Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely hutchback...
If you do not know anything about Pagnol and his wonderful books, here is a very easy and wonderful way to discover his universe. Pagnol mainly painted in his novels the quality of life from the South of France. Life is there very warm and full of colour of which pagnol manages to define and enhance the beauties. This movie is the story of a hutchback moving to the south...
Published on 1 Dec 2005 by Manolitos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the book...
Pretty good as a film - but a bit po-faced. Watching it, you'd never guess that the original book is actually very funny.
Published on 19 July 2008 by mcnash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely hutchback..., 1 Dec 2005
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
If you do not know anything about Pagnol and his wonderful books, here is a very easy and wonderful way to discover his universe. Pagnol mainly painted in his novels the quality of life from the South of France. Life is there very warm and full of colour of which pagnol manages to define and enhance the beauties. This movie is the story of a hutchback moving to the south of France in order to change his life and start a new business in the hills somewhere in provence where life flows nicely with in the background the sound of grasshoppers so recurrent when walking though the country in Provence. His main character, Jean will create some jealousy around him and starts a nightmare in which he will struggle. This movie is full of colour and like a pianting will give you smile and tears.
For all the foreigners watching this movie, the language is not so easy to understand and definitely the subtitles will be of great help. All the actors speaks with the accent of the south of France of which you have to listen carefully in order to understand the full meaning. I would recommend this movie for advanced learners in French.
Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous and moving film, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jean De Florette [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favourite films - coupled with the sequel Manon des Sources. Along with all that very special French style, it is a fascinating story set in southern France under that hot sun that drives people mad ..... and the story has a savage kick in its tail but you'll have to see Manon des Sources to find out what it is - or perhaps you'll guess. But if you do, it doesn't make it any less fascinating. Read the book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic tale of greed, 12 Sep 2005
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
"Jean de Florette" is a classic French film about the tragic consequences of greed and envy. Jean (Gerard Depardieu) leaves his job in the city and brings his wife and little daughter, Manon, to live on the farm he has just inherited. He does not know that there is an excellent spring on his land, but his neighbour Cesar (Yves Montand) and his nephew Ugolin know, and they want it for themselves. They plug up the spring, planning to force Jean to sell the property (to them). Jean is an idealist and happily begins raising rabbits and planting vegetables, but they will soon die without water.

The story unfolds at a leisurely pace, allowing plenty of time to get to know loving Jean, unscrupulous Cesar, and simple Ugolin. The three lead actors are all excellent and so convincing you'll be mesmerized. The photography is quite lovely. The ending may come as a surprise if you don't know that this is part one of two films; the second, "Manon of the Spring," continues the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Carnations Will Stick in Your Mind, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Carolina Beach, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
"Jean de Florette," (1986), a French drama, is a mouth-watering, award-winning color film, set apparently, in the early 20th century, in Provence, in the gorgeous, fertile south of France. With its sequel,Manon of the Spring (Manon Des Sources) [DVD], it tells a bittersweet tale of life among the peasantry of the time. It is based on a novel, with which I am not familiar, by Marcel Pagnol, with whose work, I regret, I am also not familiar, tho I believe he was a screenwriter of note. It was adapted for the screen and directed by Claude Berri. The original score was written, and performed by Jean-Claude Petit and his orchestra; there are musical snatches throughout of the opera Verdi: La forza del destino by Guiseppi Verdi.

Central to the tale are the schemings of Cesar Soubeyran, known as "Le Papet" locally, wealthy, almost last survivor of a dynasty of hard-working, successful peasants, and treated with great respect in the village. As played by the magnetic, older Yves Montand, (Wages Of Fear [DVD] [1952];Les Diaboliques [1954] [DVD]), he is as hard a man as his long life has made him. Then, his possibly not all there nephew Ugolin, played by Daniel Auteil, always so successful at playing not particularly bright characters (The Closet [DVD] [2001]) comes home from his stint in the army. The older man is anxious to see his nephew married, with children, settled locally, and making a living before his illnesses end his life. Accordingly, Cesar has his eye on a plot of land that adjoins his holdings, and several healthy looking girls in the village.

But the land the Soubeyran family covets is sold to an outsider, a tax collector civil servant, a luckless hunchback played by the magnificent Gerard Depardieu, (Green Card [DVD] [1991]).who comes bearing some regulation outsiders' French name, and a family to support. However, if Jean had been called by the name he should have been in the village, had they known who he really was, he would have been known locally as Jean de Florette, the title character. At any rate, the Soubeyrons, Cesar and Ugolin, pretend to befriend and help the naive and generous hunchback, who is inexperienced in farming, but has many ambitious plans, some of which are entirely unsuited for the location. Nevertheless,the Soubeyrons secretly work against the would-be farmer, most importantly by depriving him of water.

Greedy, cruel behavior to be sure, with tragic consequences. The film may be thought to have dated a bit, to be a bit too reliant on coincidence. Still, it seems to me grounded in reality. We watch the first telephones and automobiles creep into town, the appearance of new styles of dress. And I believe that French peasants, any peasants really, have historically wanted only certain things: land, with water on it; real gold, not paper scrip, and the success and survival of their families. The film, which was nominated for a Golden Globe, and won several other awards, is moving, its visual leitmotif, of red carnations, will stick in the mind; and it gains immeasurable power from the outstanding performances of its three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Water Your Carnations, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
When my partner and I were recently on holiday in Provence in a farmhouse in the hills, miles form anywhere and surrounded by forests and vineyards, we mentioned to our (English) hosts how much the situation reminded us of `Jean de Florette'. We were shocked to find that they had not heard of it!

This is a morality tale about how to water your carnations, although the moral of the story itself is contained in the second part, `Manon des Sources'. This is an almost perfect and faithful interpretation of Marcel Pagnol's original book and vision of what the Guardian's obituary referred to as "an updated classical Greek tragedy transposed to a gorgeous sun-bleached Provence." The Greek tragedy referred to is undoubtedly Oedipus, but it would be boorish of me to reveal here the final twists in the plot.

I rarely award five stars, but in this case the award is justified. The performances are superb, the cinematography faultless, the pacing just right. In short, it is impossible not to enjoy this film. The only downside is the lack of any extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean de Florette - One of the best films ever, 17 Jun 2010
By 
MarinaThomson "hyndlandgirl" (scotland, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. I first saw it many years ago and always intended to buy the DVD, having finally gotten round to purchasing it and watched it once again, it was wonderful. It is a gutsy film of good and evil, with wonderful acting and a gripping story line. Anyone buying this must buy the follow up Manon des Sources to find out the end of the story. It is a film that stays with you, makes you think and has a huge lasting impression.

Even for someone like me, who is not a big fan of sub titles, this is more than worth the effort. I envy those who have yet to experience the pleasure of seeing this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the book..., 19 July 2008
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty good as a film - but a bit po-faced. Watching it, you'd never guess that the original book is actually very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and beautiful, 17 May 2006
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
The only problem with this excellent film is that my French is not very good, so that I ended up reading the subtitles rather than listening to the dialogue. Having said this, it is beautifully photographed and very well acted. Gerard Depardieu is perhaps the best known actor, but all the cast are of an equally high standard, so that you end up being interested in the characters, not all of whom are conventionally 'sympathetic.' This is a very different world from any that I have ever lived in, but it is unexpectedly fascinating and leads you on the sequel, Manon des Sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Example Of French Film Making, 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the few French films I have watched, and it has definitely impressed me. Stunningly made, great casting and generally well made, it is very moving and the subtitles did not spoil my enjoyment of it. To anyone who wants a chick flick, this isn't for you, but for a great full on film lover, you WILL enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How small and how great we can be as human beings, 29 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jean De Florette [DVD] (DVD)
A story of greed and the will to overcome the negativity of others. Beautifully written and acted, a story about people that shows how small and how great we can be as human beings. But do not miss the second part it will make it all more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

Jean De Florette [DVD]
Jean De Florette [DVD] by Claude Berri (DVD - 2000)
5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews