Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make 'space' in your life for this gem!!
The first time I saw this film I refused to walk though the woods for fear of alien abduction! 15 years on... I still feel the same. A cult 80's classic that should surely rank along side the epics such as Back To The Future and Teenwolf (1 NOT 2).
It would be fair to say that they really do not make films like this anymore. In all honesty the DVD offers nothing more...
Published on 9 Feb. 2004 by Egil Austin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound out of sync
This a great film and was very pleased when it was released again on blu-ray as I had been looking for a copy for some time. However it was spoilt by the sound being out of sync and reported this to Amazon and I am still awaiting a response as to whether there are copies available with out this fault.
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make 'space' in your life for this gem!!, 9 Feb. 2004
The first time I saw this film I refused to walk though the woods for fear of alien abduction! 15 years on... I still feel the same. A cult 80's classic that should surely rank along side the epics such as Back To The Future and Teenwolf (1 NOT 2).
It would be fair to say that they really do not make films like this anymore. In all honesty the DVD offers nothing more than the film itself, but believe me this is more than enough.
Not just a family film, this is an everyone film. If you havent seen this film yet buy it and understand exactly why 'Surfin' U.S.A' was a great record and if you have seen it... reflect and feel all nostalgic.
Just sitting around waiting for the release of 'The Boy Who Could Fly'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic '80s kids movie, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
Flight of the Navigator is a classic '80s kids movie. Its got everything: kids, computers, spaceships, robots, time travel, aliens, electronic music, and flying. It's a well produced, entertaining, innocent film that should definitely prove nostalgic to anyone in their mid-20s. The special effects are stunning given the age of the film, and the soundtrack by Alan Silvestri is magical and evocative.

Unforunately, the DVD production itself isn't particuarly good. It doesn't have any special features or bonus items. All you get is the film, and the picture quality isn't exactly good. In fact, it's grainy, blurry, with washed out blacks and a shimmering noise pattern visible on the titles. A terrible transfer. Still, at least it's presented in 16:9.

Worth noting, the film features a young Sarah Jessica Parker when she actually was a girl, and not a 40-year-old woman acting like a teenager and looking like The Wicked Witch of the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David and the compliant Phaleon., 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Flight of the Navigator is directed by Randal Kleiser and is adapted to screenplay by Michael Burton and Matt MacManus from a story by Mark H. Baker. It stars Joey Cramer, Veronica Cartwright, Cliff De Young, Sarah Jessica Parker, Howard Hesseman and the voice of Paul Reubens. Music is by Alan Silvestri and cinematography is by James Glennon and Eric McGraw.

Young David Freeman (Cramer) is out in the woods near his home in Fort Lauderdale when he falls down a ravine and is knocked unconscious. Waking up he finds that the world around him has advanced by 8 years but he hasn't. After being reunited with his overjoyed parents, it becomes apparent that David has had an encounter with a extra terrestrial life form, which of course greatly interests the authorities...

It's a family friendly sci-fi with a difference, in that it doesn't have to take us into space for its tale, yet this in no way detracts from how enjoyable Flight of the Navigator is. It is told from young David's perspective (with Cramer impressionable), thus it firmly engages the kids in the audience. The relationship between David and the Phaleon computer system (Reubens) engages with witty chatter and educational purpose, and the effects work should not be taken for granted either. If we are to be picky then the build up is a touch long before the pic goes "extra terrestrial", and Cartwright and De Young are barely given time to impact as parents coming to terms with a family life turned upside down. But small complaints really and this is a lovely film, one that isn't just for 1980s nostalgists. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compliance!!, 30 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
A great movie that some sad individuals slag off, but after viewing their DVD collection, I now know why they are not of this planet.
At this great price, every sci-fi or 80's fan should have it on their shelves at home! It holds a great storyline along with good music, and a barrel of laughs, action and suspense! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore..., 7 Jan. 2008
By 
This film is wonderful. I'll expand on it all, but that's the very first thing that needed to be said. The Navigator chronicles the journey of David (Joey Cramer), a 12 year old boy who falls down a ravine in 1978. He then wakes up to discover it's 1986, his parents no longer live where they did, his little brother is now his big brother, and he was listed as dead many years ago after he "disappeared". He has no knowledge or memory of where he's been, and when NASA get a hold of him and subject him to testing, his subconscious mind tells them he's been on a planet called Phaelon, which is hundreds of light years away... Meanwhile, NASA have discovered a spaceship which has crashed into a pylon.

When David finds out the bods at NASA aren't planning to let him go, the spaceship - Max - calls him telepathically, and they escape before going on a wonderful voyage. Luckily for us, they take us along for the ride. What follows is a funny, heart-warming story, filled with vintage 80s loveliness and a small dose of the Beach Boys thrown in for good measure. What's odd is even watching it now the effects are great. I expected them to look dreadful, not how I remembered them from my childhood, but they've aged incredibly well, and they've stood the test of time admirably. It's a fine and noble thing.

David gradually makes his way home, only to discover he's returned to his family in 1986, not in 1978, and he has a difficult decision to make. I don't want to give away the ending, but I will tell you, this film will make you ache for a time when the world was simpler, and kinder. There's no cynicism about this film, whatsoever. It's just innocent, genuine, lovely fun, and I wish they still made films like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See You Later, Navigator, 2 Nov. 2004
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
While meeting his brother in the woods in 1978, David Freeman falls down a ravine. He gets up to discover that it's suddenly 1986. Where has he been for the last 8 years? Meanwhile, NASA has found a space ship. Is there a connection? Can they find a way into the ship? And who keeps calling David inside his mind?
I loved this movie as a kid. While the first part seems slow and rather obvious if you've heard of the premise, the second part is a fun ride. Once David meets up with Max, things pick up and the movie switch from mystery to comedy. Watching it today, I was impressed by the special effects. This movie is almost 20 years old and they still hold up very well.
This is basically a movie only DVD release. The film is presented in wide screen and surround sound. But for the price, you're getting a great deal.
While not great cinema, this is a movie that the entire family will have fun watching together. Get it today and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still outstanding after nearly 30 years!, 24 July 2014
By 
E. Wright "Guns Ed" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I always loved this film as a child, and recently bought the DVD which was quickly adopted by my young daughter.
She also loved watching this movie - it has some slightly spooky scenes but at just the right level not to be too scary for children.
There is plenty of action and cute little creatures to entertain the film's young target audience, but it's equally enjoyable watching this again as an adult, as the script is top class and the effects and soundtrack are still pretty outstanding given that this was produced in the mid-eighties.
This really is a truly classic family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream come true!, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
I have never liked to watch a film more than once, but this I've seen SIX times! If you are interested in UFOs, and have ever dreamed to fly, this video is almost a dream that comes true. The movie is kind, and both children and adults (like me) can enjoy watching it. Sure worth of buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out on DVD at last!, 13 July 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a childhood classic! With a soundtrack including classic artists, such as the beach boys and cast including Sarah JP with pink hair it's unmissable! The story is basically a boy goes into the woods and returns about 15 years later not a day older (he thinks he's been in the woods for about 30 mins!) What follows is a funny, watchable movie that is perfect for adults and children alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Navigation, 11 Mar. 2006
By 
G. MARSHALL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film years ago, and it still stands up well. It's good to see a childrens film with quite a tough central premise. David's situation would be frightening for anyone, suddenly dislocated from all that is familiar and unable to explain any of it. The story holds no special surprises but is fun and has some very good lines. "Hey blimpo, too many twinkies?" Not PC but apt. You just need to know what a twinkie is. The special effects are simple but have stood the test of time. A good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight of the Navigator [VHS] [1987]
Flight of the Navigator [VHS] [1987] by Randal Kleiser (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: £41.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews