Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering B-Sides!
This is the album that could/should have been Oasis' third. It would have been a seminal achievement if this collection had been released as a normal album and not as a B-side compilation as it is presented here. Its not quite on par with "Definitely Maybe" or "(What's The Story) Morning Glory" but it does show Noel Gallagher for the fantastic songwriter he is. Aside from...
Published on 16 April 2007 by Mr. J. Gould

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Real Oasis
Although not as good as their first two albums this is still a worthy album in its own right despite being a mere collection of b-sides. Its should be a well known fact that with virtually every oasis single released there's been a better song released with it. So you get oasis at their rawest (Headshrinker, Fade Away) and most heartfelt (Half The World Away, Talk...
Published on 24 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique, 29 Nov 1999
This review is from: Masterplan (Audio CD)
Well, what can you say about this. Only the poor showing of 'Stay Young' lets the side down. A selection of unsung classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis Best Album? Quite Possibly, 18 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
You can always tell how great a band really are by having a look at their b-sides. Have a look at Oasis b-sides and it rubber stamps their greatness. Everyone raves about (What's The Story) Morning Glory, but in reality, most of that album doesn't come close to the sheer beauty of this gem. The thing with What's The Story is that, despite some amazing tunes, it doesn't come close to the deep emotions on this album.

Lyrically, there are a lot of great songs here. There's none of this 'faster than a cannonball' nonsense. Noel Gallagher's lyrics are more meaningful and personal, such as Talk Tonight, Half The World Away and Rockin Chair to mention just a few.

Is it derivitive though? No - we do hear some influences of the bands that Gallagher admires so greatly, but at the end of the day, these are Oasis songs with Oasis lyrics and Oasis attitude.

The only thing frustrating about this album is that these should of been a-sides. Critics know nothing about this band - they have to realise that you have to dig a little deeper into the Oasis catalogue to realise why people think they're so great.

It is just an amazing album. It has to be an essential addition to yout record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff, Oasis' 2nd best album!, 18 Jan 2001
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
This was overall a brilliant album. The first track, Aqcuiesce, informs you that you won't be dissapointed. Below I have rated each song out of 10:
Acquiesce (10/10) Underneath the sky (9/10) Talk tonight (7/10) Going nowhere (9/10) Fade away (8/10) The swamp song (5/10) I am the walrus(10/10) Listen up (8/10) Rockin' chair (10/10) Half the world away (10/10) (it's good) to be free (9/10) Stay young (8/10) Headshrinker (8/10) The masterplan (8/10) I recommend this album to any Oasis fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically good, 17 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
If you could only buy one more album ever, make it this one. It is fantastic and it has been in my cd player non stop since i got it.
The only reason i can think of that these tracks weren't a-sides is that most of them are too good for the charts. Seriously. This is my favourite Oasis album ever and all I can say is that it's simply magical. Don't take my word for it. Buy it.
My favourite tracks are probably Rocking Chair and Masterplan, although i love the others too. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My best album, 20 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
Album of the best b-sides from all their singles up to 1998. Its shows that Noel Gallagher dosin't put any old tat for a b-side he only writes brillant songs not average ones. Lots of slow tempo indie songs here and some slightley punkier songs. Even a duet from Noel and Liam on Acquiensce.
How many good songs --- 12/14
Best song --- First choice is 'talk tonight' then second is 'stay young'.
Worst song --- I am the walrus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterplan, 18 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
Well from track 1-14 pure quality music, it just shows you if these are Oasis' b-sides what must there studio albums be like! (Amazing everyone of them)

Well top tracks are Track 1 (cant spell it) , Talk Tonight , Fade Away , Rockin Chair , Half The World Away , (Its Good) To Be Free , Stay Young and THE MASTERPLAN. You all probaly have this CD but there some people who dont and i urge you to get it you wont regert it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterplan = Brilliant!, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Masterplan (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely superb album, one of my all time favourites and certainly better than any other Oasis album. My review cannot do it justice! Songs like 'Acquiesce','Half The World Away', 'Stay Young', and 'Masterplan' beat any Oasis A-side song in my opinion, and this album is their best - without a doubt! No other Oasis album displays the brilliance of Noel Gallagher's songwriting like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 3 Sep 2014
This review is from: Masterplan (Audio CD)
Fab album, great sellar, arrived well before the EDT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis' best ever album, why certainly, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: Masterplan (Audio CD)
Tunes man

this is the best oasis album follwed closely by Definatly maybe.
people jam on 'bout whats the story but really listen to this.

aquiese-10/10 tune. rock n roll at is most fun

underneath the sky-10/10 sing alog song. hit hit hit

talk tonight-9/10 great acoustic track, but maybe a bit too subtle and noel isnt as goo a singer

going nowhere- 9/10 very enjoyable but once again noels a letdown with the vocals

Fade away-10/10 bish bosh bash, this song is well futile

the swamp song-7/10 little dissapointing, worst on the album i reckon, could have left it off

I am the walrus-9/10 excellent cover, does the orginal justice

listen up-song of the album (joint with aquiese and masterplan)

rocking chair-9/10 a mash of different hooks check it out.

half the world away-9/10 would have given it a 10 if it had not been on royal family.

stay young-10/10 well oasis-esque

headshrinker-10/10 rock n bleedin roll

masterplan-10/10 oasis' best evr? could well be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, No question - Oasis' best collection of songs, 20 July 2009
This review is from: The Masterplan (Audio CD)
I've had this album since pretty much when it came out. When deciding to post a review, I find some of the recent reviews with the same sentiment as I have - I genuinely think this is Oasis' best album. I would even go so far as to say that Acquiesce is Oasis' best song.
I really can't find much fault with it, only that why weren't most of these songs A-Sides!?
However, you may find the cover of the Beatles 'I am the Walrus' goes on a bit, and the Swamp Song may grind your ears a bit (excerpts of which appear in the untitled tracks on (What's the Story) Morning Glory)
The first four tracks hit you with pure Oasis magic. Included also are tracks from their punkier phase.
Highlights for me on this album:
Acquiesce - in my opinion Oasis' best track. Very nice having both Liam and Noel singing alternate parts (I believe Noel is truly epic! - speaking of which, Talk Tonight is pure Noel epicness). If you listen at the start and right at the end, you can hear Noel singing an acoustic version of Morning Glory, which works really well into the intro of the song.
(It's good) To Be Free - B-side to the stand-alone single Whatever. It feels like something Oasis would produce later, as it seems rather different in style to Definitely Maybe. Feedback tones, and the Accordion coda at the end, probably in reference to "All I wanna do is live by the sea" and with the little morse code sequence (which I think is meaningless, though I haven't tried to decipher it) are nice touches which are interesting additions. (You can imagine yourself in a little Cornish fishing village pub can't you?)
Stay Young - I think this was bumped off Be Here Now in favour of Magic Pie. Upon reflection, is does not seem to fit in with that album, but is a great song. Swingy and cheery, and exudes the sentiments we all feel "Stay Young and Invincible". I love listening to this song.

There are others worthy of mention, but that would be the whole album! Underneath the Sky, Going Nowhere and the title track, The Masterplan worth a listen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Masterplan
The Masterplan by Oasis (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews