart from opening credits, which are strangely distorted). No extras, not even 'Select Scene'...
Published on 23 Dec 2005 by FR


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, but awful quality DVD, 23 Dec 2005
This is also one of my favourite films, but I would like to confirm the comments about poor transfer of the film to disk. I was quite shocked! Several scenes are actually blurry and indistinct, and sound quality is horrid in many parts. Film is not in letterbox format (apart from opening credits, which are strangely distorted). No extras, not even 'Select Scene' option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film let down by poor quality DVD, 16 Jun 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Slipper and the Rose is a musical version of Cinderella and stars Richard Chamberlain as the Prince who is being forced into choosing a bride but who yearns to find love. Gemma Craven is Cinderella, young and beautiful but forced into drudgery by her 'wicked stepmother' (Margaret Lockwood). Other well known faces are Kenneth More as the Lord Chamberlain, Michael Horden as the King, Annette Crosby as the fairy godmother and dame Edith Evans as the dowager queen.
The story closely follows the fairy story so beloved by generations of children but with the inclusion of numerous songs which, while not being works of musical genius, are very catchy nonetheless and find you tapping your foot alongside them. Although this film is almost 30 years old it should still entertain children (and young-at-heart adults) as much now as it did then.
The main flaw with this DVD, and the reason it lost a star, is its poor transfer from film. There has been no effort made to clean up the picture or sound, so it looks a little faded and grainy, and the sound is not as clear as it could be. There are no extras whatsoever (Region 2), not even subtitles or scene select. In other words, if you already own this movie on VHS then the DVD really isn't worth purchasing but, if you don't already possess it, then it is worth buying purely for the entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sweet and wonderful, 27 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This is a really, really good musical. This would be a really, really good film if there were no songs in it, and the songs are terrific. From the funny "Protogorically correct" and "What a comforting thing to know", to the heartbreaking "Once I was loved" or the romantic "He danced with me", they are all beautifully tuneful and add to the portrayal of the characters. The choreography, settings and costumes are just lovely (it was largely fimed on location in Europe).
The plot and characters, however, are the best things about this film. Plot? Yes, this is Cinderella. However, it is utterly vital that the Prince marries a foreign princess who will bring an alliance to support his small country, not some penniless girl from the nearest castle.
The characters really spring off the screen (the actors are excellent- Edith Evans, Richard Chamberlain, Kenneth More, Annette Crosbie, etc)- from the King, worried and overcome by events, to the overworked and acerbic fairy godmother, the wonderfully nasty stepmother and her two silly and spiteful daughters, the Chamberlain, and of course Cinderella and the Prince themselves, who are actually interesting and not just "the heroine" and "the hero", they are all a joy to spend time with.
I've been showing my video of this to people for years and even the most cynical have always liked it. It's just good. Buy it, watch it, fall in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the Slipper and the Rose!, 25 Feb 2008
By 
Veronica (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a truly enchanting musical version of the Cinderella story. I first watched this as a young girl and I've recently watched the DVD a number of times. I was amazed that even though over 10 years have passed I remembered most of the story, including song lyrics and dialogue...obviously it made a big impression on me the first time around! Watching the film as an adult is a real treat. There is a lavish quality to every aspect - from the beautiful costumes to the stunning landscape and gauzy cinematography. It makes me laugh and it makes me cry and, by the end, I'm cheering!

The Slipper and The Rose is the kind of film that appeals to adults as well as children. There are many funny jokes and clever songs that are great to sing along to. Of course, and most importantly in my opinion, the film is also incredibly romantic. I can't think of two better actors to play Cinderella and the Prince than Gemma Craven and Richard Chamberlain. Gemma is lovely and kind and Richard is dashing, thoughtful and oozes masculinity - quite a feat when he is wearing high heals and ribbons! In many ways, this is quite a grown-up version of Cinderella. The chracters are fully fleshed out rather than being the usual stereotypes, there are a couple of unexpected twists in the plot, and the film is also slower paced and has longer songs than the typical contemporary musical film. In short, it demands more attention and is more subtle than many of today's family entertainment films.

There are also loads of great secondary characters. The Prince's assistant John and his forbidden love Lady Caroline, the put upon Fairy Godfather (played marvellously by Annette Crosbie - best known in Britain as Victor Meldrew's wife in One Foot in the Grave), and a perfectly ghastly Stepmother and Stepsisters. The funniest characters are probably Montague (who is incredibly pompous and outlandish) and the elderly Dowager Queen (who has poor hearing and misunderstands everything because of it).

The film fleshes out the character of the Prince in a very enjoyable way. Normally, the Prince is a fairly generic handsome type who rides around on his horse and doesn't do much else. In this version though, we really get to know what he's thinking and feeling. He is determined to marry for love and no other reason, despite strong opposition from his parents and the royal household. Knowing about his troubles, as well as those of Cinderella, make you root for them both all the more.

If it isn't obvious by now, I really recommend this film to people who are looking for something romantic and old-fashioned. It is the perfect film to watch when you need a lift. I have so many favourite scenes - when the Prince and John sing `What a comforting thing to know' in the royal crypt, when Cinderella and the Prince meet at the ball and sing `Secret Kingdom', when the Prince rides up on his horse as Cinderella is dancing in the field and when the couple are reunited at the church.

The Slipper and the Rose is perfect entertainment with a wonderful happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Canadian Viewer, 25 Nov 2005
By A Customer
I have just discovered this wonderful funny movie in the last few months. Is it possible to wear out a DVD or a CD? I don't know but if it is mine are in jeopardy. I love this movie. It has quickly become a favourite and the music score is definitely my favourite of all musicals. The Slipper & the Rose was not played much in Canada, if at all, so it is unknown here. Everyone to whom I have shown this movie or played the soundtrack CD for loves it and wonders why we have not heard of it before.
The calibre of acting in this movie is above average and the directing elegantly subtle. Richard Chamberlain and Gemma Craven are excellent and their singing beautiful. The chemistry between them is special. Annette Crosby and the King are a delight and all of the other characters have been chosen with such great care that there is not a slow moving scene in the entire movie and what a treat to see Dame Judith Evans. Dame Evans is charming and funny and shows off that ability that many older people have developed of saying just what she really thinks in the guise of being just a tad dotty. You can't watch this movie just once for each time you watch it you see some little nuance, usually humourous, that you missed in previous viewings. I love the humour and have a good giggle every time the King makes a reference to teeth. Of all the Cinderella movies made this is the best. I like the idea that we see the story through the prince's eyes not just Cinderella's and it is this feature which helps to give this particular movie its special quality and the balance that others have not had. It would be a special treat if we could see this movie on the big screen. There is so much detail in the sets costuming and acting that our pleasure could only be enhanced by viewing it on a big screen. It is still amazing to watch on the small screen
The Sherman brothers are to be congratulated for their special soundtract. It too is wonderful, a complete mood alterer. I defy anyone to remain in a bad or unhappy mood when they listen to this score. Buy it. Play it. Get the CD for your car and sing along to it in traffic. Forget looking stupid to the people in the car beside you, you'll never see them again and before you know it you will be home the traffic forgotten, your spirits uplifted, and your mood mellow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical musical, 6 Dec 2003
By 
geoffrey (farnborough, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This must be the most under-rated version of Cinderella ever!
The costumes are fabulous, the music memorable, the choreography brilliant and it has humour and a gently cynical comment to make.
Kenneth Moore as the pompous courtier and Annette Crosby as a greatly overworked Fairy Godmother are nothing short of brilliant.
The children of all ages in our family, from four to ninety two, each find an aspect of this film to thoroughly enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a timeless shimmering enchantment, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
We love this film almost beyond words. Just rewatched after a ten year gap and it is as good as ever. Tears have been shed, songs have been sung, moments relived and plenty of giggles thrown in. It has the X factor - the frocks, the sets, the jokes, the actors, the script, the frocks (again), the songs - it's a national treasure and should be enjoyed by every family at Christmas. The only negative is my sister and i have realised that we periodically suffer from the Cinderella Complex as a result of too many viewings of this film - bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 14 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This is an all-time favourite of mine, a film to curl up and watch when you have the house to yourself and it's raining outside. The story is well-known and this particular variation makes a great film. The music and songs are brilliant - why are they not better-known? Why is this not a West-End musical?
There are only two things that prevent me giving five stars: I personally found Richard Chamberlain a little wooden (unlike his great performance in The Count of Monte Cristo), and I couldn't believe there was any real attraction between his Prince and Gemma Craven's Cinderella. I know it's a story for children, but there was more chemistry in the Disney cartoon! That was my only niggle, however. I was pleased to see Victor Meldrew's wife as the Fairy Godmother and the secondary characters are all well-drawn and portrayed.
Buy it, send your family to the cinema, make a pot of tea and a pile of toast, settle down in a comfy chair and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Cinderella that I will ever see, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Slipper And The Rose (1976) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film is set in beautiful countryside with a great cast and a fantastic soundtrack, not to mention the costumes. The story line centres on Prince Edward (Richard Chamberlain) as his parents try to force him to get married to anyone so that their small kingdom can remain peaceful with the other surrounding kingdoms. But Edward doesn't want to marry anyone for the sake of it, he wants to marry for love. So when his parents decide to put on a "bride finding ball" for him, he isn't very pleased until Cinderella (Gemma Craven) enters. The two fall instantly in love but are split up as the clock strikes twelve. Prince Edward searches everywhere for his lost love but sadly gives up and throws the glass slipper out of the window. Meanwhile Cinderella is pining for her lost love, but will the two be re-united? You'll have to watch it and see, and trust me you won't be disappointed. This film really and truly is brilliant, with great songs like "Protocolagorically Correct", "When he/she danced with me" and "Why can't I be two people" you'll soon be singing along with the characters and pressing rewind on your video player so that you can listen to them again. The script also boasts a great sense of humour in witty one-liners which you just can't miss.
by Esther
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just magical!, 3 Jan 2007
When I was growing up I never really saw this film all the way through, now that we got it free with the daily mail newspaper I thought I would give it a chance and I am so glad that I did. The costumes are stunning the score of the music ties in with everything happening throughout the film and helps portray the characters which keeps you engrossed and entertained. It is the best version of Cinderella ever told Gemma Craven does a superb job playing the character of a story which is so well known, but Richard Chamberlain portraying the prince is magical, you see it is more through the princes eyes and how he expresses his love for Cinderella. The characters are so spirited and each one has a wonderful voice and the acting can't be faulted, if you are a romantic then the most memorable part of the film may be when the prince (Chamberlain) finds Cinderella (Craven) again. This is now my favourite musical which is why I am ordering the soundtrack, the film is a love story but the twists and turns and the humour makes it magical for all ages, this film will never go out of date!

So curl up and take in all off the delights that this film has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slipper And The Rose (1976) [VHS]
The Slipper And The Rose (1976) [VHS] by Bryan Forbes (VHS Tape - 2000)
£17.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews