Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Original!
Set in 17th Century London, this movie depicts the life of Captain James McLaine "The Gentleman Highwayman". Whilst only very loosly based on the true story, it is a ripping yarn none the less.
The movie really depicts the filth and squalour of the times, and the images are very realistic, although I feel the film ws slightly spoilt by the inclusion of...
Published on 20 Mar. 2000 by Matthew Hart

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film shame about the transfer
Having seen the film previously, probably on the telly or round a mates, I was overjoyed to find it available on DVD.

From the cast of some the best known names in British film acting including Alan Cumming and Michael Gambon to name only two you'd have thought that the powers that be would have done justice to what is an innovative piece of cinema (I mean not...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Wil Longman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Original!, 20 Mar. 2000
By 
Matthew Hart (Hornsby Heights, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Set in 17th Century London, this movie depicts the life of Captain James McLaine "The Gentleman Highwayman". Whilst only very loosly based on the true story, it is a ripping yarn none the less.
The movie really depicts the filth and squalour of the times, and the images are very realistic, although I feel the film ws slightly spoilt by the inclusion of modern Rock, and Dance music, which was good, but innapropriate to the timeframe.
Make no bones about it, this is a truly excellent movie, although the torture, and hanging scenes may have been a little over done.
Buy it, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth seeing for lots of reasons, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
The actors in this film are wonderfully well chosen.Jonny Lee Miller is a sex-god, that's my first reason! Robert Carlyle is a first-class actor and together, they make an unlikely but compelling pair. Alan Cumming is superb as always in his role as Rochester - very sexually charged! The costumes are stunning, and I adored the music and have even bought the CD. This is worth it alone for the music to my favourite scene in the film, the ball. This is utterly engaging and the music throbs in a very suggestive way! Brilliant stuff... I liked the script which was not overly olde worlde and very funny in places. The storyline is not overly original (but what is, these days?) but I thought it was very well portrayed. Dashing highwaymen (especially a gentleman!) should always be a big hit. Oh, and George Dawes is in it, too! A very watchable film which is compelling in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This movie stands, and delivers..., 2 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
Like a bright button on a dandy’s waistcoat, this film is real gem! Made with very 21st century sensibilities (and soundtrack) it is a true Restoration Period romp, and is like Hogarth’s paintings of the ‘Rakes Progress’ and ‘Gin Alley’ brought to vivid life on DVD. It’s a bawdy, squalid but glamorous world where the ‘respectable’ rich get their vicarious kicks from partying with villains and rubbing shoulders with roughtrade (not really so very different from nowadays - just ask Guy Ritchie and all those ‘Lock Stock’ wannabees, or take a look around any trendy West-end club!).
Stylised it might be, but the film evokes its 18th century period so well – this was a time when a member of the royal family was mugged in his sedan chair in Covent Garden, children were hanged for pinching a loaf of bread, and when the real highwayman Dick Turpin rode Black Bess into legend. That said, the story unfolds with a very ‘olde Englishe’ spin on all the elements and themes you’d expect to find in a classic Sergio Leone spaghetti western: two ‘heroes’ thrown into an unlikely and uneasy partnership, bound by thieves’ honour and greed; a beautiful girl; corrupt and avaricious officials; a psychopathic villain, suitably dressed in black; and the prospect of the last man standing getting the gold and the girl. The whole set-up and especially the finale at Tyburn gibbet is certainly a nod (whether conscious or not) to Leone’s ‘Good, the Bad & the Ugly’ – and I say this as a compliment, not a criticism.
All in all, a great romp, great entertainment and great fun. Pay your money and take the ride, enjoy this ripping yarn for what it is, and don’t take it too seriously!!! I would almost have given it full marks, but some roguish felon in the ‘Plunkett & Macleane’ film tie-in & merchandising department decided to omit the Tiger Lillies brilliant songs from the soundtrack CD – and that, my good man, is a hangin’ offence, to be sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb anachronistic kino and geezer, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this film after surfing the NSDAP and finding a video with some of the great Craig Armstrongs music...the soundtrack is excellent and its anachronism is a part of its very confident comedy as is the funny Cockney slang and dialect that makes it so old London and plebeian.

It is gross and rough but then so is and was and will be,life...I think it transcends its genre as a kind of crassly realistic Carry On Spaghetti historic comedy and it does get serious as well with some of the nastier characters and the cynical political subtext.

The actors from Stott to Gambon,Tyler,whose accent is great and the two main players are all perfect and the script is super but the English dvd does lack the Yankee NTSC extras as usual,bad,given its such an English film and that USA version is well dear.

A great and underrated film and now peanuts as a PAL dvd,definitely try it but if you're an extras nut,this only has the trailer,subtitles,languages and scenes although it does have the German the NTSC seems to lack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 27 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Don't take this film seriously or you will be disappointed. I thoroughtly enjoyed it. This film is pure entertainment and has a surprising but excellent soundtrack that really polishes the film off. The extras on the DVD are okay with the trailer and some good cast interviews. The behind the scene filming is just that, a film about the filming but without any commentary and is not worth watching. However you can change the filming angle in some scene, although you will have to play and work out how to do it on your DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Pork the Gentry Mr Highway -Man !!!, 19 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sometimes a bit of hard, dark and amusing period-drama is just what the doctor ordered, taking a break from BBC endless remakes of nicety-nice Jane Austin and Charles Dickens books that we all pay our licence fees for !!!

High-way man Plunkett (Carlyle) teams up with ex-socialite Macleane (Miller) to rob the London gentry of their wears, along the way becoming infamous and inciting the wrath of the local authorities.

I felt that the film was just the right mix of drama and comedy, with serious events separated by moments of shear comic genius. Macleane encouraging Plunkett to eat more prunes and trying to catch a large ruby as it worked its way through his system, along with trying to cure a dose of the clap caught in the line of duty with gun-powder are probably worth watching this movie for on their own.

This movie is quite literally a star studied cast of British talent, with guest appearances by Alan Cummings and Little Britain stars Lucas and Williams - who I really did not remember in this movie when I first saw it. Ken Scott as the vicious - and somewhat sadist and perverted - Thief Taker General Chance was a pure stroke of casting genius.

I saw this film years ago and enjoyed it as much then as I do now, and rate this movie along with `The Escapist' as Miller's best work. The only down side for me was the offspring of Kermit and Miss Piggy appearing to sing some of the soundtrack !! Still, and excellent one hour and thirty-seven minutes of pure escapism ! 4 out of 5, and would have been well worthy of a sequel !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a crack!, 30 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Kicking sound track and superb visuals make a less than brilliant story line jump off the screen. Jake Scott doing what he knows best and creating a quirky view of old england which is so filthy you can almost believe in smell 'o' vision. As a chunk of entertainment this takes some beating; Jonny Lee Miller is completely convincing as the shallow good time boy, promoted to anti-hero status by circumstances, Robert Carlyle excels as the honest man gone bad and the baddie is really bad. Liv Tyler looks great although a little under used. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DON'T HANG THE HIGHWAYMEN, 8 May 2015
I recall this disappearing quite quickly on release, but Jake Scott's debut is well-paced and lively, if also a bit self-consciously modish. Visually, it's a treat and if Scott overloads the squalor in his 1748 London, why not? Tyburn and Newgate Prison are foul and frightening and you can see why a
treacherous sea journey to America seemed like the best way out.Some adore the sound-track. I found much of the music intrusive and pointless. Jonny Lee Miller and Robert Carlyle, two of the Trainspotting gang, play well off each other as charming, but unreliable fop and gruff, embittered widower, forming a ropey (pun intended), but surprisingly effective highwaymen combo. Liv Tyler scores on looks alone, not much mystique about her leading lady, but in fairness it's a standard-issue noble damsel role. Michael Gambon hams it up as required, but Ken Stott's Chance is a magnificently horrible adversary. Alan Cumming's Rochester, if not exquisite, has enough one-liners and camp confidence to help move things along. It's a yarn well told. Not in the same class at The Libertine and not one for professional historians, but if you like stolen jewels and duels at dawn, banter and bastards, look no further. Meanwhile, check out Dr Syn The Scarecrow with Patrick McGoohan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A highly underrated gem, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Every time I seem to ask people, have they watched Plunkett and Macleane, they never seem to have heard of it, which I always find surprising, as it's so damn good!

It's - very loosely - based on the true exploits of British highwaymen, one of which was a `gentleman,' but still went on to rob the rich to fund his lavish lifestyle. And it reunites Trainspotting stars Johnny Lee Miller and Robert Carlyle in the title roles, plus adds Liv Tyler as a bit of `love interest.'

It's one of those rare films which mixes action, adventure and adult humour extremely well and pulls everything off. There's very little not to like about the film. However, every time I read something negative about it, it's someone always slagging off the music. Yes, the film uses highly modern dance music for a film set hundreds of years ago. Some people seem to find that very difficult to take. Personally, I thought it worked a treat.

Whether you like action or black humour, you have to watch this film. Also, a special mention to actor Ken Stott for his sinister portrayal as the thoroughly nasty captain of the police, charged with bringing the highwaymen to justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stand and deliver tale comes to life, 11 April 2000
By A Customer
Stylish adventure awaits those seeking something out of the ordinary. A handsome piece tells the tale of two 18th century highwaymen and their conquests. Interspersed throughout is humour, romance, and the usual 18th century violence (need I say more?). All knitted together by an uptempo soundtrack, which blends classical fare with electronics. Superb acting, authentic costumes and scenery....a visual feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999]
Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] by Jake Scott (DVD - 2001)
£3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews