Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's Finest Films
I first saw this film upon its initial release in 1955, and to this day, remains one of my favourites. I bought the Video version some years ago. Its a heart warming, simple story of a spaniel (Lady) who quite by accident is thrown out into the streets and is rescued by a loveable Mongrel (Tramp). They then embark on a series of remarkable adventures which ends happily...
Published on 5 Aug 2002 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE FAKES & COPIES & CHEAP IMPORTS - Why I know and What needs to be done...
Having previously worked for Walt Disney Company UK Management and acquired most of the original Animated Classics from source - I decided to put my collection up for sale (some 2 years ago) as I planned for my retirement and give other serious Disney enthusiasts a chance to own genuine UK DISNEY DVDs still NEW and FACTORY SEALED (yes, kept that way as a potential...
Published 18 months ago by I Like Disney


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's Finest Films, 5 Aug 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I first saw this film upon its initial release in 1955, and to this day, remains one of my favourites. I bought the Video version some years ago. Its a heart warming, simple story of a spaniel (Lady) who quite by accident is thrown out into the streets and is rescued by a loveable Mongrel (Tramp). They then embark on a series of remarkable adventures which ends happily. aaaaawww[...] The highlight of the film has to be the Cafe scene in the alley. Munching their way through a plate of spaghetti, serenaded by an accordion, this scene cannot fail to bring a lump to one's throat. Its a shame that the DVD version is not currently available. In widescreen, it should look and sound superb. Fans should demand a re-issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Disney's top dog, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
NB: As is Amazon's Wont, they've very unhelpfully bundled all the reviews for various editions and formats together. This review refers to the deleted 2-disc DVD.

Still the top dog when it comes to quality canine animation, this now deleted two-disc set of Lady and the Tramp does a nice job of presenting Disney's first CinemaScope animated feature in all its original 2.55:1 glory. Even though it's one of the minor classics, it's still a master class in great animation and economical character-led storytelling. The visual transitions are marvellous, although the Scope frame isn't used as fully as you might expect: perhaps aware of the difficulties of shooting a Scope and a flat version for unconverted theatres from the same cels, a lot of the action is centered to minimise loss of essential information. Better still, all the characters are marvellously delineated and likeable, from the bit-parts to leading lady. Indeed, Tramp is still the benchmark for the greatest screen animated dog. And, of course, the film features what has to be the best movie date ever (who can forget the moment when Tramp noses his meat ball to Lady's mouth? Sorry, couldn't resist...).

There's an impressive array of extras too - storyboards of 2 deleted scenes as well as from an abandoned 1943 attempt to bring it to the screen, a 52-minute documentary on the making of the film, featurettes, extracts from black and white episodes of Disneyland promoting the film's original theatrical release, stills galleries and original and reissue trailers. The only disappointment is that it doesn't include the fullframe version that was made at the same time for cinemas that hadn't yet converted to CinemaScope which Disney briefly released separately on laser disc in the US in 1998 but has remained unseen since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic film full of crazy adventures and familiar songs, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Lady and the Tramp is a classic disney film, enjoyable for children and adults alike. It has all the elements of a traditional disney film - romance, action, humour and a lot of famous songs that everyone knows. The film is based around the romance of two dogs, Lady whom is a thoroughbred female dog who is cherished by her owners and Tramp who is a tough but charming street hound. When their paths meet an adventure and romance is started. Like many other disney films, Lady and the Tramp is so good because of the accurate human attributes that are given to the dogs. This makes the characters really easy to empathize with and love. The minor characters of the other dogs and the beautiful but sly siamese cats who sing one of the most famous songs provide most of the comic moments. The romance between Lady and the Tramp is obviously not without it's difficulties but when they do get together in an infamous spagetti eating scene it is emotional and heart warming. This film is defintly my favourite of all of disney's annimated ones, as although it was made a long while ago it is still modern and enjoyable. The songs are brilliant, the adveture the dogs go on is at times dangerous and at times hilarious and the characters are well drawn literally and emotionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a bella notte with Lady and the Tramp!, 9 Dec 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Disney's classic animated feature is the story of an innocent, well-bred young dog named Lady, and a mongrel from the bad side of town, Tramp. Lady's happy life is rocked by the arrival of a baby for her owners, and then the arrival of dog-hating Aunt Marge. Tramp comes to Lady's rescue and shows her his exciting, if dangerous, lifestyle. Tramp saves the baby in the exciting conclusion, but not before he and Lady share some spaghetti in a famous and touching scene.
The artwork is beautiful and the story, told from a dog's point of view, is funny, action-filled, and sweet. You will certainly enjoy Lady and the Tramp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Love Story, 14 May 2006
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A classic Disney film, the viewer finds themselves in small town America, 1910, as Christmas arrives. And the loveable Lady pup is a gift from Jim Dear to his wife Darling to celebrate the occasion.

Lady soon makes good friends with the neighbouring dogs, Jock, and Trusty, and is quite contented. Then Aunt Sarah arrives to help out with the new baby and suddenly Lady is not the centre of her owners world and, added to the fact that she is treated unfairly by Sarah, she feels quite unhappy.

Cue The Tramp! A charming mongrel of a dog, with a 'devil may care' attitude. Lady runs off with him after a nasty moment with Aunt Sarah's 'precious' cats Si and Am.

Lady and The Tramp embark on some adventures together, and go on the world famous candlelit dinner at Tony's restaurant (you know the scene - the spaghetti and meatballs scene on the cover). Unfortunately, this idyllic lifestyle comes to an abrupt halt when Lady is captured by The Pound.

She meets some of Tramp's companions whilst inside the pound and doesn't like what she hears about his reputation. So, upon return to her home she tries to drive him away.

Then Tramp turns up trying to save the baby from an evil rat. The films climax sees Tramp, Jock, and Trusty all trying to save the baby. In doing so Tramp risks his own life...lots of suspense follows....but Disney DO prefer happy endings...

The film is very adult in many respects, but is extremely watchable at any age. It has been extremely well conceptualized but is still, essentially, a love story. And Disney do love stories very well indeed. It has a good sense of humour injected throughout, and some very amusing characters - you really fall for Tramp's 'loveable rogue' personality.

The animation is good, much more delicate than the Disney releases of recent years. Yes, it is an 'old style' animation, but that only adds to the films beauty. It is one of Disney's most sophisticated films.

Lady and The Tramp is much more detailed than you might expect, or remember from when you were a child. The story lends itself so well to animation and helped to guide Disney away from their fairy-tale era.

I feel this is one of Disney's best offerings. I hope you all enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney classic, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter. A Disney classic, she is never tired to watch it. Really enjoyable story to share with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous ! 10 Stars !, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Lady and the Tramp Diamond Edition Blu-ray for our 2 year old Grand Daughter - and she absolutely loved it as did the whole family across three generations ! As with Cinderella this production is also exquisite - it is from the period when Disney was at its finest and again brought back memories my own delight as a small child on seeing it for the first time. Age has not dimmed the appeal of the story and the characters - they are as fresh and delightful today as they ever were - the characterisation of the various dogs and two wicked Siamese cats is utterly delightful and again the little vignettes of 'evil' are beautifully done and with just enough 'threat' to make the story exciting. Once again - the fabulous work that has been done to restore this enchanting film to the current dazzling condition can only be marvelled at. Buy it ! you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant reccomend quality enough.
Looks like a newly released film due to the crisp lines and great colours.

Note: This is one of the first Disneys to be drawn in wide screen so not only is quality great it fits the whole screen unlike Bambi and Peter Pan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully realised, 17 Jan 2013
By 
J. N. Melone "jomell" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my grand-kids (6 and 3 yrs old). The 6 year old loves it, as expected, but my 3 year old grandson also wants to watch it repeatedly. Much of it goes over his head, but the drawings and animation are so attractive that he is still immersed in it. Even as adults, we find it beautifully written and a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney DVD, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great DVD my 3 young daughters love it
Would recommend this to anyone with young girls who love all dogs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Lady and the Tramp [VHS] [1955]
Lady and the Tramp [VHS] [1955] by Wilfred Jackson (VHS Tape)
5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews