Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metal at its Finest
A band surely ressurected from the 70's, although they are louder and finer. This supurb album gives you a fast rocky ride into the land of psychedelic metal. Tracks such as Sedated and Mantra are worthy of recognition on the leval of songs such as Freebird and Warpigs, their fast chopping riffs and mind blowing solos stick in your head for so long you wouldn't believe...
Published on 31 Oct 2000

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average album, technically competant but not outstanding
I found out about this album through the Friday Rock Show on VH-1. I would have to admit to being a little disappointed. The only memorable track on the album - Angel of betrayal is good but not outstanding. I can't say this is a must buy album but it isn't a bad one either.
Published on 23 Jun 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metal at its Finest, 31 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
A band surely ressurected from the 70's, although they are louder and finer. This supurb album gives you a fast rocky ride into the land of psychedelic metal. Tracks such as Sedated and Mantra are worthy of recognition on the leval of songs such as Freebird and Warpigs, their fast chopping riffs and mind blowing solos stick in your head for so long you wouldn't believe. The album contains songs which are heavy although extremly listenable because the good mix of quiets breaks, solos and heavy riffs. Some of the song outros are the best I have heard, listen to Mantra it has a classic slow and mellow start but by the end all hell breaks lose with classic heavy metal style. The lyrics are typical of a stoner band, they state cathchy phrases like "to cool to be a fool" and have wicked titles also eg: "Angel of Betrayel" This album surely is worthy of the status of albums like Paranoid by Black Sabbath and Machine Headby Deep Purple, If you haven't heard it you are missing out on one of the greatest metal experiences of all time. P.S they are even better live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT ALBUM, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
Without a doubt the best album of the year so far. Sounding like a mix of Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and Monster Magnet, Spiritual Beggars have produced an album which rocks from beginning to end. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Per Ardua ad Astra, 1 April 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
Are you Spiritual?
Are you a Beggar?
Are you in the RAF?
Do you have déja-vu?

If so then this is for you. Why the Nordic countries should be a hotbed of retro-ROCK I knoweth not, but I do know I'm glad that they do. ROCK reached its peak in the 70s. There's been nothing new under the sun ever since, so why try to do something which will never be new when you can still pretend it's still 1972?

Buy it, It's better than Coldplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
i purchased this item as a gift for my boyfriend he loved it :)
had been looking for ages .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Old Fasioned Metal!!!, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: AD ASTRA (Audio CD)
Ad Astra is a great mix of heavily distorted guitars, simple riffs, and true rock lyrics. The guitar solos are fast and furious, and complimented beautifully by the use of an organ on some of the tracks. They are obviously talented musicians as well, but above all just ROCK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HARD ROCK FAN FROM DERBYSHIRE, 4 Jun 2000
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
Well what can you say about this album, except for its hard rock at its best, very simliar to Fu Manchu and Leadfoot, but still very individual and unique. Go out and buy it today and you won't be disapointed if you like good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ad Astra spiritual beggers, 23 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
would have to say, this is a great good old fashioned head thumping album. I dont think there is a bad track on it. I have played it non stop since buying it. could wear this CD out, it is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average album, technically competant but not outstanding, 23 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ad Astra (Audio CD)
I found out about this album through the Friday Rock Show on VH-1. I would have to admit to being a little disappointed. The only memorable track on the album - Angel of betrayal is good but not outstanding. I can't say this is a must buy album but it isn't a bad one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ad Astra
Ad Astra by Spiritual Beggars (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews